We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location in an amazing historical medina”
Review of Riad Baladin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Baladin
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We spent a couple of days in the Riad Baladin and enjoyed it very much. In the morning you woke up by the noise of the sea and the seagulls and then started with a great break breakfast. From there you could dive "prepared" into the Medina. There was no problem that our daughters could go out as well (14, 16, 19) without company of the parents.
The Riad gets just the right amount of cool air during the night which makes you sleeping well. Beds and bathrooms are charming. There is nothing I missed.
The big plus comes as well from the stuff and the management. We got a lot of help. We got picked up from the airport and a lot of good locations to go when we started our round trip from here. Nicole gave us great locations. Actually Nicole could even organize a round trip and its worthy to contact her before you come to Morocco. She also organized a rental car for us and the owner was very kind. When we dropped the car in Marrakesh he brought us to the next location the and saved us an ugly ride with all that luggage.
Comment: very common in Morocco is cash and as well the riad wants to have cash. Not a problem, there are a lot atm's around there. I recommend to bring enough Dollar or Euro, we got mostly only 2000 Dirham from the atm.
AT the end I recommend to stay only two nights in Marrakesh and instead of that more nights in Essaouira. Marrakesh has very bad air pollution and the smell of motorbikes follows you everywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

From our first steps inside Riad Baladin we were blown away by the tranquil, stylish, and beautiful interior. Our expectations were exceeded further by the manager, Nicole, who made the effort to pick us up from the bus station and guide us to the Riad. She even took the time to explain to us, and mark on a map, which were the best places to eat (all of her recommendations were incredible(!) - some of the best food we ate in Morocco). The spa recommendation was also worth a visit... and the Jacuzzi before bed was an unexpected treat. Little touches, like complementary bottled water and local magazines made all the difference. Like the rest of the Riad, our room was tastefully decorated to a very high standard, in keeping with the coastal vibe in Essaouira. The complementary breakfast was so relaxing (being served until midday, unlike many other riads!) and SO delicious. Nicole's wonderful staff made sure we had breads, pastries, granola, eggs, fruit salad...everything we could have wanted. When my girlfriend fell ill due to the heat, Nicole showed great kindness in helping her, and helped us get our transport back to Marrakech - Nicole, her staff, and Riad Baladin cannot be recommended highly enough!

My only complaint is that we were shortsighted in only booking one night here, and were very sorry to leave. We will definitely return to Riad Baladin and Essaouira.

Room Tip: Our room (La chamber terrace) was on the terrace, so had great views and breakfast was served right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

A big thanks to Nicole and her wonderful staff for their warm welcome and a pleasant, comfortable stay with my tour group in May 2014. Before we headed to our blissful, white washed, beachy-style rooms, Nicole took the time to fully inform us of Essaouira, great places to visit, eat and see…accompanied by a pocket map…very practical. The rooms were all individual, not over decorated, sunny, clean and comfortable. The terraces, magnificent with their sweeping views over city and sea. A very smartly run business, with great staff, respectful and polite. And to add to all this, around the corner, Pasta Baladin…delicious pasta, for the times you are tiring from tagine, tagine tagine!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roamlikequeens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Riad Baladin; Nicole and her team were very welcoming to us and Nicole took time on both days to sit with us and help us come up with itineraries. She gave us some good recommendations. Our room ('chambre blanche') was beautiful and light, with a very relaxed and beachy vibe appropriate for Essaouira. The Riad is in a great location in the heart of the medina and close to the sea. Breakfast was delicious and generous, with muesli, yoghurt, breads, jams, pastries, eggs, and caffetiere coffee. Our only minor point for improvement was that the bed in 'chambre blanche' was a little unsteady/squeaky, being constructed from a lovely 'beldy' (natural wood) frame. However, we highly recommend Baladin for a friendly and relaxed experience of Essaouira.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

What can I say about Riad Baladin, but absolutely beautiful.

My husband, son and myself stayed there for a week. We wanted a holiday where we would see enough culture and also be able to relax, due to our hectic working life in the city (London).

Well I could not have asked for anything more. Nicole was just so accommodating from day one, showing us a map with all the places that she recommended for us to visit, but more than anything I was taken back by the service that she personally provided for us.

Our room was gorgeous, just so calm and tranquil.

This was no normal stay in a B&B, normally you would just be left to get on with things by yourself, but Nicole made herself available, taking us on a couple of trips which were just amazing.

Nicole has such a beautiful spirit and is so helpful in every way, she really goes above her call of duty.

I must not forget about her staff, my husband can be a little fussy at breakfast with his eggs and the girls were just helpful and patient.

Riad Baladin has been decorated is such a beautiful way, so much character and you can tell that thought has been taken into every piece of furniture and art work brought.

Oh, before I forget there is also a restaurant which is part of Riad Baladin, called Pasta Baladin. The meals are at such an affordable price, my son would have eaten there every evening if he had his own way. Once again all the staff were so friendly and helpful.

I would definitely recommend a stay at Riad Baladin, this should be on your list of places to stay and Essaouria on your list of places to visit as it is such a beautiful place.

Room Tip: You will not be disappoint with any room that you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We read the reviews for this place and we were not disappointed. It really is a hidden gem. The Riad is less than 10 minutes walk from the Supratours stop and two minutes from the main shopping street.
As for Baladin? It is delightful. From the decoration to the ladies and gent that run it. The rooms are stylish, super clean and peaceful. We stayed in the first house ( all three are linked by the ground floor and terrace) there were two rooms to each floor so although you may hear your 'neighbours' footsteps, it still feels really private. Breakfast on the terrace is a lovely gentle way to start the day and an hour in the jacuzzi a gorgeous relaxing way to finish.
Listen to their recommendations. They really are interested in offering you the best. Claudia didn't force restaurant Baladin ( their pasta place which I'm sure is very good) on us but instead suggested other ( very excellent) ideas. Her tips on what to visit/ experience during the day time were also spot on. Nicole was away visiting her charity project but was a great help via email and our last morning. As the title says book it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nixmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I visited Essaouira once myself and decided to show this cool place to my wife.

This is why I had to select a special, 'right' hotel for that. So it's modern but yet very authentic, clean but not 'plastic'. So it was quite a task :)

Finally, I selected Riad Baladin. And it was our best decision indeed.

So, a great location in Medina, wifi, rooms - it's all there. But I wanted to underline some other sides of Baladin.

1. In Riad Baladin you have this 'authentic big house' atmosphere. With the light of the candles everywhere. You have your own keys from the hotel when you go out. You know it's all about those little details here and there. That creates a right atmosphere for your trip.

2. Big advantage over other hotels - you have a 'complete package' in Baladin. Not just a room. Upon arrival, managers of hotel give you a 20-30 minutes 'Q&A' session. After that we knew all the cool places to visit as if we were locals. We wanted to check Moroccan food but not every day, we wanted to have half a day trips out of the city too. And Nicole helped us to see and to visit places that we would probably never found by ourselves. Like for example that small fisherman house cafe that is located 20 minutes by camel from a Sidi Kaouki place. These things are not in tourist guides. And these things make your trip really special.

Also I enjoyed breakfasts there. Nice selection of local bread, jams, juice and butter. And of course all other things like omlettes etc. Breakfast is served on a terrace on the roof of Riad.

Well... at the end we had a small transportation problem since I wanted to enjoy the ocean for the whole day (it was a very good day for going out there under the sails) but the morning after we had a flight home from Casablanca. And we went to Nicole to ask for help with this logistics. And she did! We had a nice (probably the best) solution so we were right on time at the airport.

Sorry if my report here is a bit too.... positive? :) Believe me we're pretty picky customers. But honestly, our stay in Riad Baladin was simply great.

Room Tip: Terrace Room is great. but book it in advance ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serghei -
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
5.6 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
683 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#9 of 75 in Essaouira
861 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 75 in Essaouira
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 75 in Essaouira
300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#10 of 75 in Essaouira
785 reviews
0 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#14 of 75 in Essaouira
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Baladin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baladin

Address: 9 Rue Sidi Magdoul, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £64 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Baladin 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Riad Baladin" is situated in the nicest part of the old town of Essaouira, in the district of "la Skala," just a few meters away from the Sea and a couple of minutes away from the main Square and Port. There is no traffic allowed in the "Medina." This Oasis offers 10 rooms (singles, doubles and suites/triple) all with en-suite bathrooms in a typical Moroccan style, combined with a contemporary design. Last but not least there is also a Jacuzzi & Massage for all the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad Baladin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Baladin Essaouira
Riad Baladin Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing