We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely riad in Essaouira”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Baladin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Baladin
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely riad in Essaouira”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

We had a fantastic time at Riad Baladin. We stayed in Chambre Amoureux. The decor was very tasteful with a large bathroom including big bathtub and separate shower.
The room was cleaned daily and bottled water replenished, which was a nice touch!
The breakfast was very filling with excellent coffee cooked eggs, fresh bread, croissants, fruit salad and delicious yogurt. The rooftop patio is definitely a great feature. We enjoyed relaxing in the sun on the lounge chairs with views over the sea and town. On the last night we enjoyed a private hot tub in the Riad. They lit candles around the bath and we enjoyed an hour of relaxing in the bubbles! Nicole was a perfect host. She obviously puts a lot of work into every aspect of the Riad to ensure guests are happy and taken care of from the moment they set foot into Essaouira. We were met off the Supratours bus from Marakesh and escorted for the 10 minute walk to the hotel. The hotel location was excellent as were all of Nicole's recommendation for restaurants in town.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    224
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
155
586
87
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

We booked the family room that we were advised had a private terrace for us only. It turned out it was not a private terrace and were advised after a couple of days we were sharing with the room below - other guests also were able and did use it. Our room was tiny - double bed up against the wall and no space to put a chair in to sit on. It is a nice riad if you are only staying for 2-3 nights. The breakfast gets boring after a few days as it does not vary.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavlinova, Manager at Riad Baladin, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Dear guests of the Riad Baladin

This review is really a bit disappointing - after having renovated the 2nd house of Riad Baladin
we do offer now to our guests a huge terrace which is actually built on 6 different levels/floors:
1 sitting area with a family table, 3 breakfast areas with 8 tables and 3 terraces with 8 long chairs - enough space for 24 people!
It was originally meant that the terraces each side belong to the rooms of each house but guests do like to change sometimes - especially if they're here at the hotel for several days and nights:-)
(obviously some people do not...).

That couple who has written this review had booked the new family suite "chambre Ciel" which offers a double bed and a mezzanin/1st floor with 2 single beds - enough space for 2 people in a room which is usually for 4! (2 adults & 2 children)

Those guests did enjoy their stay of 8 nights(!) without paying the hotel so far (the amount was more than 500 Euros in total...) - simply because they were not remembering the email conversation that they had to pay cash on arrival (or departure if they want - one can choose) - we have let them leave by giving them just our bank account details and our trust that they will settle the bill while being back home! (which we hope that they will do so - no confirmation yet but a comment on Tripadvisor...).

We do think this offer is a very generous gesture from Riad Baladin and no other hotel will let them go off without paying! Sadly also they did not even mention that at all in their review:-(

And last but not least for all our guests:
Have a look at the review before and after that one... (English version or other languages)
Anyway, everybody is welcome - so see you hopefully at the Riad Baladin:-)
Nicole Pavlin (manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edewecht
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

We spent 5 day in the beautiful Essaouira. The Riad is just fantastic, with the rooftop terrace a real highlight especially with the excellent breakfast. We had a nice room but also enjoyed spending time in the lounge area downstairs. The location is unbeatable, right in the interesting and colourful medina and so close to everything you need. Nicole is a great host and made excellent recommendations, her interactions with the guests are really something special about staying here. Many thanks to Nicole!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewuEdewecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

The riad itself is great with a really relaxed atmosphere. The huge roof terrace is an amazing place to enjoy breakfast (which is delicious) and relax and the rooms are very comfortable. The staff are so friendly and Nicole couldnt be more helpful, advising you on all the best places to visit when you arrive so you are ready to go. It is located right in the centre of the medina close to the port and supra tours bus stop and surprisingly easy to find! The riad is beautiful and really captures the relaxed atmosphere of Essaouira and I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jezza_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

This place is beautiful; such attention to detail. Our bedroom was very big but we spent most of the time on the beautiful rooftop terrace! The location is very central. We found Nicole to be very helpful and she shared her knowledge of the area to help us make the most of our time in Essouria. I for sure recommend staying here!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

The Riad is just gorgeous, with the rooftop terrace a real highlight, we had a spacious room but also enjoyed spending time in the lounge area downstairs. The location is unbeatable, right in town and so close to everything you need. Nicole is a great host and made some excellent recommendations, her interactions with the guests are really something special about staying here.

Room Tip: We stayed in Grise, really nicely decorated and the fireplace was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmagpreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Great place and we were even given some expert advise on some Moroccan original artwork that we subsequently bought! REALLY GOOD BREAKFASTS too! They are in the middle of expanding their building, so when completed it will be even better.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lec6dgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
5.6 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#14 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
5.6 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Baladin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baladin

Property: Riad Baladin
Address: 9 Rue Sidi Magdoul, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Baladin 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Riad Baladin" is situated in the nicest part of the old town of Essaouira, in the district of "la Skala," just a few meters away from the Sea and a couple of minutes away from the main Square and Port. There is no traffic allowed in the "Medina." This Oasis offers 10 rooms (singles, doubles and suites/triple) all with en-suite bathrooms in a typical Moroccan style, combined with a contemporary design. Last but not least there is also a Jacuzzi & Massage for all the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riad Baladin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Baladin Essaouira
Riad Baladin Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing