We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect - riding too”
Review of Riad Baladin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Baladin
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Perfect - riding too”
Reviewed 22 April 2009

Stayed here for 3 days. Couldn't be nicer. Owned by Italians and run with Swiss efficiency by Nicole. Beautifully decorated. V. Comfortable beds. Delicious breakfast and Nicole will arrange riding for you if you want. Great horses (arabs) for all levels, particularly advanced. Couldn't believe our luck getting a room here.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    839
    227
    31
    7
    3
See reviews for
156
590
87
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

Spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and well run riad in Essaouira - you can sense the Swiss touch (in the best of ways!) Nicole the manager was on hand each day of our stay and Asna gave us a warm welcome despite our late arrival - and also served a delicious breakfast on the roof terrace each day with fresh bread and pastries and good coffee (joy!). The bed was super-comfortable but it was odd to have a top sheet not big enough to cover two people and two small duvets rather than a large one. My reason for giving the room 4 not 5 stars is that there was only a flimsy curtain separating the toilet from the bedroom so no privacy at all when on the loo. Much accommodation in Marrakech and Essaouira is priced in Euros, so with the current sterling/Euro exchange rate rooms do feel very expensive. I'd recommend Riad Baladin with confidence to anyone as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimjimski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

I arrived in Essaouira not knowing where I was going to be staying. And I ended up staying here, and I couldn't have been happier or made a better choice with hours of studying and planning.

The Riad has everything that you could possibly want! It is extremely clean and well taken care of. The linens are immaculate and the decor is charming. It is easy to tell that a lot of love and caring went into each room to make it just perfect.

The public rooms are cozy and inviting. The terrace upstairs is delightful and a great place to watch the sun set over the ocean. During the day it is a very comfortable place to sit and relax, or perhaps read a book. The breakfasts are generous with choices -- not the typical roll and coffee/tea found in some places.

The owner of the riad is delightful and goes out of her way to make sure your stay is what you want it to be. She has excellent recommendations for activities and restaurants.

I loved this riad, by far the best I have stayed in during my time in Morocco. There are probably other hotels that are more elaborate, but they don't have the charm and beauty of the small riad.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaymalek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2009

I stayed at Riad Baladin with my partner for five days. We really enjoyed staying here, it was one of the things that made our holiday. It felt like a home from home thanks to Nicole, Asla and Carlito. A warm, friendly person Nicole really makes an effort to make sure you have a pleasurable stay. Weither that's driving you to beaches, horse riding or just helping you get a good price for jewellry! The rooms are all beautifully decorated, warm and clean, we stayed in La Chambre Creme. Breakfast on the terrace was lovely, as was fresh coffee at any time of the day. We spent a few evenings hanging out in the saloon with some food and wine with a friend of ours who we met who was traveling around africa. This we really enjoyed, it felt like our own home, something you don't find in most hotels. I highly recommend this Riad. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2009

The best thing about this Riad is the staff, the recommendations and trips offered meant that you got to experience the real Essaouira.

The manager Nicole takes the time to point out the nicest places to eat (for all budgets), lovely unspoilt beaches, where to go horse riding / sunbathing etc, so that you really can make the most of your stay.

The riad itself is really cute and has clearly been decorated with love. It has lots of white fabrics, beautiful fireplaces and the bathrooms all have gorgeous coloured walls. The terrace is lovely at breakfast and is great for a lazy afternoon lounging. And it's not too difficult to find either (which if you've been to Morocco before you'll know can be a problem). And the best thing is that this all comes at a great price.

Don't get me wrong there are more beautiful / luxurious places to stay in Essaouira but I really wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelJunkieMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2009

We stayed at the Riad Baladin for 7 nights and fell a little bit in love with the place. Not only because it's perfectly situated inside of the Medina, only ten minutes walk from the beach. But first of all for it's personal touch.
Nicole, the manager, picked us up outside of the city wall when we first arrived, recommended us romantic restaurants during our stay and even took us for small trips. In other words: The service surpassed all our expectations.

The candlelit breakfast was something to look forward to every morning, and the tiny size of the place (only five rooms) made us feel very much at home almost at once.
The Riad has a roof terrace with a view, is nicely furnished, very clean, and our room even had a fireplace.

We would definitely like to return someday.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2009

Nicole makes you feel very welcome in her lovely riad that that has a rustic charm. Excellent location, great service and spotlessly clean with Nicole's attention giving it top marks

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackos99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
5.6 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#13 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
5.6 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Baladin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baladin

Property: Riad Baladin
Address: 9 Rue Sidi Magdoul, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Baladin 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Riad Baladin" is situated in the nicest part of the old town of Essaouira, in the district of "la Skala," just a few meters away from the Sea and a couple of minutes away from the main Square and Port. There is no traffic allowed in the "Medina." This Oasis offers 10 rooms (singles, doubles and suites/triple) all with en-suite bathrooms in a typical Moroccan style, combined with a contemporary design. Last but not least there is also a Jacuzzi & Massage for all the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad Baladin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Baladin Essaouira
Riad Baladin Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing