We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Constance Prince Maurice
Nearby Hotels
US$685
US$664
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$704
US$489
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Long Beach Mauritius(Belle Mare)
US$428
US$408
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$840
US$523
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$267
US$251
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ambre Mauritius(Belle Mare)
US$385
US$375
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
LUX* Belle Mare(Belle Mare)
US$391
US$380
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$343
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$581
US$348
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (1,484)
Filter reviews
1,484 results
Traveller rating
1,371
82
21
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,371
82
21
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfloating restaurantasian restaurantwine cellarhead sommelieron stiltsmain restaurantour honeymoonrecommend ledim sumsister hotelkids clubdress codetennis coachbeachfront villathis wonderful hotelfamily suitebeach staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
653 - 658 of 1,484 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Like the previous reviewer, we were also asked to leave after 3 nights of our 14 night holiday. Any hotel who treats its clients in this manner, does not deserve to be in business. The hotel is lovely, the staff delightful and the food excellent. We chose this hotel for these for these qualities. If you want to risk being thrown out when more money comes along, then there is no better place to stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
16  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrinceMaurice, General Manager at Constance Prince Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Distinguished guests

First and foremost, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your invaluable feedback on Trip Advisor.

While I am delighted to see that overall you enjoyed your short stay with us, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience our last minute privatisation request caused to you.

Constance Le Prince Maurice is known for its high standard of service and guest satisfaction. The Team always strives whilst ensuring to deliver the highest quality of service. You may rest assured that our philosophy has not changed. Once again I would like to convey my sincerest apologies that you felt so negatively about your stay.

We do hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you for another stay and I would request you to contact me directly, I will personally look after your reservation and ensure that you spend a memorable stay with us.

Yours Sincerely,
Christophe Plantier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We booked this trip 9 months ago. Plenty of research was done and this hotel was chosen for a week's stay. It was a close call between this and the Four Seasons but this edged it. In addition, many inducements were offered for booking early. I tell you this because what happened a week before travel puts it into perspective. We were told that the hotel could no longer accommodate us for the whole week as they had taken a booking for the entire hotel. We were given an excuse about French diplomats needing the hotel and the government requiring it. That turned out to be a lie as the truth was rather more unsavoury. I won't go into details here but it does not put the hotel in a very good light. We were made various other options and negotiated an alternative for the first 3 nights. It was not what we wanted and certainly not with so little time. So whilst I understand that this is a business, when booking, be aware that with this hotel, that comes before its guests or prior commitments. We were lucky - we heard of others thrown out after they had arrived, some told on their way from the airport and some on their honeymoon.

The hotel is beautiful. We were in beach villas which are gorgeous. Huge and beautifully furnished with their own private pools. All the fittings were in excellent condition and good quality. The lobby and pool areas are also lovely to look at although the pool was filthy on the day we arrived. The service around the pool was quite poor but generally it was good around the hotel. Many of the staff were friendly and helpful and clearly doing as much as they could to impress. The food in the main restaurant was of a very high quality as was room service. Although on the day we left, having organised an early breakfast it did not turn up until 5 minutes before our car which was poor.

So in summary, a beautiful hotel with generally good service but could improve in some areas. However, I can't forgive them for messing up a short well-planned trip for us. It is a long way to travel for a week and for that to be divided into a two-centre stay was unwelcome. Before you commit to staying with them be aware they won't commit to you if they get a better offer.

Room Tip: Beach villas are beautiful.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank FinchleyTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Me and my husband stayed here for 10 nights of our honeymoon after spending 4 nights in South Africa on safari. We had wanted this part of our honeymoon to be pure relaxation and luxury, and we weren't disappointed.

We splashed out on a beach front villa and we are so glad that we did. It was definitely worth the money. It was large and luxurious inside, and with our own small private pool outside. We overlooked the beach and we had direct access from our villa. We even had our own reserved loungers on the beach which was a nice touch. Our beach waiter was very attentive and friendly, putting out our towels every morning, bringing round fresh fruit skewers, and even at one point offering to clean our sunglasses!

The beach is small but well maintained and the sea is lovely and clear. We used the spa several times during our stay and it was brilliant. We had a couples' massage and I had one by myself, and both were by far the best I have ever had (and I've had a lot!). The service was great there too. It is expensive, but a wonderful treat if you can afford it.

It was my birthday while we were away and my husband had arranged with the hotel for us to have dinner on the beach. We had our own private waiter and a tasting menu. Of course this is all to be paid for, and wasn't cheap, but it was worth it and a very special experience. They had set up a lantern walkway to our table and the table itself had been decorated beautifully. It was very private, the food was great and our waiter was very attentive.

The main restaurant was great, with a wide variety of dishes on the menu, and of high restaurant standard every evening. The only negative is that the service could be a little hit and miss, both in the evenings and at breakfast. No complaints with the food though. We also ate in the Asian restaurant once which was good, and the floating restaurant twice. We found the floating restaurant to be the best of all three, with better service and a nicer atmosphere (although you can start to feel a little sea sick if you are that way inclined!) There is also a floating bar on the way to the restaurant which is nice to stop at before dinner.

There are free watersports on offer with the hotel, and it's worth taking advante of these. We did water skiing, sailing and snorkelling.

All in all, we were really pleased with our choice of hotel in Mauritius. It was definitely a little piece of luxury, peace and quiet, and a chance to unwind. It is expensive (drinks in particular) but that's kind of to be expected in a place like this, and we were aware of it before we went.

Room Tip: We had a beach front villa and it was amazing, if you can afford it, definitely go for this.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neems23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrinceMaurice, General Manager at Constance Prince Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Madam,

Thank you for having chosen our hotel for the second part of your holiday.

Happy to see that you did manage to enjoy a relaxing stay after the first week of safari.

We can only be touched by your kind compliments that I have conveyed these to my team. I do value your comments regarding the service in our restaurant and have re-addressed the issue to ensure that we do maintain high standard quality services at all times.

We do hope that you will not hesitate to renew this ultimate holiday experience and I do look forward to welcome you again at Constance Le Prince Maurice Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Christophe Plantier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Le prince maurice in end of april start of may 2014 as part of our honeymoon. This place was by far the best resort i have ever stayed in. From the moment we stepped out of our taxi on arrival you could feel the quietness and peacefulness of the resort. it was like stepping out into our own luxurious world. The service was fantastic throughout the whole resort. The food were perfect and we really enjoyed the floating restaurant. We stayed in a beach front villa with our own private pool, having access to the beach right from the villa was fantastic and the pool was very useful particularly on a rainy day. A special mention to akshada for organising all our excursions, we particularly enjoyed casela nature park ( i would recommend for all visitors to maurtius). Thanks to all the team at constance for making our stay absolutely wonderful and definitely a stay to remember.

Room Tip: definitely beach front with pool, the whole resort is quiet and peaceful, villa was very spacious, luxurious and great view
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shenza22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrinceMaurice, General Manager at Constance Prince Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments received on the site of 'Trip Advisor'

We are happy to see that you keep good souvenirs of your stay, your villa, the floating restaurant, the quality of the food and the attention of our passionate team members and Akshada is indeed one of them who will always try to the extra mile to meet and even exceed the expectations of our guests.

I do hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Christophe Plantier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We enjoyed our 5th visit to the hotel between 3rd and 17th May. We are a little reluctant to sign the praises of this glorious retreat in case next time we go,it is booked up. It is in a category of its own for architectural beauty,landscaping and atmosphere. 90 rooms and even if full,as it was in the first week,never crowded,either on the beach or by the two pools or in the dining rooms. The second pool is a lovely addition. The new raft is a welcome target to swim to and the new floating bar is lovely. Ultimately it is the staff who makes this hotel so nice to stay at. Inconspicuous,but always available and helpful. It is nit picking to suggest a daily bowl of complimentary fruit would be welcome. The alcohol is absurdly expensive,but it is in all of the hotels of this standard on Mauritius. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All the rooms have lovely views,with at least some sea.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dentons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrinceMaurice, General Manager at Constance Prince Maurice, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you or having spared your time to write a review on this traveler's site.

We are very grateful to your compliments and do equally value your suggestion.

Indeed wine and general alcohol is expensive as we do have to import most of them, bear with the cost and the import duties and taxes too. I do thank you for your understanding knowing that we do feature the same price range as any other hotel of the same category.

Hope that you will consider a return visit in the near future.

Kind regards,
Christophe Plantier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews