We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday at Mon Plaisir” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villas Mon Plaisir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villas Mon Plaisir
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Holiday at Mon Plaisir”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Nice quite peaceful place right on the beach, and what a beautiful beach!.....not lavish yet comfortable, rooms arranged like villas...neat and clean...decent breakfast....for diner they have set meals on alternate days, which we enjoyed as something different.once a week they set up a barbeque dinner by the pool...with live music....this is really enjoyable and tastefully fine.good food. They also have a buffet dinner,I think on the remaining days of the week....with a couple of guys entertaining with the guitar..again a decent dinner....the hotel also offers complimentary pedal boasts,kayaks and glass floor boats, weather permitting.
On the downside, water bottles have to be purchased....no complimentary water bottles at all, neither in the room, nor during meals in the restaurant, buffet or otherwise....
A tip for my fellow Indian travelers....the best exchange rate is available at the airport or the capital port Louis...I would advise exchange at the airport when u arrive..the exchange rate the hotel gives is decent too, say 50ps more expensive....at other places eg tourist places, at water sports counters, the rates are worse, so if u haven't exchanged at the airport, the hotel is the next best bet. LASTLY, the beach right outside the hotel is a bit on the rockier side....so for a smoother stretch , walk left along the beach for 5 minutes till you reach an enclosed area issue the Meridian, which is safe for amateur swimmers like me.
Enjoy your stay

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
15 Thank Anupam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    65
    20
    9
    3
See reviews for
21
68
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We went to Mauritius in the week preceding Christmas and stayed at this hotel. It's right on the beach, medium sized hotel with rooms at ground and higher level (1 storied only) facing garden/pool - they have only 2-3 sea-facing rooms, restaurant and bar, small library, swimming pool. All facilities are very cleanly maintained. Breakfast menu had lots of varieties of fresh fruits, anything else required can be ordered. Staff is very polite and courteous and really go out of their way to make it comfortable - like we are vegetarians and though choices on the menu were limited, whenever we went to the restaurant they would ask what we would like to have and get that for us with the right amount of spice and taste, which was great treatment!! During the 7 days we stayed, the hotel arranged for a barbecue party with live music and dance performance (Thursday) and a guitar performance on Sunday 2, which were well organized and lot of fun. Only one feedback for improvement would be that they could keep the stretch of beach marked for guests cleaner by removing the algae. Definitely a place I will love to go back to again!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rajiv1502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Nice hotel, small, personal & friendly. Spacious room, very comfortable bed. Nice bathroom, plenty of towels and refreshed daily. Great, varied food. Extensive lunch menu. Situated directly on the beach, with a great diving school that offers free glass-bottom boat rides and snorkeling equipment. Pretty and clean swimming pool. English speaking personnel. A great place to relax and enjoy the hospitality of the staff. My wife and I look forward to going back again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank domistokman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anywhere
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed twice in Villas Mon Plaisir in Pointe aux Piments in the NW of Mauritian. It is such a pleasure to be here in this small scale hotel centered around a lush garden with nice pool and beach. Not in the least because of the all time friendliness and hospitality of the whole staff. The rooms are pleasant, the beds heavenly and the food excellent. What a gem I'dd like to come back to!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Astrid1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

The hotel is the perfect place to be at to experience a blissful holiday in serenity & we experienced its magic during our Jan Honeymoon at Villas Mon Plaisir

Booking :

A 7D/6N Honeymoon Package from Mauritiusmania.com .Travel agent arranged everything much cheaper than what we would have managed.It ws flexible & comfortable.The guide for the trip , Ms. Samina Campbell , guided us to one of the most exotic places in otherwise tourist bound destination.It ws much of a help as she ws our lone source of correct info without looking to making commission.

Location is awesome:

The Villas Mon Plaisir is located at a very peaceful location. The hotel is very convenient from the tourism point of view as the public transport medium are readily accessible from this site. A bus stand lies at a distance of 300 m or so from the hotel from where you can catch a bus to Port Louis, the shopping center point, and other visit locations like Troux au Biche, Triolet, Grand Baie etc. We dint needed to do tht as we hd already all places covered in our tour.

French speaking mannered staff:

The hotel is a collection of modernity with an excellent hospitality where the whole staff will give way to everything to bring your requirements and wishes to reality. The people are very much friendly. Mainly, French language is spoken and English is the next commonly spoken by the people on board.

Decent Rooms:

The rooms are pretty spacious and comfortable. All the rooms are maintained hygienically neat and clean. The bathrooms are also big and filled with toiletries. The common appliances like air conditioners, TV, fans and water heaters are installed and are regularly monitored by the house keeping staff.

Die for Chinese buffett:

The food served in the hotel is quite tempting. The hotel serves buffet twice a week (creole and Chinese menus are switch alternatively). Barbeque grills are set each Thursday and very scrumptious delicacies are prepared. The desserts such as fruit mousses and the ice creams are also amazing.

Other facilities :

The hotel has a library with a classy collection of novels and epic sagas. There is a nice swimming pool which is regularly cleaned. The beach is clean and beautiful. The sea is also pristine and refreshing. The swimmers have the luck on their side. Other than all this, the hotel has free Wi-Fi in the lobby and near the pool. There is also a PC in the lobby if anyone wants to use it purposefully.
So leave your whims if you are confused and just come here… you won’t regret it!

Room Tip: IMHO All rooms seem equally good though ground nd 1st might fit the bill
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sonam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

We stayed this last New Year at this hotel and I must add it is our second stay in approx two years. Value for money BUT not for your first visit to the Island. Pick a upmarket hotel first and then use this hotel as a economical stay. We have stayed next door at Le Meridian twice also but costly. Food changes every night as is has a theme like the other larger hotels. Barbeque evenings are great and outside weather permitting. We arrived just before a cyclone which was a damper on the stay but as we had a rental car we just rode around. All water sport boats were removed from the sea, so it was out of action for a few days. Room is a nice size, except we had a bad odor from the bathroom which spoilt it a bit. Clean and practical with fresh towels daily if required. We were half board so we enjoyed breakfast and dinner. Lunch was very cheap to order and add to your bill. Cocktails were dirt cheap and did not break the bank. Food quality was okay as they do not know the meaning of a fresh salad. Only overripe tomatoes used and cabbage turned into coleslaw. Breakfast was boring with the same old stuff each morning. Nice that the birds came to sit on the tables to share your food. Got some great photos. Friendly staff that work real hard and it was a pity that only three to four waiters in the evening to approx 200 guests. Service was slow. Still overall the costs were reasonable and actually cheap compared to the hotels around them. Good value for money and it is always easy to criticize but you get what you pay for.
Snorkeling was good but beware of the sea urchins in the water in front of the hotel. Got me good right threw my flipper. Do yourself a favour and buy sea shoes. Max's shop behind sells them and it is walking distance. Nice entertainment for new year and they did go the extra mile on the food and fireworks for the evening. Good dragon dance was also enjoyed. Compliments to a pleasant staff who was their still from last visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and not the ground floor as the noise from the pool enters them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Hotel is not restored from years, the swimming pool is so small, the food was bland, and not enough, I had to wait one hour, to be served.
The staff was charming, and there have good diving club, helpful and so friendly.
oh, something positive, there was WI-FI available.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rumy121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Aux Piments
0.7 mi away
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Res...
#2 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.4 mi away
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
#3 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Grand Bleu Hotel
Le Grand Bleu Hotel
#7 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Palmiste Resort & Spa
Le Palmiste Resort & Spa
#6 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Mon Plaisir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Mon Plaisir

Property: Villas Mon Plaisir
Address: Royal Road, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Mon Plaisir 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Villas Mon Plaisir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Mon Plaisir Hotel Pointe Aux Piments
Hotel Mon Plaisir
Villas Mon Plaisir Mauritius/Pointe Aux Piments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing