We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Essaouira Youth Hostel & Social Travel
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The rooms were full of damp and the beds riddled with bed bugs, my friends had the most horrific bites which were left on them for the rest of the holiday. Magic man was trying hard but to be honest the whole place needs a deep clean and all the mattresses binning.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the rolling stones room it had the worst bed bugs. The other rooms don't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzypants292013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two night in 4 bed dorm with a group of friends with a good deal from hostelworld. Staff was great and the Boss super friendly and helpful with maps, suggestions and great staff who guided us back and forth on the narrow labyrinth streets. Girls rooms are up stairs so dont travel with massive suit cases. Warm water, shared showers and toilets but the hostel is dirty, everyone smokes inside and room was damp, molded and left a smell on all of our stuff. Also the alley where the hostel is at is commonly used as a toilet by not only cats but men too. However, the location is great and for what we paid we got excellent service. Boss even went to get bus tickets for ua and took us to station and into the right bus! No other backpackers were anywhere to be seen but we hung by the bar with the staff- one of the only places we stayed at were you can buy alcohol and smoke shisha!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olipakerran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

This place is a true backpackers gem. If you're willing to cope with the fact that this place could be maintained a little better and that it's in a back alley of Essaouira I can really recommend it!
The owners a very nice man, the place attracks a crowd of young (and young at heart) travellers and the allround vibe is very nice!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobinMeijer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

I stayed at Hostel Essaouira for two nights in November and can't really complain. I was travelling with a friend and we booked a room on an 8 person sharing basis but we were moved into a room for four at no additional cost. The room was fine, bunk-beds as you'd expect and there was somewhere to lock your things away. The décor was pretty cool and the music in the bar downstairs was always good (classic rock). There is free wifi and internet access which was a bonus because we'd not had that anywhere else (we'd not seen a computer up until this point in our trip). The staff were helpful enough and were always awake to let us in. The showers could sometimes be a bit cold but when you're paying around £3 a night what do you expect?

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blondeonamission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

There is something special about this hostel that stays in your memory even long after you left. The rooms, the inner yard, the bar.. and above all, the atmostphere that pervades the place. I've been around quite alot but this is the one I enjoyed the most. It was so cool and comfortable to be there, thanks to the owner of the place, Magic man. He would always give you the feeling of being taken care of through his warm nature and his ability to make everything possible just like his name implied. Would like to stay there again if I ever come back to Essaouira!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We booked with an open mind after reading mostly good reviews but the occasional disgusted one. Basically, if you want somewhere beautiful calm and relaxing, pay a bit more and go to a quiet riad. This place is exactly as we expected, it was a hostel, with a fun hostel vibe. We got a private room which was fine. The guy working there is a good guy, super relaxed but still ran the place properly. We had fast wifi in our room and were able to organise with them to get all our washing done. We couldn't find it first off so we ended up agreeing to let one of the guys who hounded us at the bus station wheel our bags and lead us there, but once you are there it is easy to find and very well located.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMXNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I got to the hostel and was greeted by the haunting beauty of Bruce Springsteen on the stereo. I knew this was a winner. The staff are great, and Magics breakfast was brilliant. The rooms where great and cleaned every day, and its got such a chilled out vibe that youre going to stay longer than you meant. I originally intended to stay for three nights and ended up staying for two weeks, Magic and Mustafa RULE

Room Tip: When i was there the neighborhood kids were feral, with bangers and drums. Ear plugs could help. Oh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Le Grand Large
Riad Le Grand Large
#43 of 75 in Essaouira
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#42 of 75 in Essaouira
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Sidi Magdoul
Riad Sidi Magdoul
#33 of 75 in Essaouira
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Hotel Emeraude
Riad Hotel Emeraude
#35 of 75 in Essaouira
144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#37 of 75 in Essaouira
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Hostel
Atlantic Hostel
#2 of 63 in Essaouira
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essaouira Youth Hostel & Social Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essaouira Youth Hostel & Social Travel

Address: 17 Rue Laghrissi, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Essaouira
Price Range: £9 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Essaouira Youth Hostel & Social Travel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mix of modern and traditional design, Essaouira Youth Hostel & Social Travel is located in the centre of Essaouira and only one kilometre from the beach. It has a 24-hour bar and free Wi-Fi. Essaouira Youth Hostel & Social Travel offers both private rooms and dormitories. The private rooms are equipped with a TV with DVD player. The bathrooms are shared and there is one on each floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Essaouira Youth Hostel & Social Travel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essaouira Hostel Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing