We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Chakir Mogador
Nearby Hotels
Villa Quieta(Essaouira)
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Watier(Essaouira)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira(Essaouira)(Great Value!)
US$33
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Chbanate(Essaouira)
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Riad Le Grand Large(Essaouira)(Great Value!)
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fontaine Bleue(Essaouira)
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Riad Al Madina(Essaouira)(Great Value!)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dar Al Bahar(Essaouira)(Great Value!)
US$40
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$34
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Sidi Magdoul(Essaouira)(Great Value!)
US$28
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$27
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
68
95
28
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
95
28
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspainted ceilingfresh juice and coffeecentral locationinner courtyardbreakfast was deliciouswater pressurestayed nightslovely roof terraceriadmedinaheartportjammoroccokilowiplug
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights in August 2012. The hostess was extremely welcoming and immediately pointed us in the direction of a good little restaurant a couple of streets away. The room was very comfortable and well-kept, the place had a real freshness about it (but that may have been down to our group having previously spent 3 nights in Marrakech!).

The only downer I felt with this place was the lack of communal joviality. We were the only ones in the riad area and we were sat down, charged for our mint tea and given the remote control of the TV to entertainment ourselves with. This experience left us feeling a little bit flat. I would recommend this hostel to maturer travellers looking for a bit of serenity and personal space, but not necessarily for those on a shoe string looking to enjoy the company of other travellers and soak up the local customs. For me this represents Essaouira more broadly - more for tourists than for those travelling around on a budget.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt_cooper_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

If you want to stay in the center of town this is a great option. The Riad is absolutely beautiful, the staff is friendly and the breakfast was phenominal. The only downside was I found it very difficult to sleep with all the noise on the streets. It seemed the only time it was quiet was between 2 am and 6 am. I was woken by construction on the building next door around 630 or 7. However this was nobody's fault, maybe just my own misfortune. I got the feeling that the entire town is noisy so if you want a nice quiet place to stay there are several options just outside the gates. There are tons of great shops and cafe's within a very short walk and the staff ( english speaking ) were very helpful in providing help and advice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramsay_mp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We booked 4 nights in the Chakir suite, as it ticked all our boxes - patio, terrace (you need some "outdoor space" in a riad), dining area, frig, kettle, mini-bar, a bathroom, washing machine, toiletries, etc. None of those facilities existed! The (very pleasant) chap in charge said some were "riad facilities" (eg patio, dining area) but didn't appreciate that that was very different from "room facilities". "Toiletries" = 2 bars of soap! Room smelt musty, felt damp, bed sheet had the texture of fine sandpaper (albeit clean sandpaper), breakfast very basic compared with the similarly-priced but excellent Riad Alek. There's a fine line between "rustic charm" and "a bit run-down" and I think this was in the latter category. We left after one night and moved to the very good Residence La Galiote.

Room Tip: Check that you'll get what booking.com says you'll get!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

we stayed at this riad for one night between our stay in Marrakesh. Its bang middle of Essaouira medina so getting around is easy and its only 10min walk to the beach! the rooms are traditional but the bedding could have been cleaner. however no complaints as the staff are wonderful and the breakfast was more than adequate. In fact i had the best freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast in this place than i did in my entire holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qas100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This was a lovely, tastefully decorated, clean and relaxed riad, offering several roof terraces for sun bathing and cool relaxed lounges. Rooms were cleaned daily, and were comfortable and cool.

Breakfast included pastries, and warm freshly baked bread.

The staff were very helpful and friendly, providing maps and directions, and recommending a high quality Hammam and massage and even phoning ahead to book for us.

The Riad is centrally located within the Medina, for a 5-10 minutes walk to the port area &
beach and handy for restaurants, and souks.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews