We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mazagan Beach & Golf Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$134
Pullman
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis El Jadida(El Jadida)
US$74
ibis
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$27
ibis Budget
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel La Place(El Jadida)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
    Zerad(El Jadida)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Excellent 5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Hotel Florence(El Jadida)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Average 3/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Average 3/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    Reviews (1,527)
    Filter reviews
    1,527 results
    Traveller rating
    822
    406
    152
    77
    70
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    822
    406
    152
    77
    70
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsmarket placehorse ridingkids clubhalf boardkids poolsel de merbuffet restaurantmain poolprivate beachquad bikesnice resortmini barcasablanca airportbeach barocean viewjockey clubthe hotel offers
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    352 - 357 of 1,527 reviews
    Reviewed 11 August 2014

    This is a huge hotel located on a lovely beach just North of El Jadida. The design of the hotel and its expansive grounds and outbuildings is impressive and everything has a 5* look and feel to it. The room we had, a standard pool-view room on the 3rd floor, was very nicely appointed and the 4 of us (2 adults and 2 kids (7 and 5)) happily spent two weeks in comfort. We were on a full-board deal (and it was a very good deal given the time of year) and the food was, for the most part, excellent and there were generally plenty of great options for the kids. The pools were very nice, particularly the kids pool, which is, for some inexplicable reason, inadequately represented or promoted on the hotel's website. Photos attached - if any parents are in doubt, it is an excellent feature and our kids absolutely loved it. They also loved the main pool, which is pretty shallow across its considerable expanse.

    There were however some negatives; some mean we would not return to this hotel... not with kids anyway.

    Gripe no. 1 - service. I've seen some reviews which makes me question whether we stayed in the same hotel or whether they shipped in a different crew for our particular inconvenience. There were exceptions, but mainly our experience of the staff was that they were ambivalent or completely useless. Language was a major barrier. I speak good French which got us through a few awkward and confusing moments. We were told that the majority of their guests are English speakers... then why can hardly any of the staff speak even basic English? The (hilarious) high water mark of the problem was reached when another couple phoned reception to ask if they could talk to someone about joining us one particular morning for archery. The response... we'll be up to your room in a moment... which they thought was remarkable, if unnecessary, service. A few minutes later a knock on the door and a member of the housekeeping staff presented them with an ashtray...
    Every day - and I mean every day - we had to ask for more towels in the room. Each morning housekeeping would arrange 4 sets of night clothes on the bed in a bizarre shapes, but would only leave two towels in the room... even when there were four in there and they had to take two away... every single day.

    Gripe no. 2 - Kids Club. Our kids wouldn't go. The staff at the kids club spoke pigeon English. The kids couldn't make themselves understood. All the activities were in French. The activities were thoroughly disorganised. All the kids that did stay (unsurprisingly) were French speakers.

    Gripe no. 3 - Fun. There is fun but it's fun on their terms... so not really much fun at all. Example - the cycling - they have a room containing more mountain bikes and kids bikes than a major branch of Evans Cycles. Can we take the kids out on the bikes? No. Can we go out on the bikes? Yes, but only at 10.30 or 3.30 and then only accompanied by a member of staff. When can the kids use the bikes? Only once a week in a designated slot with the Kids Club. I saw this. They took them up to the small turning circle outside the Spa and they cycled round a fountain for 10 minutes... thank god it was only 10 minutes because by then they'd lost the will to live.

    There are some really good things about this hotel but there are also too many negatives to recommend it. I have mentioned only a few. There were many other things that irritated us.

    Room Tip: The beach is one of the nicest features of the hotel, so a sea view would have been nice.
    • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    6  Thank rikkelly
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 7 August 2014

    We visited Mazagan with another family and had an incredible time. From the time we arrived at the hotel, the team from Mazagan was helpful, friendly and extremely hospitable. Our room overlooked the ocean, and was beautiful, comfortable and luxurious. The hotel provided a crib for our daughter, which she slept in comfortably the whole time. The food on the resort is incredibly delicious, and very convenient for a family with little ones. Kids eat free at the buffets, and every restaurant had great options for children, including a kid's menu. My favorite restaurant was the Beach BBQ, which had a gorgeous view of the ocean and fantastic chicken wings. I had them 3 times, I liked them so much! We also enjoyed a delicious seafood paella at the Beach Club, which was probably the best paella I have ever had. The really special part about Mazagan was how easy it was to spend time together as a family, and to also spend time as a couple. As a family, we had fun at the beach, the pool, the children's pool and more. The grounds are just gorgeous. For when you want to spend time together as a couple, there is a Baby Club with a fantastic team who can care for your little ones during the day, and babysitters who can watch them at night. I was so thoroughly impressed with the quality of care, beautiful facilities and hospitality at the Baby Club. We would often put our little one to sleep in the room, and ask for a sitter to ensure she stayed sleeping soundly, while we enjoyed dinner on the property grounds. We really loved it here and would definitely return if given the opportunity!

    • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank Dena E
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 7 August 2014

    We booked this hotel on a daily deal and believe we got exceptional value. We were just looking for a week of guaranteed sun in luxurious surroundings that wasn't going to cost a fortune. We got all that ( bar one day cloud, but then the hotel can't control that!). There are many similarities to the One & Only and Atlantis Hotels that I have stayed at in Dubai and the are part of the same group. The pools are excellent, if a little shallow and the beach is huge, although being on the Atlantic Coast the sea was quite cold even in mid July. The temperature was between 22c and 30c dropping down to 18c in the evening, so not stifling, but comfortable.
    The hotel boasts many restaurants but the ones we used as part of the package were both buffet style - Olives for Breakfast and Lunch and Market Place for dinner. I'm not usually a great fan of buffets, but these were excellent with a massive range of dining options, many cooked fresh to order. The two teenagers with us loved it and most kids would with 'make your own pizza' and a chocolate fountain every night! We did try the Beach BBQ restaurant for lunch on the last day and that was very good too and very reasonably priced.
    We were a little disappointed at the lack of activity in the evening. Most of the week there was no outside options for an after dinner drink with the Beach bars and pool bar closing at 8pm. This left the lobby bar, which was OK, but was nothing special, had the same live music every night and no control over any children at all. It would have been nice to have an adults only area as there are tons of kids there (even out of UK school holidays) and a retreat for adults would have been welcome. There is a casino, but only soft drinks and no bar in there. Absolutely loads to do for the kids of all ages, although quite a lot of it is at extra cost, but our two loved it. On the day it was cloudy and too cool to be by the pool, there was very little to do for us. The local town is awful, although the bazaar is ok if you like that sort of thing and you can get a cheap t-shirt or shoes if you bargain hard enough. Apart from that, there really is absolutely nothing for miles around.
    The spa is magnificent and surprisingly reasonably priced. The Hamman room (steam room) is one of the best I've experienced and is free as is the gym which is really well equipped. I didn't use the golf course but had a walk on it and it looked pretty good although with tight fairways and a wind blowing off the sea, I'd imagine a real ball eater.
    The big negative for us was the coach transfer from Rabat airport which was 2.5 hours there and 3.5 hours back. If you're going to go to this hotel, which I would strongly recommend, then make sure you fly to Casablanca which is only 1 to1.5 hours by bus.
    Rooms were superb and the service throughout the hotel was outstanding. We had cause to call the doctor out and that was provided free of charge. Prices in the hotel were ok for such a smart hotel - less than half of their counterparts in Dubai! A draft beer was about £3.50 for about half pint and cocktails were about £9, although better in happy hour. Cokes etc were just a touch cheaper than beer.
    In summary this is a vast, luxury hotel, with masses to do for the kids, great leisure facilities and good food and excellent service throughout.

    Room Tip: The hotel is vast and it takes over 5 minutes to walk from one end to the restaurants, so try and get a room near reception if you don't fancy the walk.
    • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank Clive H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 August 2014

    This is a follow-up review to last year (July 2013), based on our recent second visit (July 2014).

    Reasons for second visit: we liked the peaceful atmosphere of last year plus the good children's club facilities. We wanted to have a holiday where we could have both time with our children but also time on our own, with the reassurance that our children were safe and well looked after (plus entertained).

    Rooms:
    Very much the same as last year, our only real complaint about the room last year was the lack of tea/coffee facilities (which you'd expect in a luxury 5-star hotel), this year they have now included this in the rooms (although with paper cups?). The rooms are still the same, clean and well laid out, although our room could have done with a refresh of the decor as some areas were looking worn (scratches on the cabinets and stained tiles in the shower area). The cleaning staff also left ample toiletries this year, plus toilet rolls so you won't need to contact reception for this.
    Tip: when using the kettle always use the bottled water, don't be tempted by the tap water... they give you free bottles every day so you shouldn't run short.

    Breakfast:
    This is still excellent with a buffet service, Abdelleh (the big tea pouring man) is a great character with both adults and children. The manager was also very kind and considerate when my wife became ill on our second day with a gastric bug. he offered to send her some fresh fruit to the room, which really helped her as she couldn't leave the room until she felt better (for medical info please see further in the review). We mixed between eating outdoors and inside, depending on how quiet we wanted our morning to be (outside was nosier).
    Tip: if eating outside, don't worry about the bees as they usually buzz around you but are harmless unless you really annoy them... softly waft them away, but do not panic like some people who acted as if they were being attacked by a tiger.

    Diner:
    The buffet restaurant was our main place for diner, purely because our children liked the mixture of food. They have started to do a mixture of different food styles, with the introduction of speciality nights (italian, spanish, etc) which are every other night (instead of the world menu). The food was very good quality, fresh, tasty and plentiful...
    Tip: At weekends the resort fills up so the restaurant gets busy, sometimes you have to wait about 15 minutes (max) to get a table, so a tip is to arrive early to be sure of no delay.

    Lunch:
    We opted to mix out lunches at the pool restaurant, eating by the pool and the beach BBQ. The pool food is a mainly lunch style menu, but good quality. We liked the salads, our children liked the fresh made pizza with hand cut frites. The BBQ restaurant is the same but based on the beach so you get a quieter/better view. They were also finishing a new pizza oven (including a chef who was setting up the menu), so this should be on-line soon.
    Tip: get a table in the area near the pizza oven as this is away from the main service area and the toilet so you find it quieter.

    Beach area:
    We opted to use this more this year due to the noise levels at the pools, the sea view was great, quiet and peaceful. The sun beds were also very good, you get the free as a guest including towels. Go early if you want to be front row, or go mid afternoon as most people seem to disappear after lunch.

    Pool areas:
    Children's pool - this was great fun for the children, but if you want peace and quiet then take ear plugs...
    The large pool - this normally was quieter last year as children went mainly to the kids pool, but this year it was more full of children so the noise levels were high and the chance for peace and quiet not really possible. They also now play music which depends on the soundtrack if it's quiet or loud (the italian pop CD started to wear thin after the third repeat). If you know last year then you'll understand the big difference this year, it's not really possible to lay back and relax with water fights and warbling italian pop songs... so head for the beach if you want to relax...

    Spa:
    We had multiple full body massages, hammam, etc during our visit this year... the quality has improved greatly and is well worth the extra cost (for the massage, the hammam is free). We found that the massage worked better after lunch, not sure why but the ladies who do them seem to be better after lunch.

    Gym:
    We used this quiet a lot, plus the tennis facilities, both were good, although my wife is sure she got ill after using a running machine and forgetting to use the free sanitizer to wipe her hands afterwards. The tennis courts are clay, good fun and you get free rackets/balls. Also free towels and water are part of the gym use...
    Tip: do tennis in the late afternoon, it's cooler and less busy as most people are off back to their rooms to get ready for diner.

    Beach activities:
    Our children went body boarding which they loved (includes a wet suit as the sea can be cool), plus they also did the new bungee elastic trampoline set up (safe and monitored). The camels were more expensive this year so we gave them a miss, but the children wanted to do the horse riding but we ran out of time.

    Reception:
    We have read a few reviews criticizing the reception for delays, etc... but we only ever had a good response from the staff there. They were always polite and very helpful, I think the trick is to go with a friendly manner and you'll come away feeling the same... go there with an angry attitude and things won't be as smooth. Another good thing that's improved greatly from last year is the billing system, this year it was 100% spot on for what we'd spent without any of the issues of last year.
    Tip: when booking a shuttle into El Jadiba make sure you specify your return time as they can be over full if everybody suddenly turns up at the same time (this time some people kindly offered to wait for another shuttle due to too many people returning at the same time).

    New Shop:
    The resort has added a new shop in the reception area where you can buy general stuff likes canned drinks, sun wear, children's pool toys, etc. It's far cheaper than the bars or main resort shops...

    The staff:
    If you could summarize the most important element of this resort it would be the staff. We knew from last year that most staff were very nice and helpful (with a few exceptions who we didn't see again this time). This year all the staff we met and talked to were very kind, helpful and extremely polite. What was noticeable was how every member of staff took time to offer a small nugget of interest when you spoke to them, from the waiter who explained about the african music that was playing outside, the Spa lady who advised how to get the same experience once we'd come home, the pool guy explaining about the date trees and how they're harvested, etc. Another interesting point was the addition to the staff name badges things that the individual liked doing (ie. I love football, I love dancing, etc). This was an inspired piece of marketing to get people to talk to the staff about what they loved doing outside of work. You got to see the real personalities of the staff and how genuine they are.

    And finally, our only real negative comment:
    Last year the resort was quieter and seemed to be a mix of much the same people (familes, older people, etc) from all over (mixed nationalities). This year though there seems to have been a change in track for who the resort targets as potential guests. They are moving to a younger audience (hence the poolside music), which is not an issue but we wanted to avoid going to places with that had an Ibiza feel which is what the resort seems to be heading towards. We are not being snobbish, all of the people we met who fit the above were great and very nice (mainly english, german and french 20+'s), but they also expected to have the 'ibiza' style resort which goes against the luxury resort we were looking for. Somewhere the resort needs to define what it wants to be and stick to it as both styles don't mix, nor does it make you feel happy to suddenly find yourself in 'ibiza' when you've paid for laid back and relaxed Morocco.

    Overall:
    We enjoyed ourselves but didn't have the same luxury experience like last year due to the 'ibiza' effect. The staff are excellent, as are most of the facilities, we may visit again but not with a view as a main holiday resort next year.

    Room Tip: We would have said the pool rooms after last year (quiet, etc) but now we'd suggest the sea view as the pool views are noisier with the windows open...
    • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    3  Thank pgb2pgb
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 August 2014

    I stayed in this resort a couple of days for business in June 2014. It's simply so huge that you easily get lost throughout the complex. It has a golf course, a casino, an enourmous beach in front of the hotel and the buildings themselves are so large it's difficult to find your way around the first few days.
    Once you get yourself familiarized then you'll appreciate everything the resort has to offer. Rooms are large and modern, mine actually had sea view. The only downside on that side of the complex is that at night hunders, even thousands of frogs are screaming in the small ditch between the hotel and the sea - and they are LOUD! Even with the doors closed!!
    Our company conference had so many participants that some of the meetings took place in suites turned into meeting rooms, which did not contribute to the meeting quality, but did provide a nice sea view again.
    The only downside of the hotel is the distance from Casablanca airport, which is a good 1.5h drive away. In between there's not a lot to do or see, so when in the resort you're quite isolated. Still, if you want sun, beach and quality comfort, this is the place to be!

    Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    1  Thank Toetjesfreak
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews