We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice villa in the heart of the medina”
Review of Villa Garance

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Garance
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Nice villa in the heart of the medina”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

It is a lovely place, right in the middle of the old town. The owner and staff are very helpful and friendly. Our room was on the roof so it was nice to be able to sit outside and relax in the evening. It is quite a pleasant room (no. 10 I think). Other people have mentioned the school below but I did not find that disturbing at all.

Some of the rooms inside on other floors looked more beautiful and luxurious than ours (when I noticed they were unoccupied and went and had a nose around) so I was a little envious of those but, on the flip side, we had a room with direct access to the roof.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenEaton66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    65
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
91
138
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a lovely 2 night stay at Villa Garance. Our room was large, with a separate curtained area and twin bed for our son and a private bathroom. We had a delicious breakfast each morning on the rooftop terrace. The women owners were lovely and very helpful at answering any questions we had. We enjoyed Essaouira thoroughly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nygr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife and I spent three nights in this lovely bed and breakfast. Our room was large, nicely appointed and comfortable. The entire house was beautifully decorated with colorful fabrics, kilims and hand painted furniture. One of the two owner/sister team (and her husband) spoke far better English than the other, but both were quite helpful. We loved the rooftop terrace where nice breakfasts were served, and where we relaxed taking in the evening breezes. It was easy to find and very well situated in one of our favorite towns in Morocco. Don't miss eating at the fish souk! it was a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulb19027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed only 1 night here which was a pity because it was one of the nicest places we stayed in Morocco. It was in the heart of the bustling medina but we stepped through the doorway and were in a different, tranquil world. The room was spacious with a comfortable bed and the shower was hot. There were lovely pieces of art and artefacts on the walls and tables. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace was lovely, both for the food and the view. The ladies who owned the property were charming and helpful and the staff were excellent also. Essaouira was a fascinating city and we'd stay longer here on a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I came here with my partner a few years ago. We stayed in a double room which was fresh bright and comfortable.

The host/owner/manager was a very friendly European lady who helped us with deciding where to go and what to do and was happy to take the time to just have a chat.

Breakfasts were served on the rooftop with views across the city. Not all gardens and sea, a lot of rooftops, but this is quite high and not overlooked much/atall, so has a big sense of openness.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol GB
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We were made to feel very welcome by the owners who were charming and informative. Our rooms were comfortable and clean, although lacking in the elegance of some other riads. The layout is traditional for jewish houses in Essaouira and unlike those belonging to arab families has windows to the outside as well as the courtyard, making it particularly light and airy.The roof terrace with views over the town was a lovely place for breakfast (although in our case the service was slightly haphazard). We would however happily have stayed longer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights, at it was our first time in Essaouria. It's a really nice place and our hosts were very friendly. Our rooms were a real luxury and the breakfast was great on the sunny rooftop terrace.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscarik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#13 of 74 in Essaouira
214 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
813 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#15 of 74 in Essaouira
808 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 74 in Essaouira
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Garance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Garance

Property: Villa Garance
Address: 10 Rue a. Eddakhil, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Garance 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Garance is a charming, spacious riad, beautifully decorated inside, with bags of history and charm, and is located in a small street in the heart of the Medina, only a short walk from the ramparts and the Atlantic ocean. You will be truly delighted with everything that Villa Garance had to offer: elegant, clean and large bedrooms (10 single, double, twin or for families up to 5 people, from 15 to 35 m²); the large roof terrace with distant sea views, where a delicious and hearty homemade breakfast is served in the sunshine, where you can have sunbathe with a book throughout the day; and the charming and helpful owners Marie and Pierre, who are extremely friendly and give you lots of information on the history of Essaouira along with recommendations for restaurants and activities. All bedrooms are heated, with private bathroom, and have large windows except two of them which give access to a bright patio. Lunch, diner and massage can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Garance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing