We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be put off by some of these ridiculous reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Having looked on Tripadvisor beforehand to see the comments on the hotel I was a little worried as hubby was convinced we needed to change hotels. We always stay in very good 5 star hotels and by my own admission a bit fussy. However having stayed for 2 weeks at this hotel I can honestly say that I am shocked by some of the reviews and comments. The hotel is in keeping with Mauritian style, lovely huge lobby and marble everywhere and spotless. Firstly the rooms..ours was large, with a huge comfy bed and large flat screen TV showing sport, films, Disney (if you have kids) etc etc. We had a lovely seating area even with a spare bed put in the room for our 11 year old, not that she used it as she slept with us the bed was so big. Nice balcony with table and chairs overlooking the ocean (all rooms do by the way). The bathroom was large with a walk in shower, seperate bath and lovely hot water all the time. The dining...this was perhaps the best part, the choice of restaurants (5 including the pool bar) was fab, menus changed every day and the food was presented immaculately and tasted amazing. The service...The staff cannot do enough to help and they are really friendly and all wear uniforms.
The Spa... Was great, they had special half price offers on full body massages which we took full advantage of and they even accommodated our 11 year old and she and I had a lovely massage together for our poor sun drenched skin.
I could go on and on about how nice the hotel is but I will now list the slight negatives as this of course is a review, I would like to point out that this is just pickiness and in no way affected our holiday at all.
Go all inclusive! The food and drinks are expensive if you don't and be aware that there are a few supplements for branded drinks and food (ie lobster). The measures in the cocktails seem to be on the small side but that may be just me.
The beach has a fair amount of coral washed up on it so take scuba shoes to wear in the sea as it is quite sharp if you aren't careful.
We went as a starwood preferred guest therefore try and join this if you can as this is maybe why we had such a nice big room.
The trips are more expensive when organised by the hotel, we booked through a guy on the beach but you must be careful as apparently you have the risk of someone not turning up. We were fine.

I would thoroughly recommend Le Meridien so book with confidence.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VivLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia A, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear VivLodge,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments and experience feedback.

It was nice to hear your positive comments with regards to the services extended by our associates. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. We will make sure to pass on the kind comments to the respective departments.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Le Meridien Ile Maurice on many future occasions.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,067)
There are newer reviews for Le Meridien Ile Maurice
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,146 - 1,152 of 3,067 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

We experienced a similar experience with check in being slow after a night flight. We checked in after waiting for 5 hours - they could do with reviewing their 2pm check in policy but we were given a complimentary breakfast after asking.
We made the most of our holiday but found we compared it to other all inclusive hotels/packages. Unlike other reviews, we found the food pretty average at La Faya and Shells with limited choice for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Cumin was the best all round providing good curries and salads. 180 was a hygiene problem waiting to happen-birds muck on chair backs and birds around the open food-I know Le Meriden is undergoing a refurb soon and this needs addressing - they need to invest in chilled, covered cabinets in all their restaurants like other hotels with their rating. We also found we had to pay a high supplement for steak and sea food unlike other AI places we have stayed at-again a bit of a let down.
We stayed in a Nirvana suite with a lovely sea view. Most staff did their best and were friendly and some go the extra mile - Lolly, Naseem in the spa and the Manager of La Faya who had his work cut out with some of his staff.
The beach is lovely despite the coral and rocks you just need to take sea shoes and there is a good choice of watersports. We also enjoyed the spa facilities and treatments.
All in all Le Meriden could be an excellent hotel but falls short - it needs money spending on it with a full refurb and a lick of paint, improve their food standards and choice of food and sharpen up their staff. It would also help if they could put together some information packages for guests regarding things to do, days out in Mauritius - there was nothing. Then the ratings might improve. For the same money we have experienced better e.g Meeru in the Maldives and Valentine Maya in Mexico.

Room Tip: Go for a Nirvana room if you don't have young children
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mepster2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia A, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Dvicary,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your holiday and for taking the time to share your comment with us.

We would like to inform you that, we do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. As a management team, we share these comments with our staff so we may resolve any and all issues.

Once again, thank you for your observations concerning our check in time, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

If you would like to discuss your experience with a member of the hotel team, please send an email to 01800.info@lemeridien.com so we may address it with you directly.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

As soon as we checked-in, the welcome service took too much time to provide the welcome drink and also the reception people took too much time to complete the necessary documents of the checking. In the dinning area where the buffet served for the guest is totally open from the one side because of which birds and flies come and sit on the food which make the food unhygienic. We also had a bad experience when we asked for the towel for some outdoor activity they took too much time and also the reception people were very rude. The room service was also very slow.

Room Tip: Room facing sea shall be preferred
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia A, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Schroff,

We acknowledge receipt of your comments following your stay at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Regarding the birds in the restaurant, whilst all reasonable efforts are made to ensure that no birds are present in the public areas, on a tropical island with an open plan hotel, it is challenging to guarantee that such incidents will not occasionally occur.

We assure you that your comments are most welcome and are carefully read by us as they help us in pinpointing strengths and areas of improvement in the hospitality we offer.

We hope despite this unfortunate incident we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Le Meridien Ile Maurice on many future occasions.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Had a great time at Le Meridien, the staff and entertainment make the hotel a great place. All the staff are very friendly and welcoming, especially the entertainment staff who really make an effort to ensure you are having fun! The room was spacious but a bit dark and dated, but since we didn't spend much time in there it didn't matter too much. There's plenty of water sports and activities to do during the day, the staff at the Boat house really do look after you. Every night we were entertained by the excellent Rage Band at the Bay View bar. They are a MUST SEE!! Wonderful singers, Rachelle and Renel really engage the audience and get you up and dancing! The whole band are so talented, they can all sing, dance and entertain with so much energy with a huge repertoire of songs from Pop to Bollywood! They were the highlight of our stay at Le Meridien. We would definately return there again, but only if the Rage Band were still there, because without them, the hotel would not be the same.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MPetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia A, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear MPetal,

Thank you for taking the time to record your personal experience from your recent stay at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Judging from your comments, it gave us great pleasure to conclude that your stay was an enjoyable experience. We were delighted to read that our staff members especially the entertainment team and our in-house band met and exceeded your expectations. We thank you for your kind words and we will be very happy to convey your gratitude to them.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at the Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Very friendly and cooperative staff and the view from the room was fantastic. We had a ground floor room that looked straight into a garden followed by the sea.

The hotel had good hustle bustle with a great band playing there every night. The three restaurant options within the hotel were fantastic as they served some great vegetarian options, especially the restaurant La Faya. The food at the Indian restaurant felt a bit repetative.

The hotel boasts a good spa area as well - we upgraded the massage voucher to a full body massage for both of us for MUR 3,000 which we thought was a good deal.

We would highly recommend the hotel for couples and family. The beach however was a bit disappointing as it has a lot of dead coral and pebbles and the water was colder than we expected (may be that time of the year).

Room Tip: Ground Floor, facing the ocean is the best!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dptanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia A, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear dptanna,

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

We greatly appreciate the time and effort you put into recording your comments. As we are continually striving to improve the services offered by our hotel; your comments are well appreciated in helping us to enhance the experience of our guests.

Regarding the condition of the beach, this is a unfortunate consequence of the heavy rainfall and cyclonic sea storms we have endured in the Northern part of the island.. We are currently using the beach rake to remove any sharp rocks and particles. For your information, we are part of the Balaclava Marine Conservation Park and as such we have no right to touch the natural resources. As all beaches in Mauritius are public, we actually would be able to be prosecuted by removing natural rocks, etc., from the seashores. However, with time, these dead corals convert themselves into sand thus giving us a lagoon free of dead corals.

On a more positive note, we were pleased to learn that you have enjoyed the services extended by our associates.

Once again, thank you for your honest feedback.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Staff can not do enough for you. Service excellent with special thanks to Siven in the restaurant, Aarti in Room service and Janathan and his team at Easy Dive centre. Thanks again John McLean and Family.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia A, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear John M,

Thank you for taking time off in writing this review.

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice. It was nice to hear that our associates met and exceeded your expectations especially Siven, Aarti and Jonathan. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed at Le Meridien for 2 weeks having got an amazing deal. On previous trips to Mauritius we stayed in 5* hotels and knew this was 4* - but this didn't deter us from having a fantastic holiday.

We travelled with a toddler and our friends had two young children and the hotel worked brilliantly. There is a relaxed atmosphere and the big rooms make it possible to accommodate extra guests. The rooms are a bit dated - but still clean and comfortable. We asked housekeeping to mop the tiled floor a couple of times which they did without a problem.

The pool is great and there is a small kids pool which is a nice to have. The beach is pleasant with lots of loungers - although it is rocky by the sea and one would have swim shoes. The watersports are well run and there is enough space to enjoy them.

The food was really enjoyable and we are at all the restaurants. There was always something for everyone and the kids menu was good too. Nice to have variety - particularly on a full board package where often you only have access to the buffet.

The kids club was good although under 3s need to be accompanied by an adult. My only comment would be the in such a hot climate, the climbing frame should possibly be covered!

We had a great holiday and would recommend the resort to friends looking for a friendly, relaxed Mauritius break offering good value. Prices in Mauritius have - like everywhere - become very expensive so even though in theory we would probably like to try another slightly more luxurious hotel next time, cost may not allow for this and we wouldn't be unhappy with another visit to Le Meridien!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerFromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia A, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear TravellerfromLon,

Thank you for taking the time to record your personal experience from your recent stay at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Judging from your comments, it gave us great pleasure to conclude that your stay was an enjoyable experience. We were delighted to read that our staff members met and exceeded your expectations. We thank you for your kind words and we will be very happy to convey your gratitude to them.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at the Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Aux Piments
1.7 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
18.7 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,473 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 6 in Balaclava
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,621 reviews
6.4 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,408 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Ile Maurice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Address: Village Hall Lane, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#4 Family Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#5 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range: £143 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Ile Maurice 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Holiday Gems, Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Ile Maurice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Ile Maurice Hotel Pointe Aux Piments
Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Mauritius
Le Meridien Pointe Aux Piments
Le Meridien Ile Maurice Mauritius/Pointe Aux Piments
Pointe Aux Piments Le Meridien
Ile Le Maurice Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing