We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Oberoi, Mauritius
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My wife and I spent a lovely week in the Oberoi Mauritius.

Marc and his team were extremely professional, gracious and extremely polite.

The hotel itself is amazing - Very well presented, tidy and clean. Location is fantastic and the beaches are fantastic.

The staff thenmselves were always at your service and no request a chore.

Will we stay again - Absolutely!

Room Tip: Private Pool room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harjit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiMauritius, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mauritius, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of our resort. Our villas with their own private pools are our most popular accommodation units. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to you return visit in the near future.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.mauritius@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,295
    93
    28
    9
    5
See reviews for
212
1,009
27
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband and I are sailing around the world and are now in Mauritius. As a big treat we stayed at this luscious establishment to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We had such an incredible time. They upgraded us to our own romantic cottage with a private fresh water pool.
It is hard to say which aspect of this hotel was the best,all service was outstanding.The food was divine,the attentive ,polite and engaging staff were all so respectful,I felt like a queen. I am very fussy when it comes to many things such as smells and lighting and little details. It was all good.
No one likes tooo much praise and if I have any criticism it would be ; waiters asking too many times ,How is everything?! Its hard to keep up an enthusiastic big smile in the middle of deep talks and savouring the delicious food. Not much of a complaint. Thanks for your world class standards.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peggy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiMauritius, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mauritius, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing The Oberoi, Mauritius to celebrate your 30th wedding anniversary whilst on your travels across the globe. We thoroughly enjoyed having you amongst us and wish you all the best in your sailing adventures.
I have personally briefed the team on being discreet and refraining from asking guests too many times if all is alright. Thank you for your feedback.
We sincerely hope you stop by on your travels in Mauritius and at The Oberoi again in the future.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.mauritius@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We have just returned from our first holiday in Mauritius and hopefully it will not be our last.
We stayed at The Oberoi on the west coast. It was recommended by our travel agent and she was absolutely right. We have stayed in many excellent hotels but this exceeded all expectations.

The level of service was second to none. The rooms/villas were stunning. We had a basic luxury villa without pool and it was perfect. Beautifully laid out and furnished with its own terrace with sun loungers and a table and chairs and led onto a garden shared by our group of villas. It faced the sunset so at this time of year which is the start of winter in the island, it was perfect as we had the last rays of sunshine each day. The inside was just lovely. Plenty of space with a large bathroom and a separate dressing room.

We arrived very early in the morning so after a gentle welcome with virgin mojitos in an outside welcome bower (which is the only way I can describe it) we were taken to our accommodation for a formal checkin where we found a wonderful breakfast of fruit, pastries, conserves, tea and coffee waiting for us.

All of the staff, without exception, were superb. Within 24 hours you were greeted by name. I have a particular allergy to cheese but once this was communicated to the restaurant staff then this was taken account of and if I ordered something inadvertently containing cheese, which I did once, the kitchen was aware of who they were preparing food for and omitted it!

We stayed on a half board basis and the food was superb. The fine dining restaurant was just that. First class fare with a wide variety of choice. Breakfast was excellent , again a wide choice from fruit, continental, hot dishes and local dishes. Dinner was wonderful at both the main restaurant and 'On the Rocks' restaurant which was a relaxed BBQ based restaurant . A great variety of meat and fish was always on offer and my husband tried every Mauritian and Indian dish on every menu too.

We didn't bother to hire a car but used the hotel car or taxi service for our trips. The drivers, in particular Vinay and Raj, were a mine on information and a joy to have as a driver as they were a source of great information about the island, where we were visiting and if you arranged to be picked up at a certain time during a visit they were there on the dot. In all this worked out far more economically than hiring a car.

The three beaches are great. The main beach has the water sports centre and my husband took great advantage of the snorkeling trips and kayaking. The second beach along has an infinity pool too so if you don't want to swim in the sea the pool is perfect. Just around the corner from that is another more intimate beach which is adults only, again with its own infinity pool, which is incredibly peaceful. Waiters keep you constantly supplied with water and fruit kebabs. The beach menu has a great selection of snacks too.

The whole resort is beautifully maintained. The ground staff work extremely hard each day to achieve this. The grounds are truly stunning.

I used the spa too and found it to be excellent. I heartily recommend a 90 minute hot lava stone massage and the pedicure was one of the most thorough I have ever had.

At the end of the afternoon if you visit the bar backing onto the main beach you will find you are offered cakes etc with your drinks so you could find yourself having a mini afternoon tea -albeit mine was with a smoothie!

Another nice touch are the activities the hotel provide each day. I attended the cookery class with chef Ravi who cooked the most delicious Mauritian chicken curry. (I now have the recipe!). We then had a very social time eating the dish and it was a great opportunity to socialise with other guests. My husband did the gardens walk and seemed to absorb a great deal of information as when we were walking round after that I had a running commentary on the trees, plants, fauna and history of the site. He also visited the Hindu temple which he found fascinating. Unfortunately we missed the star gazing. The Sugar Factory is worth a visit as are the Botanical Gardens. Get a guide for the gardens and it's amazing the amount you would miss if you didn't. The Glass Factory at Phoenix is also worth a trip.

Each evening when our bed as turned down the activities available for the next day are laid out for you so you can plan what you do.

Our turn down young man was a delight and he loved to practice his English with us. We would chat away quite happily to each other as he went about his nightly task.

One evening we dined in our room. What looked like a small oven turned up and food was piping hot. The in room dining menu is very varied and there are dishes on there for everyone

The shop is excellent and has a good variety of high class goods for sale. Had we not already been way over our luggage allowance I would probably have bought several items from there

The resort is 'fogged' every evening to eradicate any of those delightful biting insects and it was a joy to not have to worry about being bitten for once.

Overall we wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Oberoi. It is a fabulous place to stay. The five star rating is more than deserved. There is a feeling of tranquility and calm about the whole place, you are made to feel so welcome and the care and attention to detail of your stay is very special. Well done The Oberoi you have got it absolutely right. We hope to be back in the not too distant future.
Vicky and Jeremy Woodward

Room Tip: Ask to face the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiMauritius, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mauritius, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide all readers with a detailed review of our resort. The team and I are delighted that you have carried back extremely fond memories of your stay with us. We thank you for your lovely comments on our product and various services on offer. We eagerly await your return visit to our slice of paradise.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.mauritius@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The customer service has just been outstanding. I cannot fault the efficiency and courtesy with which our booking, queries and changes have all been dealt with. Stayed at many 5 star hotels but the service and attitude from the top down is what sets the best apart from the rest. A 5 star service before we have even got there. This is my first hand travel experience directly with the hotel.Can't wait for the actual stay if this excellent level of service is anything to go by... so watch this space!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 35Abp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiMauritius, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mauritius, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your pre review of our resort. We are thrilled that all aspects of your booking are in place and we could accommodate your requests. The team joins me in awaiting you, your family and friends arrival at the resort. We will endeavor to ensure that you all have a memorable stay with us.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.sahlhasheesh@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had a two week stay in the oberoi for our honeymoon. It is a beautiful hotel, the grounds are immaculate, covered with colourful flowers. The rooms are clean, spacious and modern with lots of facilities and an amazing sunken bath. We were lucky to get a room with an ocean view which was fab. The pool and beach are fantastic and the staff being you complimentary water, towels and fruit kebabs to keep you hydrated. The food is equisite. It is expensive but this was expected having booked into a luxury hotel. It is so delicious, it is worth every penny. There are two restaurants, we especially liked the on the rocks restaurant which overlooks the sea. We especially loved the on the
rocks restaurant. Lastly the staff are great. They are so polite
and friendly. We will definitely be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ssarahmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiMauritius, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mauritius, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing The Oberoi, Mauritius for your honeymoon. We are delighted that you have carried back fond memories. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the services and product on offer and are considering to return back in the future. We look forward to seeing you again.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.mauritius@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed 5 nights at the Oberoi, having stayed 4 nights previously at the Residence on the East side of the island. The Residence was excellent, and the Oberoi was much more expensive, so we wanted to see if we felt we'd achieved value for money.
The answer is yes. The Oberoi was just beautiful, we were impressed by the thought that's gone into the design, and the beautiful gardens. The service was certainly excellent, but we really liked the resort itself, which is very spacious and relaxing.
The beaches on the East coast are of fine white sand, whilst the Oberoi beach is course coral sand. This didn't bother us particularly, but bearing this in mind, we were surprised by the number of young families staying at the Oberoi. I wouldn't have thought this hotel was at all suitable for young children. I have to admit that we spent our meal times trying to avoid being seated next to tables with toddlers !
There is an adult only pool, and we spent a good deal of time there. This was very peaceful and has lovely views.
Both restaurants are lovely, and there was a good variety of food. Special thanks to Lorenze, who seemed to be working every shift. And to Rabin for his sense of humor and funny laugh.
We were on B&B only, as we didn't think the half board rate was good value. This view was expressed by people we met who were on half board. However, we noticed that VAT is not included on the menu prices. This was very odd, and initially quite deceptive. Unless VAT is optional, why wouldn't you put that in the price ?
We attended the wine tasting session with Baboo, who was very entertaining and a great character. Baboo is very proud of his friendship with David Coulthard, who has stayed at the hotel ! We also attended the star gazing session, which is taken by a very knowledgeable chap from the astrological society.
Our only grip is that tips/service is not included in the bill. In fact, when you read the room directory, it implies that tips are frowned upon. The service is so exceptional here, that guests should be offered the opportunity to leave a tip when they settle the bill at the end of their stay.
We had to leave for our flight at 04.30am on the day of departure. Dodger made sure we had coffee and pasties in our room before we left, and even wanted to make us a packed lunch.
We had a wonderful time.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank GN&CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiMauritius, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mauritius, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of our resort. The Oberoi is located on the north west coast of Mauritius which enjoys significantly better weather than the rest of the island especially during the Mauritian winter. Sunny days and a non cloudy sky are the order of the day.

Our menus are in line with our competitive hotels on the island where we price all items without VAT. We have taken your feedback on board and will review this decision.

We do not encourage individual tips being given to staff during your stay. We request all guests to leave the say should they so desire in an envelope at reception at the end of their stay and our gratuities are divided equally amongst all team members.

We sincerely look forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards,

Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.mauritius@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We chose to stay at The Oberoi, Mautirius for our honeymoon and it certainly lived up to our expectations...and much, much more. The hotel is set in beautifully kept grounds and the rooms/suites are very spacious and fitted out to a very high standard while there are several beaches/pools to spend the day on/at. There is fantastic choice of food at both the main restaurant and at "On The Rocks", the second restaurant by the beach - every single meal we had was delicious and always served with a smile. What really sets the Oberoi apart from other hotels, however, is the service - every single member of staff we encountered was friendly, welcoming but above all attentive to our every need. I can't recommend this hotel enough to those looking for a top hotel with world-class service...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexF992014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoiMauritius, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mauritius, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank for for choosing Mauritius and The Oberoi for your honeymoon.the team is delighted that you have carried back fond memories if your stay with us. The team endeavors to ensure that all guests who come through our doors leave as ambassadors of Oberoi Hotels and Resorts. We are pleased that we have achieved the same. We look forward to having you, your family members and friends at the resort in the near future.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.mauritius@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Aux Piments
15.9 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,244 reviews
29.0 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,565 reviews
23.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Royal Palm Beachcomber Luxury
4.2 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
10.1 mi away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi, Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Mauritius

Property: The Oberoi, Mauritius
Address: Baie Aux Tortues, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 Family Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Destinology, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oberoi, Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Mauritius Hotel Pointe Aux Piments
Oberoi Hotel Mauritius
Oberoi Mauritius
Oberoi Pointe Aux Piments
Pointe Aux Piments Oberoi
The Oberoi, Mauritius Pointe Aux Piments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing