We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not go with fleetway travel - very annoyed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mazagan Beach & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in El Jadida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Every few years we try and go on a family holiday. This year we were really looking forward to heading to a nice relaxing place where we could just sit, enjoy the sun, sea and sand. .

We saw the advert on the metro, it looked good and we booked. Wish i had seen the trip advisor reviews first.

We had SO MANY problems with fleetway, from booking names through to getting the right information.

When we arrived at the hotel, everything that was promised to us over the phone by fleetway never materialised. From drinks through to all of us on one floor The strange thing was the hotel was running at 60% occupancy so no excusses. Biggest problem was fleetway over promised and did not confirm with the hotel.

The hotel it self was amazing, but the service was not the greatest. It can be very very slow. Its a shame.

If you do go, make sure you check all the details first with the hotel, fleetway will tell you anything to get the sale.

Room Tip: sea view is not sea view!!! check the room first, if you are not happy make sure you get it changed...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rajan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,446)
There are newer reviews for Mazagan Beach & Golf Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

531 - 537 of 1,446 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

The buildings and grounds of the Mazagan resort are easily 5 star. Someone has invested tens of millions to produce a luxurious environment. The beachside position is picture perfect, and the climate is ideal, even in mid summer (mid to late 20s with a cooling breeze).
The Sel de Mere restaurant is very good, and the Morjana is ok.
So, why only rated 3?
1. The resort is relatively isolated, away from any towns or villages, so you are 100% reliant upon the hotel facilities, and the service of the staff.
2. We enjoy eating and sitting outside in a warm climate - it's one of the main things we look for - but there are limited opportunities to do this in the evening at the Mazagan.
3. I'm not anti-smoking, but at the Mazagan you can smoke anywhere, and the ventilation doesn't seem to cope (in some areas), so it's hard to avoid a smoky atmosphere sometimes.
4. The buffet restaurant (Market Place) and food was generally very good quality, but in mid August it was very busy, with lots of queueing. Not a relaxing atmosphere. No drinks, not even water, was offered with evening meals, which I found very odd.
5. I have been to 53 countries, but I've never had to pay £6 ($9) for a coke. In one bar it was 80 dirhams for a soda!! (bought one in El Jadida, the nearest big town, for 3 dirhams). I also paid 65 dirhams for a (25cl) Heineken, which works out at almost £19 per litre!!
6. Sunbeds around the pool areas are at a premium in mid August (maybe less so out of season?), and they can be reserved with a towel, european style. I even saw a couple of beds reserved with a lipstick and an ashtray!! The staff seemed to allow this. Some families were reserving beds at both pools and moving between them, while others had to sit on the grass, without beds.
7. A lot of (but not all) the staff seemed aloof and unapproachable. English is not widespread, and is usually a second or third language. French is the main language.

The family had an enjoyable time, but it could have been so much better, so rated 3 for me.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jmallen04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I agree the grounds and the hotel are very impressive looking, but that's where it stops!
I have travelled and stayied in 5* hotels and the Mazagan certainly is not.
Staff need training further, very slow . in Olives breakfast area. Tables not cleaned hygenically
nor re-stocked with full cutlery i.e. constantly having to ask for teaspoon for coffee, cups,salt/pepper. Omelette chef usses two pans and l spatula - mixes ingredients including bacon so anybody
who is vegetarian - beware. No hot plates at breakfast, no fresh fruit (individual ones)
Market Place restaurant only ate there lst night, more like school canteen, buffet style, food
not replenished sufficiently, children running riot throught the room - not being supervised or
spoken to by staff. Do not go here for quiet meal. Never felt so inferior as I did at this hotel,
albeit I acccept I do not speak French but staff should be bi lingual and even Management.
Booked with Fleetway travel who stated, happy hour in atrium - only serve coffee/teas here
nightclub - not open at all during our stay and did enquire before booking if Ramadam affected
the hotel - no they said. Seafoord restaurant bar started closing down 11 pm - putting all bottle drinks
away. Nothing to do in the evening. Nothing near to location to visit even other hotels.
Complained and wrote to Management whilst staying there and was just given 600 dhms £20 pp off bill albeit we spent 5* prices on coffees/teas/drinks (and we are not big drinkers). No tea/coffee in room
Felt we were totally ignored with any questions/pool drinks service throughout.No smiley welcome at breakfast times. Queues to be seated.
better off in the UAE FOR 5* TREATMENT.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nanny51_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Hotel itself and the rooms are big, clean and very nice indeed. The problem is simple and should be easy enough to fix. If you are going to market to international market then the staff should be international and have mix of languages. It has been very difficult for us and our children to communicate to general staff as they do not speak English. Only at the senior level at front desk is there a grasp of English.
The other thing to be aware of is the information on room type between fleetway and the hotel. Fleetway tell you that you have booked a deluxe ocean view room but when you arrive you find it is only partial ocean view which is naughty. The hotel then move some clients but not others depending on how much you complain. One family got their rooms changed and I just got a platter of fruit and bottle of water sent as apology!
When I rang fleetway they tell me that I can see the ocean just about and therefore they won't do anything to help or feel they have been miss leading.
Be careful with the travel company as they are not one to fully disclose what they have booked for you and be careful of this resort if you do not speak French.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bradleykl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The transfer is 1.5 hours if you have a baby that is quite a bit of time after a 3.5 hour flight but saying that it went quickly and the return the same. Watch at the airport that the average Joe is not also trying to help with your bags onto the coach. They will want a tip, be a bit street wise and hang on to your baggage unless its the driver in his black suit.

The Hotel is set in the poor farmland near the coast. A magnificent hotel like a modern castle that rises from the yellow dirt in a well landscaped and well fed water oasis right along the coast. Go for an ocean view. Ideal for a walk and a quick bathe of the toes in the sea. Its the atlantic so the waters cold with a strong current, good for surfing. Also you'll be able to camel ride and horse ride. The private beach stretches for miles and is just empty. The club house and beach facilities are excellent I would just watch that the tapas meats are not cooked by the sun that could provide a bad belly. Excellent views and a great place to watch the sun set with a cold beer.

The swimming pool is shallow, ideal for small kids, but if your children need action as in slides and inflatables this is not the place for them i'm afraid. Even the kids pool very shallow and a very shallow slide. But brilliant for toddlers and children under 8.

The pool boys and staff are really helpful and considering the main clients are french and arabic they were really trying hard with the English and us with our french but it wasn't a problem. I'm glad we were the minority, everybody including other guests were very friendly. The pool restaurant and bar provided basic pool food, pizza etc.

The restaurants were very good and if you wanted a flavour of Morroco it certainly provided that as well as the more western food.

The room was really clean and well presented towels, sheets, water was all refreshed everyday. The mini bar was a little annoying with an electronic system but notifying the desk that you haven't taken any item clears the bill.

A quick reminder you are charged £9 per day for tourism tax.
The Spa and leisure facilities are excellent and well staffed for advice.

The casino is a little grimey and seedy but that is gambling in some respects. The smoking ban is not in place and is quite a shock, when your reminded how much this has cleaned the going out environment up.

An excellent place to go with a family or as a couple, though I would not recommend else where in Morroco with a family for exploration its just too edgy, if your not on your toes people will take advantage of you in the street so be careful. The hotel is really safe and is highly recommended. Great for young families and couples.

Room Tip: Go for an ocean view, its worth the extra...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark_leeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

What a fantastic resort! Everything was super smooth right from the time we landed at the airport, took the complementary shuttle, checked in and enjoyed the numerous facilities on offer. The Spa was top notch and the customer service was impeccable throughout the resort. Special mention to the duty manager Bouchra who is quite simply the best ever! She treated us like royalty and even sent baskets of moroccon sweets, biscuits and fruits on my wife's birthday to our room as a surprise. If you want a 5 star holiday in Morocco, go here!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

My friend and I have just returned from this amazing hotel. My only regret is that we only stayed for 5 days and not longer. Its a fantastic hotel and the staff cant do enough for you. The food is excellent, good choices especially breakfast. Our room was huge and we had an amazing view of the ocean. We had hot towels and fresh melon served around the pool area. There are lots of special touches which makes this hotel 5 star. We will be going back again. Glenis and Paula 03/08/12 Southampton.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view and looked onto the beach area.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlenisC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Jadida hotels
49.0 mi away
Pullman Mazagan Royal Golf & Spa
6.6 mi away
Ibis Budget El Jadida
Ibis Budget El Jadida
#3 of 11 in El Jadida
269 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ibis El Jadida
Ibis El Jadida
#4 of 11 in El Jadida
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Art Suites El Jadida
Art Suites El Jadida
#11 of 11 in El Jadida
29 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Jawharat El Jadida
Hotel Jawharat El Jadida
#8 of 11 in El Jadida
14 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#5 of 11 in El Jadida
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mazagan Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mazagan Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Km10, Casablanca Road, El Jadida 24000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Doukkala-Abda Region > El Jadida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in El Jadida
Price Range: £128 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mazagan Beach & Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mazagan Beach Resort is a magical destination combining relaxation, leisure and sports through its infrastructures: Golf, Spa, Casino, Kids Club, restaurants. All the amenities are built to facilitate the stay. The hotel is set in 250 hectares of landscape with a private beach of 7km and features a 180° view over the Atlantic Ocean, a very good recommendation for families (special offers for children rooms), couples & singles. The design of the 500 luxurious and spacious rooms (42 m2), the flavours of Moroccan gastronomy and the Spa ensure you an authentic memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mazagan Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mazagan Beach Hotel El Jadida
Mazagan Beach & Golf Resort Morocco/El Jadida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing