We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superbly welcoming”

Restaurant La Decouverte
Ranked #19 of 262 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$13
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superbly welcoming”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Run by a very committed and welcoming pair, who explained everything on the menu clearly, lovingly and in a delightful accent. The pastille for main course was to die for. Desserts not quite so outstanding but still good. Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    207
    46
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food and welcoming atmosphere!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Welcoming family-run restaurant, cosy, easy to find and delicious food! We felt at ease and was one of the best meals we had in Morocco! Would thoroughly recommend it to anyone visiting Essaouira

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilaria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“To feel at home”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Till so far, thuis was the best place to eat in Morocco. The owners were very friendly. We had the puff pastries to start with, very well seasoned. The fish from the maincourse tasted very fresh. Also the cakes For desert were delicious.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marloes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakesh
1 review
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Delicious food, friendly people, cosy restaurant! Decouvert is a small restaurant runned by a french couple. I think the food was maroccon food made by a french cook which is an amazing combination. You can sit inside our on a small terrace.

Helpful?
Thank Rinnepin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
147 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and good food”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We ate here with our three children and we really appreciated it. There was a warm welcome from Edouard and Frederique (We had taken an Eco-tour with Edouard earlier in the week). One of the things we appreciated was the explanation of the different foods on the menu, and the cultural relevance of different dishes. So we actually learned something while eating well. Dishes are copious! There is no wine license so be ready for that. And they also serve pasta for the less adventurous. The restaurant is small - you might want to reserve for the evening. And don't forget to look at (and buy) the book about Moroccan spices that has been written by the cook herself.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ParisFifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant La Decouverte also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant La Decouverte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing