We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly, modern and ideally positioned”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Ranked #23 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
london
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“friendly, modern and ideally positioned”
Reviewed 1 December 2010

You can keep your poky overpriced riads with their gloomy views over internal courtyards, and designer damp, and give us instead a luxurious modern hotel like this one with picture windows overlooking the sea and the fortress island of Mogador over which the midwinter sun sets in a fanfare of orange and crimson. This oasis of calm modernity is a fifteeen minute walk past the footballers and gymnasts who use the immense sweep of beach, and a welcome respite from the cacophony of squabbling seagulls scavenging fish-entrails on the quayside of the picturesque fishing port, and the insistent solicitations of medina shopkeepers. Good buffet breakfasts, bedroom wi-fi and a pleasant pool make this an ideal refuge in a town that is one of the most fascinating in Morocco. How can such a good hotel lack such an obvious facility as drawers or shelves in its bedrooms? I have no idea. But it didn't seem to matter.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    344
    153
    83
    53
See reviews for
221
490
54
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bowness on Windermere,Cumbria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Syayed 24th Nov - 27th Nov

Stayed in a Standard double overlooking the court yard area near pool.We arrived with no reservation and were told they had standard sea view or ambassander suites left (hotel was nearly empty) which was great for us!We had looked hotel details up previously on booking.com so knew they had lot's of accommodation,the lady on Reception said she couldnt give us the online rate and pointed us towards their free internet to book online which I thought was good of her! So we booked sat in the hotel lobby,tried to get an upgrade to sea view and were told they had no rooms left (not what bookings.com said) Room was great even with out sea view! Clean and modern. Bed rather hard and we both woke up with sore faces in the morning as the pillows were rock hard. Clean towels each day and loo rolls which is always important when your trying food from a different country (if you get my drift!) My only down sides to the hotel which I personally did not find to be of 5* standard were the following outdoor pool very cold and not heated so un useable. Staff were all young aprt from Porters and Reception staff. We found that the staff at the Le Deck Bar near the pool were left unattended by seniour staff so were loud and messing around with mobile phones playing loud music which when the hotel is quite and the guests have gone for a peaceful break is not acceptable,we asked them to be quite and they apologised and thinks got back to normal. I would advise also that you speak a little French as we found on several occasions when we aksed for another Casablanca beer we received the bill instead.
Young lad on the bar in the Piano bar was very friendly even though he didnt speak much English.

All this aside I would highly recommend this hotel to any of my Friends.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WID1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
193 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

The scent of rose water pervades the spacious reception area and the hotel is generous with its public spaces. The bedrooms are indulgently comformatable and the staff attentive, relaxed, helpful and welcoming. Sometimes Ella Fitzgerald, Satchmo and Gilberto which are played throughout the hotel all day seem a little intrusive early in the morning, and there may be one or two things that the hotel could tweak to improve things. But there is little to criticise in this beautifully run hotel. It is set sufficiently out of town that a walk into town along the beach is a pleasure, and also well positioned for walking southwards along the beach to the borj. B&B is more than adequate and very good indeed - you won't be needing any lunch - and I would recommend guests to eat in town in the evening. I've done the medina thing and happy now to be pampered. Splendid.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesFlamantsRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2010

i realy enjoyed my vacation during my stay in the hotel it was wonderful days ,i admired a lot the location of the hotel which is near to the beach , all the stuff are very helpfull especially of the recepton latifa and halima, it is sure that i'll be back as soos as i can.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niceleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

6 night half board stay booked via Travel Republic at about £580. Upgraded to a sea view room (about 400 dhms per night) as garden view rooms same style but just look at each other. Room & bathroom was fine as previous comments & bed very good. WiFi patchy. Nice empty gym with good quality equipment & a great sea view. Pool unheated.
Breakfast had a good selection of breads, cold cheeses & meats, some cereal & fruit & hot trays with lids - eggs, bacon & vegs etc (condensation tended to make the hot stuff a bit soggy) & omelettes to order plus super cakes.
Half board dinner was buffet style with a good selection of starters, about 6 mains, & nice puds, except on 2 nights when there were few guests so from a menu with less choice. All food OK but needed hot plates.
Piano bar worth a visit, hear your favourite songs mangled while drinking a flag beer at only 35 dhms, served in ice cold glass by a friendly barman.
All staff very helpful especially on reception.
Booked minibus from hotel back to Marrakech airport for 4 people plus golf clubs which cost 1200 dhms which seemed fair value, as the old merc taxi we took out bound cost 1000 dhms.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crispybacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2010

We just spend 2 weeks with my family in Atlas resort & Spa Essaouira, and we loved it! Everything about the hotel was great! And we all 5 enjoyed it.

To get started, the location is great! Just near the beach and not far from the town. The interior is beautiful and stylisch, the rooms are perfect, so clean, current and comfortable beds, the garden is lovely with a great swimmingpool and even a private beach! And the whole staff was very nice! We got everything we asked for and if there were any problems, they were immediately there to help us. Just the way it should be in a 5*hotel!

Especially the women from the reception were very helpful and professional. They speak many languages and do everything they can to make the client feel comfortable. Mainly the woman named Hanane, was so helpful to us. She helped us with everything: getting more blankets, better rooms, she gave us medicine when 2 of us got sick, booked a beautiful riad in Marrakech for us etc...

Beside the good service, the entertaining is also great! We could use he fitness for free and the spa was so lovely! It was also near to good surfspots for the boys and enough possibilities to relax.

Anyway, we really enjoyed our stay in Atlas Essaouira and they definitely deserve to be a 5*hotel. I will suggest this hotel to everybody who wants to go to Essaouira! And i hope i can come back here soon!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noa009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

I've never felt so disappointed in a hotel. My partner and I spent 5 days in a Riad in Marrakech and 5 days at this beach hotel in Essouira. These last 5 days were supposed to be a treat, at £120 a night we thought we were going to be staying in a relaxing, peaceful spa hotel after the madness of Marrakesh. We couldn't have been more wrong.

After a long bus journey from marrakesh, we checked into our room (Premium Sea View) which we thought was very nice, with complimentary fruit, water, slippers and robes. Good start. All we wanted was food and a nap after the journey so I called room service from the direct line, I was told to hold before ordering and then the phone was hung up. I waited a bit and called back, no answer, so waited again, called again, no answer. Finally someone answered, I asked for room service again and was very abruptly told "this is reception, I have told you that you have to wait and room service will call you back". I tried to explain that according to the phone I was using, I was ringing room service and that I had been hung up on and was quickly dismissed. Five minutes later, room service called, I ordered and we received some average and expensive food. We then tried to have a nap but at 7pm we were woken by very loud singing and piano playing. We were on the 1st floor directly above the piano bar. We asked if it was possible to move rooms as it was too noisy but were told that the hotel was full and we couldn't move and that "it was the hotel's duty to entertain guests."

In the morning we requested again that we move rooms due to the noise and we were grateful to be moved that afternoon. After half an hour in the new room, however, we began to notice that the room wasn't of the same quality at all, the paint was cracking off the walls, the sofa was quite dirty, bed not made properly, dirty floors etc plus we also had only 1 bathrobe and no slippers, not to mention our fruit and water from the previous room. We called reception and told them this and they said that all these extras were complimentary in the first room we had but not in this room (?) we asked if they thought that due to the hassle of moving and the noisy night we had, didn't they think that it would be a nice gesture to have the same extras as we had originally had (and have paid for in the price of a premium sea view room!) and the woman laughed. About an hour later, someone came round to ask if we needed anything and we requested the same things. However by the next afternoon we were still given nothing.

At this point, we were getting fed up with the reception we were getting so we asked to speak to the manager. We were told that he wasn't in on weekends and would be in by 10am on Monday morning. It was Saturday and we soon realised that there was some sort of conference going on at the hotel that weekend. Over the next 2 days the hotel was swamped with a few hundred people who were having pep talks in the courtyard next to the pool area, cheering loudly, taking videos and pictures of the pool area and guests, occupying all the seating areas in the hotel, and to top it all at 9am on Sunday morning, we were woken by pounding music again, as they had some sort of assault course/dance competition on the beach directly outside our room, which lasted till midday. We asked to speak to someone again about the noise, we were told that we would have to wait till Monday morning and so we wrote a letter to the Manager of the hotel detailing the problems we had had.

Miraculously, a few hours after we gave the reception desk the letter, we received bathrobes, slippers, fruit, water and pastries (all the things we had asked for previously.) We thought this was a nice gesture but to be honest I'd had enought by then, I just didn't feel as though we had been treated with any respect at all by the reception staff, they had been rude and offensive and I just didn't think we were being treated the way that a 5* hotel should treat you, and I didn't think they deserved the £120 a night that we had saved up for as a treat. So we informed the desk that we wanted to cut our stay short by one night.

To cut a very long story short (as this review is very long know!) we spent 3 very frustrating hours trying to sort this out. We had booked online with an agent called Prestigia who had to give permission for us to check out early and not pay for the last night. We used our own mobile phones to contact the company several times as the hotel didnt see fit to offer to use the hotel phone, we had to email the agent but we couldn't do this from the hotel as the ONE computer they had was broken (this is supposed to be a 5* hotel). When we finally got permission from the agent (after having to walk into the medina to use and internet cafe), we were given our "readjusted" bill with the one night taken off - supposedly. The night hadn't been taken off at all, and the staff member spent the next half an hr scribbling down the sums which proved that the bill was apparently correct. We had already been arguing for over an hr by this point and I ended up giving into pressure and paying the amount anyway. (NB. this was AFTER the orginial staff member who we had been dealing with went to lunch and so we had to deal with someone else who we had to explain the whole situation to from scratch as she wanted to charge us an extra £120 for our last night).

On the whole, now we are home, I can't BELIEVE we went through thais whole debacle in an apparently 5* hotel. We were treated appalingly, particularly on the last day. It was humiliating and embarrasing. We asked to see the manager 3 times and were told that he was unavailable every time. At one point we were even told that he wouldnt want to see us, he is only interested if the amount on the bill isn't paid!!!!! To add insult to injury, during the whole 3 hour check out debacle we asked for a cup of tea and they added that to the end of the bill. We asked if this was completely necessary considering all the stress we had been through and we were told in the most degrading way that absolutely yes we must pay for the tea as no-one had invited us to have tea, it was our responsibility to pay.

Unbelievably, there are a couple of positive things to say about the hotel.. The waiting staff are very friendly and welcoming, and the pool area is lovely. But that's about it. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, the service was appalling and I never want to stay here again. It really tainted our experience of Essaouira which was supposed to have been the relaxing end to our holiday in a 5* beach hotel. It was anything but that.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jolucie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.6 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
2.2 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
0.1 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.9 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#22 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.8 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlas Essaouira & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Essaouira & Spa

Property: Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Address: Boulevard Mohamed V | Boulevard Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#9 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#28 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlas Essaouira & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront in Essaouira, this hotel features 2 swimming pools, a fitness center and a spa with hammam. Rooms are air conditioned and some have a balcony. The luxurious rooms at the Hotel Atlas Essaouira & Spa are equipped with satellite TV and a minibar. Some overlook the sea and a lounge with a flat- screen TV. Guests can enjoy traditional Moroccan cuisine in the restaurant of the Atlas. You can also enjoy a drink at the bar and enjoy the breakfast served every morning. The spa includes a hot tub and a sauna, and massages are available on request. The Atlas Essaouira & Spa also features a beauty salon. In addition, Wi- Fi is available in public areas . The bus station is a 15 minute walk from the hotel and an airport shuttle is available . Finally, a car rental service is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlas Essaouira & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Essaouira Hotel Essaouira
Atlas Essaouira And Spa
Atlas Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing