We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfectly lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Ranked #27 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights in September - having travelled in North Africa before I was under no illusions that what quantifies as a 5* in Africa is not the same as a 5* at home. But you will be pushed to find that level of luxury in these kind of regions of the world.

Having said that, I cannot fault much - maybe the only thing I can suggest is that the food and drink is a little expensive within the hotel, it's better to walk to the medina/port area where you can find good food for less. However Essaouria as a whole is more expensive than Marrakech - so if you intend on spending a week here, it's wise to take extra spending money than you would in Marrakech.

Our room was clean, beds made up every day and clothing folded up neatly - they turned the AC up so when we returned for the evening our room was already cool. Showers are actually lovely - nice hot water with good pressure. The mattress was very firm - I woke up numerous times during the night with a dead arm, but my boyfriend who has back problems found it very comfortable.

The pool area is lovely, clean with numerous sun loungers and umbrellas. There is a gym which contains the minimal basic equipment, so if your a die hard gym person it does lack a bit there.

The staff were pleasant and friendly and nothing was too much trouble - the guys that work in the pool area are lovely and very kind, and I can imagine people are unbelievably rude to them on a daily basis. But nothing is too much trouble and are more than happy to help.

I would stay here again, it's literally across from the beach - the port area and medina are slightly further away with about a 15 - 20 minute walk.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelhunt265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,107)
There are newer reviews for Atlas Essaouira & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 1,107 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

The location of this hotel was perfect for what we were after; it was close to the beach for kite surfing but also close enough to the town centre to be able to walk in.

The hotel itself was pleasant enough but the service provided by the staff was severely lacking. On our first night we had no water in our room so were unable to shower. An hour after we reported this we were told that there was no water for the whole of our floor and we would be moved rooms but we would have to go back down to reception to get another room key. As we got down to reception we were told that the water was now working and we could stay in our room. When we went to use the shower we then also found out that it was broken. Another 45 minutes later someone came to 'fix' the shower but it never really worked properly. By now we had missed our dinner reservations in town. The 'fixed' shower then proceeded to cause the bathroom to flood each time we used it. When we asked if we could change rooms we were told that we couldn't which I found quite strange.

I understand that there are often maintenance issues with hotels but what annoyed us more was the lack of apology or effort to try and sort the issues.

Apart from that the hotel fulfilled all our needs but I would not list it as a 5*

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LailsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Just returned from a few days at this hotel...Very smart, comfortable and great staff! Unfortunately, there are far too many misdemeanour's to make this anywhere near a 5*....bleach stained carpets in the hallways, towel rails hanging off bathroom wall, furniture chipped and general wear in many parts of the building....Room was very,very spacious and bed extremely comfortable, air conditioning great and power shower brilliant, lovely bathrobes and fluffy towels...Only boarded on bed and breakfast rate which was around £90 a night,so can only comment on a poor breakfast, very odd tasting scrambled eggs, generally dried up hot food and boring cold, only one cereal on offer and cold meats with curled up edges. We do breakfast quite early around 8-8.30, so those people who didn't go down until 10 or so must have had the dregs. Location for the Medina is fab, around 10-15 minute walk and going the other way along the beach to the beach cafes is even better around 5 minutes. Still building the pavements and promenade across the road from the hotel, so can be a little tricky underfoot.

Room Tip: Deluxe room overlooking pool, nice and quiet at night.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhardy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Great stay in Essaouira. Atlas Hotel is perfectly located, ocean front and very close to windsurf, surf, kitesurf rentals. Also, you can easily walk to the port and the medina (10 min walk) or take a taxi for 7 dirham. We enjoyed the view from our room and the beautiful sunsets everynight. Tip: Ask for a ocean view room!
Also, note that the beach restaurant right in front of the hotel offers good food and good ambiance. Buffet in the morning also offers good food. The pool is great and the staff is very polite and helpful.
I would highly recommend this hotel and will return for sure!

Room Tip: Ocean view!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara_Emmanuelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

From the time of arrival to departure we found the staff courteous, helpful 7 unobtrusive. The room (a suite above the spa) was clean, comfortable, large, quiet, the aircon was powerful, toiletries were replenished every day and smelled wonderful, the bathrobes soft, the mini bar well stocked, the bed was huge and the view over the beach was spectacular. Food was plentiful, fresh and delicious. Yes, it is a stroll (10 minutes) to the medina but this means it is quiet and peaceful. We didn't use the pool as we love the beach and found the young beach attendant very polite and attentive - he would even wash out your wetsuit for you. The beach is windy but the wind break did make a big difference. The only gripe I have is that the wifi was very slow and rarely worked in our room. We were allowed to check out late with no extra charge which meant we could enjoy our last day. I would highly recommend this hotel and will return.

Room Tip: Choose a suite overlooking the beach for the spectacular view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

M'y third stay in this property which can become somewhat risky as expectations could become a bit too high, still overall it was again a pleasant relaxing stay and a good escape.
the main reason for returning to essaouira was again the wonderful weather so perfect for surf.
food is gain good, quit varied,beds are very comfortable.
some of the staff changed but generally all of them are very friendly and helpful.
all in all again a good and rather relaxing stay in pleasant surrounding. i m very sad to leave but thanks to all who contributed to that. i m looking forward alredy to meeting again all friendly staff and enjoy your beautiful place once more,in the coming months and years.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night, which me and my family regretted (we would love to stay longer if there was accommodated). We went to the reception to asked them if we can lengthen our stay. However, the receptionist said she cannot booked the room to us directly and we need to book it in the same company where we booked the accommodation in which my family and me did not understand why they cannot process it.
It is the perfect escape from the busy Marrakech. The hotel is very near to the beach, and our room has a lovely sea view (amazing view). It is walking distance from the centre and all other restaurant. The market area are more relaxing to stroll around (vendors are less aggressive than Marrakech and less persuasive) compared to Marrakech. The amenities of the hotel is magnificent, my family felt so secured inside from hustle and bustle in the city and from aggressive vendors. The swimming pool is perfect for relaxation and there were a lot of places to sit around perfecting your holiday. The lunch buffet has rather limited option and for 140 dirhams (ca £14) is expensive for Moroccan standard.
There were numerous restaurant in the centre that has live music and serves alcohol (restaurant options are broader compared in Marrakech).
Overall it is one of the best hotel in the area.

Room Tip: Sea view room, sunny and magnificent ambiance.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oxford69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.6 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
2.2 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
7.5 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#13 of 74 in Essaouira
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
825 reviews
0.9 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
486 reviews
0.8 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 74 in Essaouira
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlas Essaouira & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Essaouira & Spa

Address: Boulevard Mohamed V | Boulevard Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#11 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#28 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £61 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlas Essaouira & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront in Essaouira, this hotel features 2 swimming pools, a fitness center and a spa with hammam. Rooms are air conditioned and some have a balcony. The luxurious rooms at the Hotel Atlas Essaouira & Spa are equipped with satellite TV and a minibar. Some overlook the sea and a lounge with a flat- screen TV. Guests can enjoy traditional Moroccan cuisine in the restaurant of the Atlas. You can also enjoy a drink at the bar and enjoy the breakfast served every morning. The spa includes a hot tub and a sauna, and massages are available on request. The Atlas Essaouira & Spa also features a beauty salon. In addition, Wi- Fi is available in public areas . The bus station is a 15 minute walk from the hotel and an airport shuttle is available . Finally, a car rental service is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Atlas Essaouira & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Essaouira And Spa
Atlas Essaouira Hotel Essaouira
Atlas Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing