We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly world class service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Oberoi, Mauritius
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2009

We moved to The Oberoi Mauritius midway through a holiday to the Island after a decidedly unpleasant experience at the Shanti Ananda Resort. The Oberoi was all too eager to welcome us and turn our Mauritius holiday experience around; the three days that we spent at the resort was some of the most relaxing time that we have spent on any holiday.

The Oberoi Mauritius is located in the Northwest of the Island in an area that seems to be a vaunted locale for other high-end resorts as well. The hotel is located on a vast expanse of property; the landscaping and architecture of the resort is respectful of local traditions and the beachfront location of the property.

We stayed in a Luxury Pavilion located right next to the beach. The room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was exquisite with a rather clever design for the bathroom (carved out beautifully as a crevasse in the bathroom floor).

The hotel offers a number of water sport activities at no charge (although booking with the hotel's boathouse is recommended). These include snorkeling, glass-bottom boat cruise etc. A few chargeable activities such as para-sailing and deep sea fishing are also available.

There are two restaurants at the hotel. The main restaurant offers breakfast and dinner and the poolside restaurant serves lunch. The fare is an eclectic mix of Western, Indian and Mauritian dishes. We wanted to sample some preparations that we had tasted elsewhere on the Island but were not on The Oberoi menu. The staff was only too eager to please us and specially prepared the (delicious) food as per our request.

In that vein, the service that we received at this hotel was second to none. The staff (who the hotel explicitly discourages its guests to tip) are clearly inspired to offer a superior experience to the guests. The staff is friendly and eager to please.

It is appropriate to mention two of the managers, Hurvind and Giany, at the main restaurant. It seems that there is nothing that one could ask them that was too much.

Finally, the spa is world class albeit a bit expensive (as compared to other five-star hotels). My wife took advantage of some relaxing treatments and I made complementary use of the steam room and sauna facilities. In addition, there are two beautiful freshwater pools at the hotel situated right next to the beach. There are also tennis courts that can be booked through the spa.

All in all, this was a well-equipped resort hotel that is geared to make a holiday in beautiful Mauritius a memorable experience. Service is clearly an element that the hotel employs to differentiate itself from the plethora of high-end resorts and hotels in Mauritius.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cn2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,484)
There are newer reviews for The Oberoi, Mauritius
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,122 - 1,128 of 1,484 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2009

Spent a perfect week here in June (in spite of the lousy weather). The hotel and grounds are absolutely gorgeous and immaculate, the views and sunsets sublime, Service is amazing, food Michelin star quality, wish we'd had enough time to do some of the classes especially the cooking and to have attended the racing in the hotel's private box! I would love to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fussyboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2009

We stayed in the oberoi for 10days during our honeymoon. The hotel was wonderful more than we could have wished for. Our room was cleaned to such a high standard every single day leaving fresh fruit and water. The restaurant was lovely but very rich food so a few nights during our stay we ate from room service which was more relaxed food. The food and drink in this hotel is very expensive. We brought some wine with us which helped with the bill at the end of our stay.
As is was my birthday when we were there my husband arranged dinner on the jetty- however the hotel staff tottally ruined this suprise by mentioning the booking to me on our arrival, a shame. Though for my birthday I did recieve a llovely card and cake.
The satff were wonderful in helping us organsing tours and activities-- they made everything very simple.
During our stay I became ill and had to call for the doctor this was very simple and the doctor arrived within an hour. The hotel also sent me flowers to wish me well which I felt was a nice touch and the restaurant manager would make me a special tea to help my sore throat.
The spa was fab- we even used the tennis courts and the gym. At the beach you were well looked after with towels and fresh water every day. Also, there were lots of water activties you could take part in free of charge.
At night the hotel is very quiet with a band or singer only playing to 10.30pm this was the only draw back of the hotel for us- it just was a little too quiet. We therefore went out for a night to Grand Baie (hope thats spelt right) to enjoy a few drinks.
The hotel provides various classes including cookery and wine tasting- these were fab and a great way to meet other people.
I can't wait until we go back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fussygirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We've just returned from our 10 night stay at The Oberoi, Mauritius and it is proving hard to get back to reality after all that luxury! We stayed in a Pavillion (Villas were quite a bit out of our price range!) but found it to be very roomy with a lovely view of the mountains and the ocean. The bathroom, with its sunken marble bath can make all your worries drift off in the rising steam! It is a small hotel and therefore perfect for a romantic getaway. You never feel claustrophobic, and although we didn't go in high season I am sure that even if it was full the hotel wouldn't feel overcrowded.
Its position on the island is ideal, and though it was technically the end of winter we didn't have a single rainy day! When we met other tourists who were staying at different hotels around the island we realised those staying in the East and South had quite bad weather. The Northwest doesn't get as much rain, even in winter.
The service is what made The Oberoi stand out first of all, but the food is also amazing. If you fancy anything in particular or would like a taster of Mauritian cuisine, just tell them at breakfast and a veritable feast will appear at dinner! I would definitely suggest booking half board as the food is expensive otherwise. We found we didn't need lunch at all as we were still full up from a hearty breakfast at dinner time! It was difficult to leave the hotel initially, especially with the availability of free watersports. We learnt to windsurf, and went water skiing and wakeboarding with the assistance of a great bunch of people at the watersports centre. We did eventually leave but found driving our hire car a bit of a nightmare! Perhaps a taxi or a car with a driver would have been more sensible.
All in all we had the best honeymoon imaginable and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank baddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

The Oberoi, Mauritius is a truly stunning hotel with a spectactular location on the Indian Ocean. My husband and I spent 9 nights there on the second leg of our honeymoon in August 2009. The experience was very much a mixed bag - prodominantly exceptional and occasionally flawed. Let's start with the positives:

The hotel:
Fabulous location and truly beautiful - think meandering pathways through lush foliage, dazzling florals and grand scultpures. The hotel is located in the north-west of the island, which is pefect in winter, where it is less windy than the south of the island.

The hotel is gorgeous from every possible angle - imposing, chic, elegant, daring and breath-taking. The infinity pool is unparallelled and the spa is wonderfully relaxing. In terms of aesthetics, there is nothing that I can fault the Oberoi with.

The Rooms:
The rooms are all private villas/ pavillions of varying degrees of superiority. Ours was the lowest category (the prices are pretty astronomical generally but for the royal villas with private pools they are a whole other level) but we absolutely loved the room. The bathroom had a sunken bath tub, looking into the private, walled, garden, separate shower cubicle and generally well appointed décor. The bedroom had something that appeared to be larger than a king-size bed, a sofa, bed side tables and french windows leading to our verandah and eventually to the beach. There was also a walk-in wardrobe. The one down-side was that there was an ant nest growing rapidly by the day by the front door that was not dealt with by housekeeping until we eventually contacted them to ask for it to be removed. To their credit, this was done immediately. The other ants that resided in the bathroom were not dealth with.

The Restaurant:
The food at the restaurant (for dinner) was generally of a high standard although not quite exceptional. Prices were high, as you would expect from such a hotel e.g. £35 for a chicken curry and £15 for a chocolate dessert. All prices are quoted without VAT so you must remember to add 15% to the total bill. Water was particularly steep at about £6 per 1 litre bottle, surpring seeing as though guests are provided with complimentary bottled water both in their rooms and on the beach, daily.

Breakfast was exceptional with a large selection of choices available on an a la carte menu, including muesli, porridge, pancakes, waffles, eggs, salads, omlettes, bagels, and local Indian/ Mauritian specialities such as alouda, aloo puri and ti puri. Fresh juices including watermelon and carrot, and fresh fruits were also available, as well as cereals and fresh, warm pastries.

The restaurant staff were consistently helpful, smiling and attentive, always prepared to go the extra mile.

The Spa
The spa is simply divine and one of the best I have ever seen. The treatments (some of which are conducted outside, in a secluded area) are recommended.

Room Service
... is generally available 24 hours a day and offered good value and service. The food was often of a superior quality to that offered for dinner at the restaurant.

Extras
The Oberoi does some great extras. A DVD hire service is available from reception, so you can borrow a DVD and watch it in your room with room service when the need takes you (as we did on a couple of occasions!) and the complimentary classes and watersports should be taken advantage of. We attended the star-gazing class which was at 9:30pm on the beach and was totally inspiring and romantic. We had also intended to attend, but were were unable, tai chi, the sculpting class and hindu ceremony (which involved attending a temple and learning about the hindu faith). Other free classes included nature walking, yoga, wine tasting, cookery, painting, henna painting and jogging. Complimentary water activities included hobby cat sailing, kayaking, paddle boating, snorkelling, deep sea fishing and and glass bottom boat-riding.

We also had our fruit and water supply in our room replenished each day. Additionally, on the beach, the beach boys handed out complimentary water and hot towels.

As honeymooners, we also received a complimentary one-hour spa treatment for two, and a candlelit dinner for 2.

And now for the Negative:


Staff Service
The service from the staff was generally exceptional - every single member of staff is trained to stop and say good morning and smile, which really makes you feel welcome. The quality of the service we obtained was very high and for most people, nothing was too much trouble. The only exception to this was the reception staff who, rather than being unfriendly, were frequently just incompetent. Examples would include:

1. Arranging our complimentary candle-lit dinner for two turned out to be a rather large drama. In short, we were told that we could have dinner on the exclusive jetty, which we subsequently arranged. On checking our reservation the next day, we were told by reception staff that they had no record of our reservation, so we re-booked. We then rang again the following evening to check a detail and were told again they had no record of our reservation and also that, incidentally, dinner on the jetty (as opposed to on the beach/ tea pavilion) attracted a 5000 rupee surcharge (approx £100) which we had previously not been told about! This turned what was supposed to be a romantic evening into a somewhat heated and upsetting exchange and put a dampener on our dinner, until the restaurant staff gallantly stepped in and took matters in hand. The reception staff throughout were the Mauritian equivalent of Little Britan's "Computer says no".

I also fell ill on our last day and needed a doctor. The hotel is supposed to be 24-hours, including reception and room service. I awoke at 6am on a Friday, feeling ill and tried to call every single number available in the hotel, with no answer (even the 24-hour room service line). My husband left our room and scoured the entire hotel for a member of staff and was unable to locate one. He was eventually saw a security guard who spoke little English but informed him that the man on reception was asleep!!!! We finally tracked him down and managed to call a doctor, and that lead to a whole new range of problems with reception, who caused as many problem with paying the bill as possible.

When we eventually were checking out, they made a mistake on our bill (undercharging us) and then asked us to pay the balance on the same card, thereby resulting in us incurring a second charge on our card for the transaction. Despite, this being the hotel's fault, they refused to accept this or to arrange a small refund for the amount that we would be charged by our card company. It was these type of incomeptences and rigidness from the staff that put a dampener on an otherwise idyllic and perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sassy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Just returned from an idyllic 10 days at The Oberoi..a small luxury hotel perfect for a romantic holiday..excellent service and luxury spacious rooms and a quiet little beach with white sand and free water sports..we recommend that you hire a car and eat at at local hotels and in nearbye Grand Bay as the hotel dinners are extremely expensive..the hotel was only half full during our stay but its only got 72 rooms and its on a massive site so it will always seem quiet..we visited nearbye hotels such as Le Meridien and The Intercontinental but they seemed large and impersonal by comparison..so go on and treat yourself !

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank revilo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

We decided to spend two weeks at the Oberoi hotel, Mauritius. Since it was our honeymoon we expected to be special.
Well, what can we say... Every detail exceeded our expectations !!! Let's begin with the service. Extraordinary. The room ? Better than perfect. The hotel ? Beauty at its best. We just can't find something on the negative side.
We'll try to describe some details here. When we arrived we were greeted with smiles and mojitos at the greeting pavillion. What an experience, what a view, what an atmosphere. And those mojitos were great...
Afterwards we were guided to our room. The grounds : perfect ten ! The gardens were very fine and taken care of every detail. The lighting outside (but also inside) was adding to the atmosphere. Then we got inside our room. The hotel had two beautiful presents for us and our honeymoon. Every detail of the decoration was adding something to our impression, which was already the finest. And the staff, always kind and smiling.
After some relaxing in our room we went to the restaurant for dinner. Now, that was an experience ! Best quality of service and food...unforgettable (everyone should try the smoked scallops and the curry, but everything on the menu was really very fine). We should mention that we stayed at the hotel for fourteen nights. We had dinner outside the hotel just once. Well, it was nice too, but we were really enjoying our dinner at the hotel's restaurant (we should have gone full-board...). The staff helped us for that (not only the quality of the meals).
At this point, we'd like to express our thanks to some members of the staff.
Our friend Mr. Shaan (not shown on the photo), you made us feel like home and you gave us one more reason to remember our honeymoon forever. Mr. Mamed (the best football player in Mauritius, shown on the left of the photo) you really pleased us, thank you and keep up the good work. Mr. Anesh (shown on the right of the photo), thank you for your kindness, the pieces of advice you were always giving us and that very interesting conversation we had the other night. Mr. Marco (not shown on the photo), thank you for those tasty mojitos and our dog sends greetings to yours.
Of course every member of the staff was very helpful and kind. We appreciated that.
As a conclusion, our honeymoon at The Oberoi Hotel, Mauritius, will always be remembered from us, thanks to the quality and beauty of the hotel and the five-plus star efforts and service of the staff (a remarkable combination). Fourteen tempting days of relaxation, fitted for our honeymoon.

Thank you all !!!

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DoctorTsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Aux Piments
15.9 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,310 reviews
29.0 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,803 reviews
23.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
10.1 mi away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
19.3 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi, Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Mauritius

Address: Baie Aux Tortues, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#1 Family Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range: £379 - £1,275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Travelbag, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oberoi, Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Mauritius Hotel Pointe Aux Piments
Oberoi Hotel Mauritius
Oberoi Mauritius
Oberoi Pointe Aux Piments
Pointe Aux Piments Oberoi
The Oberoi, Mauritius Pointe Aux Piments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing