We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming riad”
Review of Riad Baladin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Baladin
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Charming riad”
Reviewed 28 June 2009

My only regret about our stay is that we only booked the one night there. Both Essaouira and Riad Baladin are beautiful and I wish I had stayed another night or two, especially after a few nights in Marrakech.

Nicole met us at the coach station from where it was a short 10 minute walk to the riad itself. Once there she gave us a map and lots of advice on where to go and what to eat. The rooms are light, airy and comfortable. Our room (chambre rose) had a fireplace which I imagine would be lovely in the colder months. Also the riad's traditional decor throughout is full of character and very charming and I couldn't imagine staying somewhere more contemporary in Essaouira. There are only a few glimpses of the sea from the top terrace but I felt the rooftops over Essaouira are much more interesting and charming to look at!

The one small negative about the riad is that the curtains that separate the bedroom and bathroom are very flimsy and light and don't meet properly. This I was already aware of beforehand (I had already emailed to ask Nicole about this as I was travelling with a relative) so it wasn't a problem at all when we arrived but I do feel a heavier curtain would be better and it's worth mentioning for those who will be travelling with friends or relatives. As it was, we simply announced to each other each time we visited the loo or had a shower and the other would sit by the fireplace safely hidden from view! As I say, it's only a small negative as there are plenty of other nice spots to sit around the riad too.

I would love to go back to Essaouira as I felt I didn't give it the time it deserved and would happily stay at Riad Baladin again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wusmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    228
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
160
592
88
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at riad baladin. The rooms were beautiful ,simple, comfortable and peaceful. We had an amazing bathroom in The chambre amoureaux. Nicole made us feel very welcome and gave us invaluable advice and tips for the rest of our holiday including recommendations for hotels, retaurants and car hire. Breakfast was served on the terrass with bread, cheese , boiled eggs, fruit, yogurts, croisants and juice. It was great value for money and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelanaomijane
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2009

Baladin is a little oasis of tranquility. Beautifully decorated throughout. Each room is different. We were in the grey room, which has a real log fire which you can light (too hot while we were there, but would be great in the cooler months). Breakfast was served on the roof terrace every morning and the hostess Nicole gave us some great tips for places to eat (highly recommentd Elizer - amazing food in a beautiful and unique setting). Nicole also took us to a wonderful beachside cafe for seafood. Puppies and kittens everywhere - it was a really special day. Can't recommend this place more highly. Very relaxing and a great romantic getaway.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelanaomijane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2009

The service at this riad was great, we were met at the bus station and brought back to this beautifull riad. Our bedroom was on the second floor and was very sunny and airy. The bedroom itself was very clean with a comfortable bed and very tastefully decorated. The bathroom itself was a whole other room! The shower was lovely and we had a HUGE bath (leave plenty of time for filling!). Breakfast on the terrace was lovely, with fresh bread and pastries, cheese, jams, yogurt and fruit, it was a great way to start the day. The riad is very well situated and unlike Marrakech, Essaouira is very laid back and the medina is very easy to find your way around. Nicole was fantastic and recomended a lovely restaurant where we had dinner. It was such a shame that we didnt have longer here and due to the weather (which was too windy) didnt get to do any horse riding. We'll have to do that next time! Thanks for such a lovely riad Nicole and best of luck for the wedding!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahmj_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2009

Stayed here for 3 days. Couldn't be nicer. Owned by Italians and run with Swiss efficiency by Nicole. Beautifully decorated. V. Comfortable beds. Delicious breakfast and Nicole will arrange riding for you if you want. Great horses (arabs) for all levels, particularly advanced. Couldn't believe our luck getting a room here.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

Spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and well run riad in Essaouira - you can sense the Swiss touch (in the best of ways!) Nicole the manager was on hand each day of our stay and Asna gave us a warm welcome despite our late arrival - and also served a delicious breakfast on the roof terrace each day with fresh bread and pastries and good coffee (joy!). The bed was super-comfortable but it was odd to have a top sheet not big enough to cover two people and two small duvets rather than a large one. My reason for giving the room 4 not 5 stars is that there was only a flimsy curtain separating the toilet from the bedroom so no privacy at all when on the loo. Much accommodation in Marrakech and Essaouira is priced in Euros, so with the current sterling/Euro exchange rate rooms do feel very expensive. I'd recommend Riad Baladin with confidence to anyone as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimjimski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

I arrived in Essaouira not knowing where I was going to be staying. And I ended up staying here, and I couldn't have been happier or made a better choice with hours of studying and planning.

The Riad has everything that you could possibly want! It is extremely clean and well taken care of. The linens are immaculate and the decor is charming. It is easy to tell that a lot of love and caring went into each room to make it just perfect.

The public rooms are cozy and inviting. The terrace upstairs is delightful and a great place to watch the sun set over the ocean. During the day it is a very comfortable place to sit and relax, or perhaps read a book. The breakfasts are generous with choices -- not the typical roll and coffee/tea found in some places.

The owner of the riad is delightful and goes out of her way to make sure your stay is what you want it to be. She has excellent recommendations for activities and restaurants.

I loved this riad, by far the best I have stayed in during my time in Morocco. There are probably other hotels that are more elaborate, but they don't have the charm and beauty of the small riad.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaymalek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
8.0 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#16 of 74 in Essaouira
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 74 in Essaouira
518 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#13 of 74 in Essaouira
808 reviews
5.6 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
626 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Baladin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baladin

Property: Riad Baladin
Address: 9 Rue Sidi Magdoul, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Baladin 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Riad Baladin" is situated in the nicest part of the old town of Essaouira, in the district of "la Skala," just a few meters away from the Sea and a couple of minutes away from the main Square and Port. There is no traffic allowed in the "Medina." This Oasis offers 10 rooms (singles, doubles and suites/triple) all with en-suite bathrooms in a typical Moroccan style, combined with a contemporary design. Last but not least there is also a Jacuzzi & Massage for all the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Baladin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Baladin Essaouira
Riad Baladin Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing