We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cabane Du Filao

Cabane Du Filao
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fresh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

What a great experience.
Family run cabana with the fresh food caught direct from their boat served for lunch.
Our hotel happened to be positioned right next to the cabana.
As we walked out the hotel, I remembered seeing this restaurant on Trip Advisor.
We were on the beach one morning when Trish and her husband arrived on their boat with a great catch. Marlin.
So, it was Marlin steak for lunch with some Marlin Carpacio.
The next day I had Shrimps in a butter and time infused cheese sauce.
Dang, I am getting hungry now.
Pay them a visit, Its worth it.
Only 20 min bus ride from Grande Bay on bus 288.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Smith-Gordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    62
    20
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Saw this on trip advisor so popped in to test it.Very happy we did.Location was casual but pretty.Food was great

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank gavinpierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful fresh seafood, friendly proprietors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Tried this little place for lunch after a hot cycle ride. We were greeted immediately, given a cold drink and fed delicious fresh food. I had the curried shrimps while my husband had the curried catch of the day (cone fish). Both were delicious and the total bill was less than 2 beers at a nearby hotel. Lovely lunchtime experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MGads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronneby, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

A place to return to. Fresh fish and friendly hosts. To make it five stars I would like the place around to be cleared of litter and rubbish. Maybe they can fix that then we will leave full points next time.

Helpful?
3 Thank ankraS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Freshest Seafood in Mauritius!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

What an unbelievable surprise! This is a tiny trailer like structure on the grassy part before the beach, 2 make shift tables facing the ocean, and all the food has been caught that morning. This gorgeous little cabane has one policy - We serve what we catch, and if we don't catch anything we don't open.

The place is run by a couple, with the wife cooking up delicious meals from fresh local ingredients. We had the whole crab in an aubergine curry and the most delicious grilled kind prawn, and of course some tendy Calamari to start in a unique zesty batter.

The place seemed popular (and rightly so) and the owners were exteremly warm and friendly. Our biggest regret was not discovering this place sooner, because we definitely would've been more than once!

Highly recommended for a unique authentic experience, with beautiful views over the calm blue waters.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Traceler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cabane Du Filao also viewed

Trou aux Biches, Pamplemousses District
Trou aux Biches, Pamplemousses District
 
Trou aux Biches, Pamplemousses District
Balaclava, Pamplemousses District
 

Been to Cabane Du Filao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing