We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Ranked #27 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. 

Check in was seamless - staff pleasant and made us feel welcome. We were also served a complimentary Moroccan tea. The reception area was opulent and the communal areas were well kept. 

Our room was everything we could ask for - modern, spacious, clean and plenty of natural light. Nice toiletries in the bathroom. There was also open wifi throughout the hotel, not the fastest but sufficient for browsing and checking email. 

Breakfast was excellent on the first morning - good quality food and attentive staff, however on the second morning they had ran out of many hot food items and they didn't replenish them. We also ate one night at the Moroccan restaurant, which didn't disappoint.  

Overall, an excellent hotel, but the breakfast issue did let it down slightly. We'd definitely stay again though and recommend to others. 


Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank swb84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,108)
There are newer reviews for Atlas Essaouira & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

International style hotel so a bit clinical but comfortable and clean on the beach. We had good evening meals in The Seven and Safron. Attentive service. Breakfast buffet style. Long walk to the Medina area and the harbour but short taxi ride back for 10 dirhams. We loved the old town - good shopping and fairly hassle free.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Spent 5 nights recently at this hotel. Very friendly staff, efficient service, clean and tranquil place. The deluxe seafront location room was lovely and spacious. The only down side was the lack of coffee making facilities, so we had to order room service each morning which was costly.
The spa was lovely. I had a full body massage one day which was a delight!
The hotel went to a lot of trouble to put on a fab new year's eve party with a live band and dinner.
The restaurant on the beach, called "Seven" was our favourite eating place. Great service and menu options. Best red wine was El Mogador !

Room Tip: Deluxe sea front room was lovely and spacious. 122 was the number. It was light as it had triple asp...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sop2025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

By the Sea in a quiet area but close to water sport center, various restaurants and the Medina. 15 minutes to the Medina walking by the seafront. Deluxe room with sea view was large, clean and comfortable. Breakfast included with good choice of warm and cold. Inner garden with pool which is quiet and calm and large lobby areas for socializing. Good spa with lots of different treatments. Very friendly staff with high service standards. We left in the very early morning and so they offered us a breakfast to go which lasted the entire day! We could really relax and felt pampered. Downside that the bar allows smoking inside but apart from that I would come back to this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STHLMPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

During our 20 day visit to Marrakesh, we stayed at the Atlas Essaouira & Spa for 7 nights to recharge after our busy road trip. We were very pleased with what the hotel had to offer. Price was good for 5 star, but staff were not "on the ball" for what is expected for such a rating. Nevertheless, we made a good choice wanting to be away from the chaos, but close enough to walk to the tourist trap that is the Medina. The Blue flag beach is very small, sadly leaving the rest of the beach area strewn with litter. Outdoor pool is FREEZING in December. Unfortunately heated pool is only for Spa patrons. Inclusive breakfast was ok (not 5*) and buffet evening meal was average too. Room comfort excellent with English TV channels.




  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kev1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

When we arrived we were initially impressed as this is a beautiful, modern hotel with lovely furnishings. The rooms are spacious with large, comfortable beds and nice views of the coast. However, that's the only positive feedback I can give to this hotel.

The first night we tried the main restaurant and were disappointed to find only a buffet on offer. We aren't lovers of buffets as it is often a lazy way to serve food that means each element is sitting around for a while drying out. We ordered a bottle of white wine and then went to try some food. Unfortunately, we had eaten most of our meal by the time the waiter came back to tell us our chosen wine wasn't available anymore. This was strange given that there were limited wine selections available! For entertainment we then ordered the same wine every evening that we ate there to have the same waiter each time go away to check whether they had it - they never did!

The second night we went to the Moroccan restaurant (they supposedly had 3 in total) to find it closed - no lights on and no signs of life despite being 15 mins into opening time. We asked at the main buffet restaurant and booked a table for 8pm. We arrived at 7.50 to find it now open but deserted. Another couple were now hanging around too. We all decided to just go in and find a table. At 8.10 my husband went to the other restaurant to get into a debate with the red faced restaurant manager there about the fact that our booking was at 8 but there was still no one there. Finally someone came over with a walkie talkie which was left on the side table squawking all evening as they communicated with the kitchen. The food however was lovely so we decided to eat there the second night (the Medina is quite a walk away in the evening). Unfortunately, they had decided that as the buffet restaurant was doing Moroccan that night they decided not to open the a la carte despite the fact that they were serving different dishes. From that night on we ate elsewhere.

We would agree with the other reviews regarding breakfast time - it's a bit of a bun fight with basics such as tea running out throughout the morning. When this is pointed out, the staff are berated by the restaurant manager in front of the staff. It's poorly managed and very badly laid out.

When you check in you are given a towel token (a small laminated card) telling you that if you lose it (the card - not the towel) you will be charged £30!! Wi-fi was restricted to one small corner of our room.

The most alarming element for us though, particularly having read the previous reviews once we were there about residents being assaulted, the staff entered our room twice without knocking when I was half naked leaving me to sprint to the bathroom grabbing a towel while I went. Thankfully I was there with my husband but I would have found this very disconcerting if I had been travelling alone.

We fed back to the hotel about our stay through our travel agents and their response was typical for what we would expect of a very poorly managed hotel. Instead of apologising for us not enjoying our stay they purely responded with "no one else has complained"......we have subsequently referred them to Tripadvisor.

I would reiterate - this is a lovely hotel with some very nice staff but the management is appalling and unfortunately adversely affects the whole experience. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nextgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed in early December for 3 nights and loved this hotel. It was out of season and the hotel was quiet but you couldn't fault the facilities, cleanliness or customer service. I'd love to return when it's busier and see if there is a buzz about the place that it promises.

We only had one lunch by the pool and the breakfasts which were great so can't really say much about the food at the hotel. We really enjoyed the walk into town each night along the seafront to a variety of great restaurants - perfect distance to make sure we were doing some exercise but not too far that it got boring.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.6 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
2.2 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
7.5 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#13 of 74 in Essaouira
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
825 reviews
0.9 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
486 reviews
0.8 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 74 in Essaouira
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlas Essaouira & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Essaouira & Spa

Address: Boulevard Mohamed V | Boulevard Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#11 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#28 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £61 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlas Essaouira & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront in Essaouira, this hotel features 2 swimming pools, a fitness center and a spa with hammam. Rooms are air conditioned and some have a balcony. The luxurious rooms at the Hotel Atlas Essaouira & Spa are equipped with satellite TV and a minibar. Some overlook the sea and a lounge with a flat- screen TV. Guests can enjoy traditional Moroccan cuisine in the restaurant of the Atlas. You can also enjoy a drink at the bar and enjoy the breakfast served every morning. The spa includes a hot tub and a sauna, and massages are available on request. The Atlas Essaouira & Spa also features a beauty salon. In addition, Wi- Fi is available in public areas . The bus station is a 15 minute walk from the hotel and an airport shuttle is available . Finally, a car rental service is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Atlas Essaouira & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Essaouira And Spa
Atlas Essaouira Hotel Essaouira
Atlas Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing