We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great spot, brilliant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Chakir Mogador
Ranked #39 of 178 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Perfect location in the centre of town.
Would echo everyone else's comments about the staff who couldn't have been more obliging and helpful.
Breakfast was not great, it took a long time and was weak coffee, dry bread and one choice of jam. Adequate but could be better.
Lovely little roof top terrace to relax on.
Sewerage obviously not quite right as bathroom smelly.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraBennison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2011

We arrived at this riad on Christmas day and was greeted by 2 of the guys who run the place, they were great- helped us with our bags, free wifi, maps of the area, etc.
The room we stayed in wasn't very big, but big enough for all our stuff (we had surfboards too). Our ensuite bathroom was a reasonable size but we had a damp smell lingering there, I think the sewage system in the medina isn't great and so hence the bad smell, but we bought some incense sticks from one of the many shops which covered the smell.

We had the best night's sleep here throughout our entire holiday; the staff are very thoughtful and turned off any music after 8/9pm, and even at breakfast (served in the centre courtyard) they were very quiet and whispered for those still asleep.
Breakfast is plentiful (lots of bread, croissants, etc) served with butter and jam, with a choice to drinks. The terrace up top is a great place to chill out, read, etc. You can even hang any hand washing up here.

The guys here were so helpful, we had a problem with our rental car and the manager took us to get the wheel and tyre fixed at a very reasonable price from a local garage (a lot less than Hertz would've charged us for the damage!) he was able to converse with them in arabic and explain our problem, saving us a lot of time and money.

The riad is perfectly located in the medina and easy to find, you can walk to the port and beach within 5 minutes, and there's plenty of restaurants nearby for all tastes.
We only booked into the riad for 2 nights, we extended it for another couple of nights as it was such a nice place. We even recommended it to a family we met in Taghazout, they left the same day and headed straight to Essaouira for this riad.
We did stay in another riad which was voted best in the Lonely Planet book, but we both agreed that this one was much better, more cosy, more homely, much quieter and the best night's sleep you'll ever get.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

On the main street of the Essaouira medina, quite close to the main place and port/beach, ideal location. The staff were really nice and helpful, the riad is beautiful and the prices correct.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neric29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

My wife and I had a fabulous stay in this Riad. The staff were excellent and very friendly, the location is perfect, the roof terrace was a delight and our room was lovely. A real bargain.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonnyR69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

This riad is more like a hotel with its 18 rooms, but it retains its riad feel as it is actually two houses linked together. Location is perfect, very central in the medina yet close enough to the gates accessing the beach.

There are different quality of rooms within a different price range. We were in one of the cheaper rooms; it was very small and a bit stuffy. But I saw some of the other rooms and they are larger, have a seating area, and even one has an outside window.

The "hotel" aspect of the riad can be a plus as you come and go as you wish without having to knock at a closed door as you do in smaller more intimate riads. Perhaps not the best riad out there but the price and location is perfect and service is very professionnal.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corvuscorona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We just came from good accomodations in both Marrakech and Agadir. Chakir was more like a cold hotel than a riad. The location was great - but it was a simple place to crash for a few nights. The staff wasn't so friendly or helpful (they all seemed miserable!). There was no security as random people would stroll in and out. Our room was very stuffy as there was no fresh air. The top of the Riad was covered; therefore no air got through the place causing a stale feel all around. The lighting was also a bit grim.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingOYEster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

This riad is centrally located in Essaouira, just off the main / busy street. Rooms are fairly sized and clean with bathroom inside the room. The sofa in the room is not comfortable as when you sit down, you feel like falling down easily. Courtyard, terrace and common areas are nicely decorated. Adequate Moroccan breakfast are provided and included in the room charge.

As we stayed in a room on the top floor, we could hear the strong wind from the roof. Better to stay on lower floors, I guess.

It is a good option at this price range.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forestee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#36 of 75 in Essaouira
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#25 of 75 in Essaouira
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ryad Lyon-Mogador
Ryad Lyon-Mogador
#21 of 75 in Essaouira
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Sidi Magdoul
Riad Sidi Magdoul
#33 of 75 in Essaouira
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Essaouira Wind Palace
Essaouira Wind Palace
#31 of 75 in Essaouira
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riad Benatar
Hotel Riad Benatar
#64 of 178 in Essaouira
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Chakir Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chakir Mogador

Address: 13 Rue Malek Ben Morhal, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range: £30 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Chakir Mogador 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in full heart of the medina, with some steps from the port and the beach, Riad Chakir Mogador is the privileged place of your stopover in Essaouira. This house of hosts, entirely restored in the pure respect of the traditions and Moroccan architecture, will allure you by its restful atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Chakir Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chakir Mogador Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing