We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday/wedding at Le Victoria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2009

4 weeks ago we returned from Mauritius after 8 fantastic days at le Victoria on Serenity. Before we decided to stay at Le Victoria we read many, many reviews and now we just want to emphasize that all the positive things which have been written are true and if some negative issues have been mentioned in some reviews it turned out not to be the case for us. F.ex. the beach and the sea: it is definitely possible to swim in the sea, there are coral reefs but we found an area near the L’Horizon restaurant which was fine. We had many and long walk on the beach without shoes. The hotel and the restaurants and the surrounding is very relaxing, the staff were more than polite, always smiling, telling a lot about Mauritius and very, very service minded. Our De-Luxe room was huge with a fantastic sea view even from the bathroom. Our wedding was amazing. We had the most fantastic, romantic day – perfect organized via the hotel.

We hired a photographer via the hotel (Mr. M. Ibrahim Busawon). He was just fantastic and very professional. Due to the fact that he knows the hotel and the surrounding perfectly he made nearly 300 fantastic photos before, during and after the wedding. He is highly recommended.

There are 3 restaurants. The main restaurant ( Le Superb) where a huge breakfast buffet is served in the morning and a la carte for lunch and a changing buffet in the evening. All of this was just great, but if we should recommend a restaurant it would certainly be L’Horizon which is the fish restaurant. We have never tasted fish dishes as good as here. We went there twice and sat nearly on the beach, very, very romantic and again a perfect service. At the last restaurant (La Casa) we had our wedding dinner. It is a nice restaurant, again with a fantastic surrounding and good food, but we should have chosen L’Horizon for this special evening as we both love fish. At all restaurants the service and the waiters were totally perfect. At last there is also a bar close to the swimming pool also with a nice service. In the evening here is entertainment, but… we have seen better.

We had chosen serenity which also includes a lot of sporting facility. Due to the fact that we got 50% discount because of our wedding this was a perfect choice. But in case we should have paid 100% it would have been worth it.

Le Victoria turned out to be the perfect choice for us due to the relaxing atmosphere and the nice and perfect service from everybody there. We have stayed at 5 star hotels which were too “fine”. Here we had a 4+ hotel which we highly recommend and hope to return to.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank StineDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,631)
There are newer reviews for Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,215 - 1,221 of 2,631 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2009

I have just returned from a wonderful holiday in Mauritius after spending 7 nights at Le Victoria Hotel.
Being a travel agent I do know what a good hotel means and I could have chosen any on the island, but Le Victoria has always been my favourite, so I went with my instinct and I am very happy I did that.
I cannot understand how can people say anything negative about this place, as me and my boyfriend loved every bit and working both in the travel industry and having stayed in numerous hotels around the world, we are not really that easy to please.

So here is the truth about Le Victoria.

As we arrived there got greeted at reception with cold towels and drinks and staff offered best service to make all formalities as smooth as possible. We couldn't help but notice the large welcoming reception area from were we could see the inviting infinity pool.

We were showed to our room, a Junior Suite, and everything was just perfect. We later got the chance to inspect the hotel as well and I must say, we were impressed with Superior Room which are so nicely decorated and spacious at 60 sqm (some houses in UK are not that big...) The rooms are cleaned daily and provide you with everything you need, from towels to vanity kit.

After exploring the hotel we found it very easy to get from one side to an other, the gardens and the grounds are very well kept and the beach just on the doorstep.

There are plenty of sun loungers around the pool and also on the beach, which by the way is lovely.
I must say I was a bit nervous about the beach after reading some reviews as I love the sea and don't see the point of going on holiday to swim just in the pool, I can do that in UK...
Yes, it is true, there are some very small pieces of coral on the water edge which are no problem at all, but the rest of the sand is quite fine and didn't need to wear any water shoes even when swimming.
I do recommend wearing it though while snorkelling as there are lots of corals everywhere as the area where Le Victoria is situated is part of a Marine Park and that is the beauty of it. Snorkelling is excellent, saw lots of fish, including trigger fish, clown fish and even lion fish!!! Amazing!

We did spend a couple of days by the infinity pool as well and that is one of the nicest pools ever. Even the kids pool is very nice and although this hotel is quite suitable for families and it was the school holiday season when we went, the kids never bothered us in any way, it was actually fun to watch them when doing different activities on the hotel grounds, like pillow fight on a surf board - that was really entertaining. I would definitely recommend this hotel to any family with kids, they will not get bored here.

The beach was still my favourite though and must say if you get a room on the ground floor (like we did) you can just walk out the terrace unto the beach and they even have a beach service which was great- you do not even need to get up from the sun bed as the staff will come to take your order and deliver it to you - selection of drinks and sandwiches. If you are on Serenity that is all covered so all you need to do it's sign a bill with the amount 0 - we loved that!!!!!!! If you are on Half Board though you will need to sign a bill and pay at the end at check-out.

This brings me to my next point - Serenity All Inclusive - we found this the best option and very good value for money.
The breakfast in Le Superb Restaurant was just great, with a wide selection to cater for all tastes. They had lots of fresh juices and we loved the freshly cooked Mauritian omelette made by the chefs just before our eyes.
Le Superb is the main restaurant, but it has such a great location around the swimming pool and with the sea to one side, that I cannot think of a better place to have your coffee and toast in the morning...
This is also where lunch is served and unlike other hotels, they have an a la carte menu, so you can choose whatever you want from a wide selection. And on the Serenity you also get a wide selection of international wines which go perfectly with the meals, I am so happy we chose the All Inclusive option!!!
Lastly, for dinner, we were spoiled for choice: the main restaurant plus 2 other a la carte restaurants and we never had any problem to book those even on the same day.
We had a few means in the main restaurant where they serve buffet meals, but I must say there was a different theme every night, so every time we had something else.
La Casa, the Italian restaurant was just bliss, we had some of the best dishes ever there and we even met people from other hotels coming to dine here because the food was so good. Although for Serenity there is only a set menu, the choice is great and every time we went there, the set menu had something else so was great to try all different meals and all were delicious!!!!
Finally, Horizon, the sea food restaurant! I don't even know which one to say it was our favourite a la carte restaurant because they were both so good! Here you could pick your own fish from the fish market and have it freshly cooked and that was part of Serenity!!! Of course, things like lobster weren't included, but you would expect that anyway and the good thing was even if you did want to go for the lobster the prices were reasonable.
But the best part about our dining experience at Le Victoria was actually the service we have received and the friendliness of Mauritian people!!!!!!!!!
I have never met nicer people that would do everything they can to make you feel this is the best holiday ever. Everyone had a story to say or a smile on their face and always made sure you were well looked after and your glass was never empty!
To mention a few - Sanjay, Yogesh and Kevin offered us the best service and attention and they are genuinely nice people!!!!

Also, Varsha and Arvind if you are reading this - a very big "THANK YOU!" for making this a wonderful holiday!!!!!!!!!!!!!

For anybody thinking about going to Mauritius, choose Le Victoria - pure paradise!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank UkJuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

Our stay our holiday was based on 8 nights at Le Victoria followed by 4 nights at Shandrani. We had previously spent two holidays at the 5 star Shandrani therefoore it was with some trepidation that we embarked upon at Le Victoria. We had no need to worry, Le Victoria excels in all the areas that Shandrani fails. It became evident as we stayed at Le Victoria that the staff live in awe of the five star Shandrani but clearly this results in a team that are striving to reach five star standarsd when in fact they have already exceeded it.
The rooms at Le Victoria are all huge and we were given an unsolicited upgrade to a family apartment with a lounge area, a kingsize bedroom, a twin bedroom, two bathrooms and two toilets; an L- shaped balcony that served both bedrooms - for two of us.
We were based on Serenity; the all-inclusive basis that included all you can eat and all you can drink from a selected menu, but perfectly adequate.
The breakfast was buffet style but at lunch time the buffet became an a la carte restaurant, with wines served by the bottle from a very extensive wine list.
In the evening the choice is a themed buffet or a la carte at the Italian la Casa or the fish restaurant L'Horizon which allows you to select your meal from the fish market, a fabulous experience.
Snacks are available from the bar almost always and, should you desire, the snacks will be served to you on the beach. The beach bar has staff walking the beach all day bringing you drinks and snacks on request.
All-in-all it is impossible to fault anything about Le Victoria and, facing West, every night you are privileged to experience the most wonderful sunsets.
Our return to the 5 star Shandrani was a bitter disappointment although that was where our Mauritian dream began; Le Victoria is now our idea of paradise.
On one somewhat sour note we feel that we should draw to the attention of any Beachcomber customers that at Shandrani, and presumably all of Beachcomber's hotels, the most minor comment you may be tempted to take to the Mautourco representative; Pearl in the case of Shandrani; will by standing instruction, be passed on to Fione Taylor, the local operations executive, who will in turn pass it to Darren Solomons, the UK Operations manager, thus causing a mountain out of a mole hill. So, if you want your most minor comment to become a major international crisis, take it to your rep.
Just don't let it stop you visiting the most wonderful holiday detination on earth; Le Victoria.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SomersetStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2009

We stayed at Le Victoria in Mauritius for 9 nights, we also had our wedding there, well all I can say is how fantastic our stay was.
Anyone wondering to marry there please do!

The wedding Co-ordinator "Varsha" was great she organised everything for us it was stress free.

The food was great,plenty of choice for the kids to.
The swimming pool was great for the whole family specially the paddling pool for the little ones.

We took the free glass bottom boat trip out to see all the coral it was was so good to see the fish up close.

The sea is full of coral so you cant swim but the swimming pool made up for that.

If you like to snokling this is the ideal place to go, my husband and older daughter went out on several occasions.

The rooms are very big,cleanned every day, we had two interconnecting with the children, all beech and bath towels provided daily so no need to take your own.

There is a local shop about 10min walk from hotel were you can buy all provisions as water,crisps etc are expensive at the hotel.

There is a taxi rank just outside the hotel and the rates are good but just haggle with them.

I would recommend this to anyone I would love to go back specially witht he kids as its so kid friendly all the staff were great.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saffyalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2009

We stayed for 10 days over New Year's Eve having stayed previously at Le Meridien next door and St Geran. I thought the hotel itself was superb as was the room and considered these to be almost on a par with St Geran. Unfortunately, the comparison stops there.

Reading other reviews, it sounds like service was hit and miss and this is what we found. Quite often we would arrive in the restaurant clearly in need of assistance including a highchair, we would make eye contact with a waiter doing something interruptable (eg laying tables) and then be ignored and left to fend for ourselves. On other occasions, they were more helpful. And they were always slow to bring the bill.

Speaking of which, I would echo other's opinions that extras were very expensive here. Given that shops nearby sound much cheaper, the owners must be raking it in with both hands. This attention to making money turned a bit unpleasant when we were hauled over on our way out on the last day to pay 110 rupees (£2) for a bottle of water from the mini-bar that we had overlooked.

We would also echo other's findings that room information is very poor. Beware the beach hut which seems to be an extension of the hotel. The hotel staff there can and do recommend activities (eg parasailing that we did) run by beach hawkers without warning that these activities are not in any way linked to the hotel - anyone can use what seems to be the hotel's private jetty. You have to pay cash and you are outside the responsibility of the hotel, should anything go wrong. Check your insurance as well since not all insurers cover these activities. This is not warned against at all by the hotel staff and the references in the room literature are inadequate and well buried.

The food was mixed in terms of quality but there will always be a limit to quality in a buffet. The freshly cooked stuff was always very good. The Italian restaurant was pretty good, if monstrously expensive, once you've taken the decision to reject the very mediocre set menu that comes with half-board and to eat a la carte.

I was expecting the extras to be expensive and could have lived with that. The other problems, however, are enough to put me off returning or recommending to others despite the top quality of hotel and room. The Meridien next door is in direct competition and as I was unable to remember any problems from that holiday, they'll be getting our custom next time.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Dominic_Sharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2009

We have just got back.Wow what a place.I will recommend the hotel to everyone who visits Mauritius.Our kids are 12yrs 12yrs and 9yrs.This was the first holiday that we really didnt want to end.There was something for everyone,relax by the pool, water sports history excurtions animal parks nature parks,shopping How anyone could complain about this holiday baffles me.Perhaps they should of researched both hotel and Island before booking?All staff were excellent .Fab holiday we cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Sian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2008

Stayed here for 10 nights on half board. Very attentive staff both in hotel and on the beach. Buffet style breakfast and dinner, plenty of choice of both and of a high standard. Room 173 on ground floor was large with sofa and mini bar and was very well maintained by willing staff. Cost of wine and some drinks enough to make you sign the pledge however would highly recommend. This hotel is run by Beachcomber who organised our holiday which included 5 nights in Cape Town 3 nights on the garden route and 3 nights at a game reserve, the organisation of which was faultless.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ironmanOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Aux Piments
3.8 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
6.4 mi away
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,067 reviews
29.4 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,793 reviews
10.1 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa

Address: Coastal Road, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius 21304 (Formerly Beachcomber Le Victoria Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#2 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#2 Family Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range: £184 - £555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious beachside resort in Mauritius Located due west on the coast of Mauritius, Le Victoria is conveniently situated between the tourist hub of Grand Baie and Port Louis, the capital city. Facing the splendid sunsets, Le Victoria is one of the most popular family resorts in Mauritius. Renowned for its spacious sea-facing rooms, a laid-back atmosphere and a wide range of activities for both children and teenagers, the hotel encompasses a lifestyle to appeal to all ages. For your ultimate peace of mind, purchase the hotel's optional "Beachcomber All-Inclusive Package" which covers all meals and drinks as well as added-value items throughout your holiday in Mauritius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Victoria
Le Victoria Mauritius
Le Victoria Pointe Aux Piments
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa Mauritius/Pointe Aux Piments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing