We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Baladin
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Riad Malaika(Essaouira)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Teahouse(Essaouira)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Al Zahia(Essaouira)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Villa Garance(Essaouira)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Riad Watier(Essaouira)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dar Al Bahar(Essaouira)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,153)
Filter reviews
1,153 results
Traveller rating
875
236
31
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
875
236
31
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubroof terracefruit saladtucked awaythe ground floorvisit essaouirahome from homedelicious breakfasta lovely staythe hustle and bustlemoroccan stylelovely staffnicolechambreriadheartsea
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 1,153 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We read the reviews for this place and we were not disappointed. It really is a hidden gem. The Riad is less than 10 minutes walk from the Supratours stop and two minutes from the main shopping street.
As for Baladin? It is delightful. From the decoration to the ladies and gent that run it. The rooms are stylish, super clean and peaceful. We stayed in the first house ( all three are linked by the ground floor and terrace) there were two rooms to each floor so although you may hear your 'neighbours' footsteps, it still feels really private. Breakfast on the terrace is a lovely gentle way to start the day and an hour in the jacuzzi a gorgeous relaxing way to finish.
Listen to their recommendations. They really are interested in offering you the best. Claudia didn't force restaurant Baladin ( their pasta place which I'm sure is very good) on us but instead suggested other ( very excellent) ideas. Her tips on what to visit/ experience during the day time were also spot on. Nicole was away visiting her charity project but was a great help via email and our last morning. As the title says book it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nixmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I visited Essaouira once myself and decided to show this cool place to my wife.

This is why I had to select a special, 'right' hotel for that. So it's modern but yet very authentic, clean but not 'plastic'. So it was quite a task :)

Finally, I selected Riad Baladin. And it was our best decision indeed.

So, a great location in Medina, wifi, rooms - it's all there. But I wanted to underline some other sides of Baladin.

1. In Riad Baladin you have this 'authentic big house' atmosphere. With the light of the candles everywhere. You have your own keys from the hotel when you go out. You know it's all about those little details here and there. That creates a right atmosphere for your trip.

2. Big advantage over other hotels - you have a 'complete package' in Baladin. Not just a room. Upon arrival, managers of hotel give you a 20-30 minutes 'Q&A' session. After that we knew all the cool places to visit as if we were locals. We wanted to check Moroccan food but not every day, we wanted to have half a day trips out of the city too. And Nicole helped us to see and to visit places that we would probably never found by ourselves. Like for example that small fisherman house cafe that is located 20 minutes by camel from a Sidi Kaouki place. These things are not in tourist guides. And these things make your trip really special.

Also I enjoyed breakfasts there. Nice selection of local bread, jams, juice and butter. And of course all other things like omlettes etc. Breakfast is served on a terrace on the roof of Riad.

Well... at the end we had a small transportation problem since I wanted to enjoy the ocean for the whole day (it was a very good day for going out there under the sails) but the morning after we had a flight home from Casablanca. And we went to Nicole to ask for help with this logistics. And she did! We had a nice (probably the best) solution so we were right on time at the airport.

Sorry if my report here is a bit too.... positive? :) Believe me we're pretty picky customers. But honestly, our stay in Riad Baladin was simply great.

Room Tip: Terrace Room is great. but book it in advance ;)
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serghei -
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Nicole greeted us at the bus station and drove us to the Riad, leading us through the refreshingly hassle-free and spacious streets of Essaouira which was a welcome break from the bustling and exhausting Marrakech Souks. Baladin is tucked away down a side street and is bright, clean and beautifully decorated.

We had the honeymoon suite which was spacious and airy, with a four poster bed and a bath in the corner of the room. We always returned to the room completely clean and organised. Breakfast is promptly served on the spacious and comfy terrace by helpful staff, offering a range of choices and eggs cooked to your preference. On our last night we reserved the Jacuzzi in the courtyard; the night guard lit candles and drew the curtains and it was the perfect way to end our stay.

Nicole was so kind during our stay; one afternoon she drove us to a secluded beach with a small restaurant that only a local would know about. She then ferried us to a plush spa hotel, where we had private use of all their facilities, and even booked us a taxi back. While this Riad is clearly an idyllic retreat within a picturesque city, its greatest success its attentive manager.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite spacious and fresh, no AC but big windows onto the terrace.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oliver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Simplistic, bright and beautiful Riad. It was a breathe of fresh air, literally arriving here after staying in Marrakech. We chose the Terrace room at the top of the Riad and were extremely pleased with our choice.

Nicole collected us from the Supatours coach and gave us a detailed account of the best places to eat, things to do and answered any queries.

Loved Essaouria, and Riad Baladin. Thank you Nicole for your hospitality.

Room Tip: Rooms available on all three floors. We loved the room at the top on the Terrace, but a few stairs to the top!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annabel054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Riad Baladin was one of the best riads that I stayed in while travelling through Morocco - the style, simplistic, classy, and tasteful - very detail oriented - Nicole, the host was fantastic with excellent suggestions and recommendations, loved the place, wish I could have stayed longer and would recommend it highly to anyone going to Essaouira.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natthai2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews