We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relay we enjoyed our 10 nights with this beautiful beach front”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed 10 nights at the Le Meridien Hotel and it was one of the perfect holiday experiences for us. We are six people group and requested for interconnected rooms , and they granted it the 2nd day. The service was very good. All the staff is very friendly. A special thanks to Mr. Ahmed and Mr.Samir Elahi, Varsha and LOve for their great service and hospitality.
Hotel is showing it's age a bit but the rooms are big and spacious The beds are not very comfortable. We requested to change the towels which are very old, they did it immediately .

Breakfast was very good , mix with western and Indian.There are four restaurants - the buffet room, La Faya (Italian), Cumin (Indian) and Shells (Seafood). La faya is the best for dinner.
They have two pools, with only 4 feet water level. but no temperature control..always its very cold.
Finally..relay we enjoyed our 10 nights with this beautiful beach front .very quite ,calm and clean.
our room number was 207,206 and 216.and we stayed fom 21st July to 31st July 2014

Room Tip: first floor..206, 207 to 216
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NAIR_ktym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia A, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear SarathNairk,

We acknowledge receipt of your comments following your stay at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

We assure you that your comments are most welcome and are carefully read by us as they help us in pinpointing strengths and areas of improvement in the hospitality we offer.

We hope despite these unfortunate incidents we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Le Meridien Ile Maurice on many future occasions.

On a positive note, we are delighted to note that our team members have looked after you so well especially Ahmad, Samir and Varsha. We will pass on your kind words to them.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,069)
There are newer reviews for Le Meridien Ile Maurice
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,045 - 1,051 of 3,069 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Hi guys...
My name is vivek and I visited with my wife on july 12th 2014 to mauritius and my stay was booked in le meridian mauritius. I would list the best things about this place point wise below

1. Beautiful property with clear waters and proper clean beach with safety.

2. Awesome food. If u r a vegetarian this is the place for you. No other than le meridian can provide u quality proper veg food in mauritius I can bet on that.

3. Room service is amazing. Would like to mention two people here. Sevani in nirvana section and nikhil too from nirvana section. Both provide warm hospitality to everyone.

4. Reception guest welcome is also beautiful. Special mention to mr. Harsh from le meridian and to mr. Ahmed from spg counter also there was a lady ms. Faiza. Very helpful.

5. Beautiful rooms. We stayed in nirvana section. With a view of privacy awesome but little bit far from the main area where all restaurants and reception is.

6. Pool bar- amazingggg drinkss. Special mention to Mr. Raja the awesome bartender who attends everyone very well and a jolly person.

7. Beach activities on property. Nice rate 3 on 5.

8. Location. Quite good I liked the location. Corals on the beach could hit ur leg very hard when u go in the beach waters. My suggestion u need to carry silicon boots for swimming.

Overall very nice and an enchanting experience.

9. Best of all reataurents veg food wise is the cummins. Service and other things OK in the cummins not upto the mark.

10. Best restaurant as per food as well as service and hospitality is shells. Chef and the team can surprise you pleasantly.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank vivekjobanputra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia A, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Vivekjobanputra,

Thank you for taking time off in writing this review.

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay among us. Your positive comments and kind words are greatly appreciated. Customer care service is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such positive feedback. I assure you we have communicated your comments to those staff and departments concerned especially Sevani, Nikhil, Wirna, Harsh Ahmad, Faiza and Raja.

We are grateful for your support and do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you to Le Meridien Ile Maurice again.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed there for 2 weeks on an All Inclusive package from Virgin Holidays. From the time we arrived till we left we felt, welcomed and the children pampered and well looked after. We asked our room to be changed as it was too far from the main hotel and our request was met within 48 hours. The towels were changed twice everyday. The food was average in the main 180 degree buffet restaurant, but the food in the 3 other restaurants were excellent. The waiting staff was bit slow on taking the drinks order but generally ok.
There was a Kid Club for children which they thoroughly enjoyed.
The Spa area was nice and will strongly recommend to try out one of their massages.

The hotel does need a revamp though as the rooms and other areas are a bit worn out.
The wifi service can be improved.
Also, the entertainment most evenings was provided by an excellent band called Emotion.
The hotel can however, do better on that front by bringing on a big more variety in their programme and buffet menu, as we found that the menu, entertainment etc was repeated weekly.

Room Tip: Try and get a room near the lobby,
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RNSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia A, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear RNSLondon,

Thank you for sharing your holiday experience following your recent stay at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

Regarding the condition of the hotel premises, whilst we are an older style property, over ten years, we have a continuous preventative maintenance programme in place to ensure that we retain the highest standards as per our brand.

In terms of WIFI service, we have tabled this matter with the department concerned to enhance our services.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Le Meridien Ile Maurice on many future occasions.


Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

As our flight got delayed by almost 12 hours we checked in at midnight around 11.50 pm as per Mauritius clock, its. The entrance to reception was grand and gave a royal feeling. It was already windy outside and to add up the reception area was cross ventilated as the opposite side of main entrance is sea and the entire area is open surrounded with trees, garden & pool. It was the first touch of Le Meridien lle Maurice, a hotel situated at West coast of Mauritius. It was a windy experience i must say :). We had our room at Nirvana a special wing for Honeymoon couples with all the best of amenities, a sea facing room with a balcony almost at sea, pool that was adjacent to the sea and I bet you cant make out the difference in the color of pool water & sea water. An open bar that offered amazing sunset cocktail every twilight till the day we were there. Not to forget the bartenders Vineesh & Lovinash (Akshay) served us with best of there hospitality.
Though it was mentioned that Nirvana is only for adults & a honeymoon wing but we witnessed a lot of families & kids too in next 3 - 4 days, seems as if they had to fill up the vacant rooms and so gave it to families.
As our stay was for 10 days (4th July to 14th July), we got an opportunity to explore this small island pretty much to the north, south & East & so could even visit couple of other hotels & properties.
I have to mention that Le Meridien Mauritius is definitely one of the best & topmost property at Mauritius with such a huge spread over the sea side with an exclusivity of Sea water. It gave a clear & beautiful view of sunset everyday being on west coast. In fact staying at this place made our experience even more beautiful & memorable about Mauritius.
Apart from the sea there were 5 restaurants that gave us a choice of continental, french, seafood & Indian food. I have to mention about Mr. Khan the Chief Chef for Indian food, he is from India & he made us some really good food with fresh hot tandoori rotis at Cumin's.
There were couple of open air bars & cafes & other activities that can keep guest busy enough.
The grey side of this property is the gym, they have a spa center with a gym which is indoor & a very small one with glass walls all over. With the kind of area & spread they can easily design a sea facing gym that could give a refreshing experience. Gym was our biggest disappointment.

As far as service is concerned I would rate them 2.5 out of 5 considering a 5 star they can work a lot of there service parameters.
Overall our experience was beautiful staying with the scenic beauty of Mauritius.

Room Tip: Though all the room would give a nice view but go for the rooms facing sea.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia A, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Deexa,

Thank you for taking time off in writing this review.

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Le Meridien Ile Maurice. It was nice to hear the gracious comments regarding our associates especially Vinesh, Lovinash and Chef Khan. We will make sure to pass on the kind comments to them.

On the other hand, we have noted your disappointment concerning the spa. Your recommendation to have a sea facing spa design is very interesting and we will address this matter with the Executives concerned.

We trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and we shall look forward to welcoming you back to Le Meridien Ile Maurice or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel for a week from the 19th July. The service at the hotel is just plain and not anything exceptional. The waiters are not very willing to assist and it feels that they are doing you a favour. This is very evident over breakfast. The evening entertainment is very subdued and very laid back. The Cumin restaurant is just grand, good service and food. The stray dogs on the beach really does not make for a great beach holiday. The construction out my room every morning started very early and did not make for a pleasant start to the day.
Overall just a nice week had...

Room Tip: away from the front entrance hall
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Vis1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia A, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Vis1701,

Thank you for your feedback and that you have taken the time to describe your impressions.

We are sorry to learn of your concerns regarding your recent stay at Le Méridien Ile Maurice, and at the outset, would like to offer our sincere apologies for the disappointment you have expressed.

Although never pleasant, receiving such feedback is one positive way in which we can monitor standards and effect change where necessary. We are grateful for your support and do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you to Le Meridien in the future.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Room: Spacious, clean and value for money. Bed and shower were one of the best we've experienced.

Food:

180- Main buffet area. Wide choice for breakfast, loved the Indian section with different dishes every day. Fresh omelettes made to order were also delicious and staff were very attentive throughout (special thanks for Feiza and Kiran for their warm welcomes every morning). No lunch was served in 180. Dinner was scrumptious! There was a different buffet theme every night, and each dish was divine, with lots of choice for vegetarians. The dessert section was exceptional, excellent French-style pastries.

Lunch options: We were on half-board and ate at the two lunch restaurants, which offered Western food such as pasta and pizza. Food was lovely but slightly overpriced. Shells also offered lunch. Special thanks to Ashven, who greeted us during every service with a massive smile!

Cumin- FANTASTIC. Quality, authentic Indian food, kudos to the chefs. Fresh naans were divine and there was a different menu every night, with each curry being equally delicious. Many vegetarian options.

Shells: Seafood restaurant. Lovely location on the beach. Massive thank you to Shyam who made our visit to Shells a delight by providing a four course vegetarian menu for our family, very thoughtful of him. The dishes were fresh and lovely.

La Faya: Posher restaurant. A bit of a disappoint for us as there were not many vegetarian options and the food was slightly underwhelming. However, we found out later on we could have ordered pizza so I would recommend you do that, because the pizza are lovely.

Beach/pool: Heavenly, crystal waters and golden sand. However, buy Aquashoes as beach is rocky. Also, there are dogs on the beach, don't be alarmed though because they are very docile. Enjoy all the complementary water sports; snorkelling is a MUST, an absolutely amazing experience. Invest in a snorkel as it is more hygienic than using the hotel's supplies as well as you can snorkel in the beach: there are fishes everywhere! On the beach there are vendors however they don't pester you. Pool was very cold, would be great if the hotel invests in some heaters.

Other excursions: There is a man who is usually on the beach called DJ: he organised our excursions for us for a reasonable price and he was very trustworthy. We went for a whole day excursions seeing the Port Louis markets, Champaral, the Ganga Talav temple and a waterfall, one of the best days of the holiday, a must do excursion. Also, DJ arranged a day of boating for us where we saw dolphins and swam with them, snorkelled around Crystal Rock and had lunch on a remote island which was reminiscent of a postcard- a wonderful day.

Special thanks must go the manager Ahmad who made sure we had a fantastic stay and thank you to Dillen for finding my son's sunglasses and hat and keeping them safe. The staff in this hotel are exceptional.

Overall I wholeheartedly recommend Le Meridien and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank MAnanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia A, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear MAnanth,

We would like first to thank you for having taken your time to share your experiences with us following your holiday at Le Meridien Ile Maurice.

You have given us an in-depth picture of some of our associates which is more than useful and it is always gratifying to receive such positive comments and know that the team has looked after you so well especially Feiza, Kiran, Ashven, Shyam, Ahmad and Dillen. We will pass on these appreciative comments to them as customer care is amongst our highest priorities.

We hope you had a pleasant trip back home and we look forward to welcoming you in a near future at our Resort.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 3 days ( A bunch of younsters). The overall service was nice, food was good as well on most occasions and the small efforts made by the staff to make our stay more confortable and nice was appreciated.
A particular thanks to Mr Seegobin for his nice moktails, Mr Girish who was always smiling and was helpful whenever we met him in the restaurant, Mr Sanjeev as well was really helpful. A special thanks to the staff of the boat house and the whole staff of the hotel.
The green spaces around si well maintained and our room was always well cleaned. A special thanks to the housekeeping staff who attended to our needs without delay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kunal2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia A, The Management at Le Meridien Ile Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Kunal2904,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments and experience feedback.

It was nice to hear your positive comments with regards to Food Quality, water activities of the hotel and also that our associates especially Seegobin, Girish, Sanjeev, the Boat House staff and Housekeeping staff exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. We will make sure to pass on the kind comments to the respective departments.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Le Meridien Ile Maurice on many future occasions.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Aux Piments
18.7 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,478 reviews
1.7 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
9.6 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 6 in Balaclava
1,457 reviews
6.4 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,411 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Ile Maurice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Ile Maurice

Address: Village Hall Lane, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#5 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range: £147 - £363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Ile Maurice 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Expedia, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Ile Maurice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Ile Maurice Hotel Pointe Aux Piments
Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Mauritius
Le Meridien Pointe Aux Piments
Le Meridien Ile Maurice Mauritius/Pointe Aux Piments
Pointe Aux Piments Le Meridien
Ile Le Maurice Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing