We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great riad”
Review of Riad Baladin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Baladin
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great riad”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

The riad itself is great with a really relaxed atmosphere. The huge roof terrace is an amazing place to enjoy breakfast (which is delicious) and relax and the rooms are very comfortable. The staff are so friendly and Nicole couldnt be more helpful, advising you on all the best places to visit when you arrive so you are ready to go. It is located right in the centre of the medina close to the port and supra tours bus stop and surprisingly easy to find! The riad is beautiful and really captures the relaxed atmosphere of Essaouira and I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jezza_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    844
    228
    31
    7
    3
See reviews for
159
592
87
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This place is beautiful; such attention to detail. Our bedroom was very big but we spent most of the time on the beautiful rooftop terrace! The location is very central. We found Nicole to be very helpful and she shared her knowledge of the area to help us make the most of our time in Essouria. I for sure recommend staying here!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The Riad is just gorgeous, with the rooftop terrace a real highlight, we had a spacious room but also enjoyed spending time in the lounge area downstairs. The location is unbeatable, right in town and so close to everything you need. Nicole is a great host and made some excellent recommendations, her interactions with the guests are really something special about staying here.

Room Tip: We stayed in Grise, really nicely decorated and the fireplace was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmagpreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Great place and we were even given some expert advise on some Moroccan original artwork that we subsequently bought! REALLY GOOD BREAKFASTS too! They are in the middle of expanding their building, so when completed it will be even better.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lec6dgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in Riad Baladin for three nights in October. The riad is beautifully decorated and although we were staying in the smallest room (Creme), Nicole, the owner, moved us to a bigger room after the first night (Amoureaux), which was lovely (it includes a bathtub for two!). Nicole arranged for someone to pick us up from the Supratours bus station and she sat with us for 30 mins, talking us through all the things to do in Essaouira. We loved her restaurant recommendations (Triskala Cafe and Caravan Cafe were our favourites). Both Nicole and Claudia (who works at the riad on Nicole's day off) were so friendly and welcoming. It's a great place to relax. Thank you for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

The Riad arranged for transport for us from Marrakech to Essaouira, a nice drive (80 euros). We spent a pleasant night at the Riad Baladin. Nicole was very friendly and hospitable.
We stayed in the upper most room, which was nice and clean with a comfortable bed. The bathroom shower is neat with beautiful tadelakt work. Nicole was sweet to gift us the jacuzzi for our honeymoon, lit with candles, a nice touch.
It doesn't necessarily feel Moroccan. More beachy Bohemian.
Most of the guests around us seemed to be English speakers, and studenty types.
The location is great and in the heart of things.
I also appreciated that there was a space heater in the room, in case it was needed.
Nice view from the roof.
Nicole was a very pleasant host.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tastemakerNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Nicole, the riad owner was extremely helpful from the moment we arrived at the riad. She sat down with us to tell us about the best places to go in Essaouria which was incredibly helpful. Nicole recommended some fantastic bars and restaurants to us which we may not have found without her help. The riad was very stylish, simple and elegant and had a lovely sea-side feel to the place. It was a haven of tranquillity and a great contrast to the hectic medina. Breakfast was served on the roof terrace which had great views over the town. We were served croissants, rolls, jams, goat cheese and eggs and it was delicious. We would definitely stay at the Riad Baladin again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 74 in Essaouira
512 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
800 reviews
8.0 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#19 of 74 in Essaouira
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
616 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#13 of 74 in Essaouira
806 reviews
5.6 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Baladin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baladin

Property: Riad Baladin
Address: 9 Rue Sidi Magdoul, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Baladin 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Riad Baladin" is situated in the nicest part of the old town of Essaouira, in the district of "la Skala," just a few meters away from the Sea and a couple of minutes away from the main Square and Port. There is no traffic allowed in the "Medina." This Oasis offers 10 rooms (singles, doubles and suites/triple) all with en-suite bathrooms in a typical Moroccan style, combined with a contemporary design. Last but not least there is also a Jacuzzi & Massage for all the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad Baladin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Baladin Essaouira
Riad Baladin Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing