We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large, modern hotel, 15 mins walk from Medina”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Ranked #28 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Not quite what you'd expect from a 5 star hotel, but still pretty good. And for £30 pp, it was great. Lovely big outdoor swimming pool. Decent sized rooms with comfy beds. We ate in the buffet restaurant one night. which was fine, but not particularly special.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 1,140 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed 2 nights. Room had everything you would expect and sliding doors leading out on to the patio on the ground floor. Clean and spacious, but pillows hard. Not much character, could have been anywhere in the world. Swimming pool very pleasant area, but I imagine that you could get sunburnt very easily, as it is a windy place. Building works on road outside and all along the beach, it will probably improve it. Difficult to find staff to order a drink. We eventually found somebody at the pool bar, but he had to phone through to someone else for them to bring it, so a long wait. Restaurant was buffet, good choice and chef served you, who was very pleasant. If you ate early you could watch the sunset from the windows. Bar had music playing far too loud, and when the live artists appeared still too loud. We sat outside to get away from it, with our sundowners and watched the sunset, magic. Lovely walk along to the port early morning to see the fishermen come in. Loved Essouira town, the best markets we came across, bought most of our gifts here, as you could see the artisans actually working. Their marquetry is superb.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillH007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Only stayed one night, but enjoyed it a lot.
My room was close to reception, so i had wifi in my room. But many of my colleagues were further away, and had none.
The restaurant was good, loved the buffet style. But if you're with a big party, book ahead to have them set up a big table. we waited a bit late, so it took staff a while to set up.
There was a bit of wear and tear noticeable in the bathroom and i couldn't figure out the shower, so i took a bath.
Other than that, the staff were delightful, particularly the young man who saw me struggling with my bags and dropped what he was doing to help.
Very Happy. I intend to return.

Room Tip: Ask for one close to the elevators, You should be able to get wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed here September 2013 and would recommend . The rooms are spacious and comfortable. My only criticism would be the hard beds and rock hard pillows. I ended up using a cushion off the sofa. Breakfast was of an acceptable standard but did not eat in the restaurant so can't comment on that. It is a pleasant 15 minute walk along the seafront to the centre but if that's not for you then a 2 euro taxi fare can take you . Taxis are very plentiful to get in and out of town. Hotel is situated on sea front but unfortunately they are currently upgrading the seafront so it is obscured by builders hoardings. This will soon be gone and will much improve the walk to town. Even with the above criticisms I would recommend this hotel as it is one of the most modern in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janehauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 7 nights. The location is perfect for kite surfing and only a 10 minute walk or 2 minute taxi ride to the Medina.

Our bedroom was spotlessly clean and the power shower was amazing. There was a fridge and a safe in the room. The staff were all very friendly and polite.

The WiFi connection was very fast and we did not experience a problem with it. There is free parking on site.

The breakfast was served from 6.30am, which made it convenient for an early departure, until 10.30am, which was good for a lie-in, with plenty to choose from.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We spent one night at this hotel, with a room overlooking the ocean. At check-in everything appeared good and we enjoyed a day's tour. Upon returning, we found our partial ocean room incredibly hot. The AC could not keep up with the heat coming in. The hotel promises wifi, but no signal available during our entire stay. The breakfast was OK, nothing special. In preparation for departure, we were unable to get someone to assist with luggage. Overall, this was the least appealing of the hotels and roads we stayed in during our 12 days in Morocco. Essaouira is a very nice and interesting town. We would recommend staying elsewhere is overnight, but could be planned as a one-day trip from Marrakech.

Room Tip: Caution on some ocean view rooms. In the afternoon, they are very hot, even with the curtains drawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights in September - having travelled in North Africa before I was under no illusions that what quantifies as a 5* in Africa is not the same as a 5* at home. But you will be pushed to find that level of luxury in these kind of regions of the world.

Having said that, I cannot fault much - maybe the only thing I can suggest is that the food and drink is a little expensive within the hotel, it's better to walk to the medina/port area where you can find good food for less. However Essaouria as a whole is more expensive than Marrakech - so if you intend on spending a week here, it's wise to take extra spending money than you would in Marrakech.

Our room was clean, beds made up every day and clothing folded up neatly - they turned the AC up so when we returned for the evening our room was already cool. Showers are actually lovely - nice hot water with good pressure. The mattress was very firm - I woke up numerous times during the night with a dead arm, but my boyfriend who has back problems found it very comfortable.

The pool area is lovely, clean with numerous sun loungers and umbrellas. There is a gym which contains the minimal basic equipment, so if your a die hard gym person it does lack a bit there.

The staff were pleasant and friendly and nothing was too much trouble - the guys that work in the pool area are lovely and very kind, and I can imagine people are unbelievably rude to them on a daily basis. But nothing is too much trouble and are more than happy to help.

I would stay here again, it's literally across from the beach - the port area and medina are slightly further away with about a 15 - 20 minute walk.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelhunt265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.6 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
2.2 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
7.5 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#11 of 75 in Essaouira
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 75 in Essaouira
852 reviews
0.9 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#19 of 75 in Essaouira
497 reviews
4.6 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#13 of 75 in Essaouira
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlas Essaouira & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Essaouira & Spa

Address: Boulevard Mohamed V | Boulevard Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#11 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#28 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £64 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlas Essaouira & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront in Essaouira, this hotel features 2 swimming pools, a fitness center and a spa with hammam. Rooms are air conditioned and some have a balcony. The luxurious rooms at the Hotel Atlas Essaouira & Spa are equipped with satellite TV and a minibar. Some overlook the sea and a lounge with a flat- screen TV. Guests can enjoy traditional Moroccan cuisine in the restaurant of the Atlas. You can also enjoy a drink at the bar and enjoy the breakfast served every morning. The spa includes a hot tub and a sauna, and massages are available on request. The Atlas Essaouira & Spa also features a beauty salon. In addition, Wi- Fi is available in public areas . The bus station is a 15 minute walk from the hotel and an airport shuttle is available . Finally, a car rental service is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Atlas Essaouira & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Essaouira And Spa
Atlas Essaouira Hotel Essaouira
Atlas Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing