We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Riad in the heart of Essaouira” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Baladin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Baladin
Ranked #10 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Riad in the heart of Essaouira”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2009

We stayed at Riad Baladin in mid October and were thoroughly impressed by the service and quality of our stay. A last minute booking meant that only the ground floor room was available (it's quite a bit cheaper as it opens out onto the reception area) but it was comfy and perfect for our needs. Only small niggle is that the curtains could do with being a little wider to cover the windows! It's not a busy reception area however and we were never disturbed in the night.

The room was immaculate and comforatable, everything is provided. Nicole and her staff were extremely friendly and spoke excellent English. Their knowledge of local restaurants, shops and things to do were invaluable. We were given a map when we arrived and taken through the best places to eat and drink depending on how much we wanted to spend. We didn't book any excursions whilst we were there but Nicole was giving some excellent sounding advice to another couple and had we stayed longer would definately have got something arranged.

We stayed at quite a few Riad's during our stay in Morocco and Riad Baladin was by far the best value, location and highest standard of all of them. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    224
    29
    7
    3
See reviews for
154
583
86
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2009

I stayed at Riad Baladin for 4 days 16 - 19 October.

Where to start ? The Riad is nicely decorated, homely, very clean and has some nice touches (Internet access, magazines, Morrocan roses). I called Nicole upon arriving in the medina, and one of her lovely girls came to collect me (made my life much easier).

I was with my Mum who needed to be on the ground floor. I had booked a different room, but sure enough Riad Baladin accomodated my latest needs.

Nicole was quick to recommend where to eat, what to see and where to shop (so you get a bargain !)

I really recommend Riad Baladin.

Kate

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonKateS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2009

Baladin sits almost at the sea end of the walled medina. It's location is perfect for being away from the bustle while right in the old centre. Baladin is a good value; you can find more expensive places along the beach and certainly cheaper ones, but the charm and attention paid to guests is really top notch here. The breakfast is a welcome departure from the carb overload of so many B and B's (fruit and eggs are included). The rooms are airy (we were in the Terrasse, which is the brightest room in the place). The spaces are not huge but that didn't feel like a problem. The terrace on the roof is ready for an overhaul but, again, not a problem. Nicole is extemely helpful with any detail about Essaouira or the region. She "reads" her guests well and responds to their standards and interests when giving advice (which is rare). The staff are delightful and outgoing.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank squash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zurich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2009

- cozy riad at perfect location in Essaouira
- Nicole, who runs the place, is very, very nice, uncomplicated and really cares about her guests
- the breakfast (included) was delicious and a good start for the day
- the personnel was very friendly
- most important: Nicole and her girls take it easy, are always willing to help and have a good sense of humour
- GO THERE and see for yourself!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MFvdB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham ,UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Riad Baladin with my girlfriend. Nicole was very welcoming and helpful and took the time to point out where to go, what to see, what to do/not to do.

We stayed in both the Rose and Grey room, both exactly the same layout but with different colours (Rose being the nicer one in our opinion). Rooms were nice and spacious, very comfy beds and lovely traditional moroccon bathrooms.

When in Essaouria, you should definitley book the Elizir restaurant - one of the best meals we had in the 3 weeks we were in Morocco (Lonely Planet 'top pick' too).

Essaouria in general was our favourite place in Morocco - kite surfing, horseriding, quad biking, relaxing, great food.

I'd happily recommend the Baladin to anyone visiting :)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank polo_mint4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

We stayed 2 nights at Riad Baladin. The riad is small but beautiful. Decorated like a mediterranean villa. The room was clean and bed comfortable. Breakfast were great and served on the terrace. Nicole and her staff were very hospitable. Nicole sent someone to meet us at the entrance of the old medina as it can be a bit confusing navigating around streets and alleys. Upon arrival Nicole told us about restaurants and things to see and do. We had a very pleasant and relaxing stay. We would stay at Riad Baladin again if we go back to Essaouira.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephaneHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2009

Riad Baladin was everything we expected - clean spacious rooms, charming decor, great communal areas and yummy breakfasts. The added bonus was Nicole and her staff were really helpful, listen to their recommendations for restaurants and other places to visit, they are spot on! Just wished we had the time to go horse riding as Nicole suggested. Essaouria is a beautiful town and the riad is well located within it, close to the sea wall and about a 5 - 10 minute walk to the beach. Would love to have stayed longer!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShepsterLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 77 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#13 of 77 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
8.0 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Baladin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baladin

Property: Riad Baladin
Address: 9 Rue Sidi Magdoul, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Baladin 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Riad Baladin" is situated in the nicest part of the old town of Essaouira, in the district of "la Skala," just a few meters away from the Sea and a couple of minutes away from the main Square and Port. There is no traffic allowed in the "Medina." This Oasis offers 10 rooms (singles, doubles and suites/triple) all with en-suite bathrooms in a typical Moroccan style, combined with a contemporary design. Last but not least there is also a Jacuzzi & Massage for all the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riad Baladin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Baladin Essaouira
Riad Baladin Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing