We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic retreat”
Review of Riad Baladin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Baladin
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic retreat”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Nicole greeted us at the bus station and drove us to the Riad, leading us through the refreshingly hassle-free and spacious streets of Essaouira which was a welcome break from the bustling and exhausting Marrakech Souks. Baladin is tucked away down a side street and is bright, clean and beautifully decorated.

We had the honeymoon suite which was spacious and airy, with a four poster bed and a bath in the corner of the room. We always returned to the room completely clean and organised. Breakfast is promptly served on the spacious and comfy terrace by helpful staff, offering a range of choices and eggs cooked to your preference. On our last night we reserved the Jacuzzi in the courtyard; the night guard lit candles and drew the curtains and it was the perfect way to end our stay.

Nicole was so kind during our stay; one afternoon she drove us to a secluded beach with a small restaurant that only a local would know about. She then ferried us to a plush spa hotel, where we had private use of all their facilities, and even booked us a taxi back. While this Riad is clearly an idyllic retreat within a picturesque city, its greatest success its attentive manager.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite spacious and fresh, no AC but big windows onto the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    839
    227
    31
    7
    3
See reviews for
156
590
87
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Simplistic, bright and beautiful Riad. It was a breathe of fresh air, literally arriving here after staying in Marrakech. We chose the Terrace room at the top of the Riad and were extremely pleased with our choice.

Nicole collected us from the Supatours coach and gave us a detailed account of the best places to eat, things to do and answered any queries.

Loved Essaouria, and Riad Baladin. Thank you Nicole for your hospitality.

Room Tip: Rooms available on all three floors. We loved the room at the top on the Terrace, but a few stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabel054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Riad Baladin was one of the best riads that I stayed in while travelling through Morocco - the style, simplistic, classy, and tasteful - very detail oriented - Nicole, the host was fantastic with excellent suggestions and recommendations, loved the place, wish I could have stayed longer and would recommend it highly to anyone going to Essaouira.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natthai2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Very serene riad with very well appointed rooms.The location is fantastic and so is Nicole.She was very helpful and a fount of local knowledge on shopping food and sights.
Will definately recommend this place

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shar2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This was my first trip to Morocco and after 3 hectic days in Marrakech and a 5 day trip to the Sahara, I was ready for my Essouria experience. I was greeted by multi-lingual owner Nicole who showed me to my terrace room Everything in the Riad was beautifully decorated down to the tinniest detail. I had spoken to Nicole while on the road and immediately felt a connection. She and her staff are friendly - delightful people and service oriented. There wasn't enough time to do all that Nicole and Claudia suggested so I guess I'll just have to go back and enjoy this wonderful fishing village a few more times and of course stay at this wonderful Riad!!
A word of caution... watch out for the seagulls. One even took my butter dish from the table at breakfast and flew off with his bountry!!

Room Tip: I checked out almost all 10 rooms (managing a hotel myself) and found that I would stay in mostly a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

I must say this Riad is as great as it is on the pictures! It's very clean, lovely authentic style, very cosy and bright! We got a room on the very top floor and had a fire place in it, which was a real luxury! There is a very kind man in the Riad who is there every evening to look after the guests. He brought wood logs and helped us to lit the fire. Very helpful! The owner of the place and all the girls working there are very friendly and welcoming! And one last but very importand thing: The location of Riad Baladin is ideal! It does tick all the boxes for any demanding guests! Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anna_Dublin_BLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I have visited Essaouira twice in the last few years and this was my favourite Riad by far. The rooms are very comfortable and beautifully decorated in typical Moroccan style. The bathrooms are amazing with Tadelakt( traditional built in stone alcoves) showers. The location is very central in the heart of the Medina. The sound of the atlantic ocean can be heard from from the stunning roof top terrace.

The breakfast is served by always friendly and helpful staff and is delicious and always fresh.

Our hosts Nicole and Claudia were amazing and welcoming. They gave us some great insider tips on what to eat, see and do around town. My girlfriend was sick and Nicole came with me to the pharmacy to make sure that I bought the right medication. She also made a cup of tea to cure my girlfriends upset stomach..... without us even asking her. These little touches made our stay even better.

I cannot recommend this place enough. I will be back and would advise anyone to stay here. It is very affordable considering the high standards that they have set.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimdots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
5.6 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#14 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
5.6 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Baladin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baladin

Property: Riad Baladin
Address: 9 Rue Sidi Magdoul, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Baladin 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Riad Baladin" is situated in the nicest part of the old town of Essaouira, in the district of "la Skala," just a few meters away from the Sea and a couple of minutes away from the main Square and Port. There is no traffic allowed in the "Medina." This Oasis offers 10 rooms (singles, doubles and suites/triple) all with en-suite bathrooms in a typical Moroccan style, combined with a contemporary design. Last but not least there is also a Jacuzzi & Massage for all the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad Baladin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Baladin Essaouira
Riad Baladin Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing