We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lived Like Royalty” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Chakir Mogador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Chakir Mogador
Ranked #36 of 177 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
852 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 496 helpful votes
“Lived Like Royalty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

When I first arrived here I thought I had the wrong address. For the price I paid I didn't think I would be stayinng in such a beautiful riad. The riad itself was restored beautifully. My traditional room, while small was delightfully appointed with a large bathroom and opened onto a sunny interior courtyard. The large, rooftop terraces were perfect for relaxing, reading or chatting with the other guests. The delicious breakfast (included) was served in a luxurious courtyard. The staff was exceptionally professional/friendly (always greeted me with a warm smile) and made every effort to answer any questions I had/gave me good tips about the surrounding area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank backpacker31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    87
    26
    4
    5
See reviews for
25
76
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Great hotel .. It's 3 riads joined together . The staff were very helpful, the breakfast and coffee were fabulous. The room is spacious and the bed comfy. The bathroom is good but small and very wet most of the time.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rovvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

The Riad was large and comfortable. Staff were excellent. It is a short walk from the car park which is just outside the medina entrance. Our room was very quiet and the bed comfortable. The one problem with our room was that the bedside lights were on the fixed bedside tables so couldn't be moved nearer to read at night making it difficult to see. The mirror in the bathroom had a bright light above it which was a bonus and the shower was good. The room had only a small heater so it was a bit cold.

Room Tip: If you read in bed make sure you have a room with movable bedside tables otherwise it can be too dim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Global59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Arranged through Booking.com for a week. Very close to Supratours bus terminal, convenient to everything inside the Medina. Helpful staff (english/french/arabic spoken) with recommendations for places to eat and things to see. Comfortable room, firm bed, hot (solar) shower (though bathroom is cosy). Very clean, room serviced daily. Excellent free wifi in common areas. Breakfast = baguette, crepe, croissant, butter, jam, honey, fresh orange juice, and coffee and/or tea. Evening meals available upon request.
There is a small restaurant 2 doors down that has live Gnaoua music most nights, which may be heard from some rooms. The roof terrace is mostly to dry the riad linen, but we were permitted to dry our own washing there too.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, the music and people may be disturbing, but you may be able to change...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OZfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this Riad but I loved Essaouira so much, my view may be biased. The staff were warm and welcoming but the Riad was a little on the cold side and there was a bit of a feeling of staying there out of season. The beds were a bit hard but on the upside we were upgraded from a smaller room. The painter was there at the time and it was great to see the intricate art work going up brush stroke by brush stroke up on the ceilings.

The only real disappointment with the Riad was given the abundance of oranges in Morocco, the juice in the morning was watered down!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cider_with_rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon Region, Myanmar
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed 4 nights at Riad Chakir Modador and cannot praise it too highly. The decor is beautiful, using Moroccan arts and crafts throughout, with each room distinctive. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The breakfast was delicious. The riad is perfectly situated on a quiet laneway within the medina. Great value for money and highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Fabulously located in an quiet ally off one of the main roads of the medina it makes a good base with a homely feel. The decor is beautifull and the staff very helpfull. Would recommend it to anyone ( exept the unfriendly ones ofcourse).

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#24 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Sidi Magdoul
Riad Sidi Magdoul
#36 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#41 of 77 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Madina
Riad Al Madina
#28 of 77 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#34 of 77 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Casa Lila
Riad Casa Lila
#25 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Chakir Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chakir Mogador

Property: Riad Chakir Mogador
Address: 13 Rue Malek Ben Morhal, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Chakir Mogador 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in full heart of the medina, with some steps from the port and the beach, Riad Chakir Mogador is the privileged place of your stopover in Essaouira. This house of hosts, entirely restored in the pure respect of the traditions and Moroccan architecture, will allure you by its restful atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Chakir Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chakir Mogador Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing