We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully restored Riad”
Review of Riad Baladin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Baladin
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, England
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautifully restored Riad”
Reviewed 12 April 2010

After a hectic 7 days in Marrakesh we were looking forward to a relaxing time in Essaouira and we were not disappointed.

We were met at the bus station and escorted to the Riad where we met Nicole and she ran through information on Essaouira for us. She showed us around the lovely riad and made us feel very welcome.

The Riad was completely different from the one we stayed in in Marrakech, not as luxurious but rustic and cosy.

We stayed in the Chambre Amoureux for 5 nights which was nicely decorated in a rustic style. Very clean and comfortable. Other reviewers have mentioned the bed linen not fitting the bed and I agree but you could easily readjust the two quilts so not a problem. The bathroom was very spacious with a double bath with steps up to it and candles. Very romantic for honeymoon.

Breakfast was taken each day on the terrace, it was the same each day but very nice. Orange juice, eggs, bread, croissants, goats cheese and nice jam. it was nice to sit and chat with the other guests as there were a number of different nationalities staying at the Riad during our stay.

Nicole goes out of her way to help you . We went to the restaurants that she recommended and never had a bad meal. If you get the opportunity to go with Nicole to the Blue Stone Cafe then do it. We had a superb meal there along with good company. The squid deep fried in batter with rosemary was the best I have ever tasted.

The rooftop is an ideal place to relax and some sunbeds are provided.

To sum up a nice relaxing place to stay in an ideal location with excellent staff.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skier54_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    228
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
160
592
88
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

Riad Baladin is perfectly decorated and situated for this seaside town. Nicole was very helpful orientating us to the medina and the sites around us. Listen to her suggestions! We ate a crab dish she recommended and spent the afternoon at a private hamman she told us about and they were both wonderful experiences. I have only 2 minor critiques that do not allow me to give this riad 5 starts. First, the bedding is very bizzare. It appears to be a proper fit but when you climb in bed there are ill-fitting blankets and sheets which causes some strategizing during the night. Second, this has gotten to be the only place in all of Morocco that does not serve freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast. We slept in a tent in a desert and had fresh juice available for us in the middle of nowhere. Minor critiques, but they do matter.
The 2 woman that work with Nicole are lovely as well. Very sweet and helpful with everything. Excellent location too. Overall a nice stay!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavlinova, Manager at Riad Baladin, responded to this review, 8 April 2010
Just a quick answer to those two minor critiques:
To the bedcover:
We do have for every double bed always TWO bedcovers! Why? There are many guests they do like to have their own duvet instead to share a big one (even if they are a couple...). It might be the case that one didn't realised that? All matresses have been made by order (by hand!) only with cotton-material (instead of the typical moroccain polyester...).
Usually we do get a lot of compliments for the sleeping-quality!
To the orange-jus:
Of course we would like to offer fresh squizzed orange-juice for breakfast but there is a small problem: as we do have TWO open kitchens (one in the basement & one on the terrace!) we can't use the squeeze-machine unfortunetly - we would wake up our clients immediatly... There might be a solution in future: as we're planning to expand the small Riad Baladin (to 10 rooms in total!) we will have TWO big propper kitchens where we can close the doors...
But we do hope that our clients do enjoy our fresh fruit-salad every morning!
Nicole Pavlin (manager Riad Baladin)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamburg
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2010

thanks to nicole and the staff from riad baladin we slept better, ate better and discovered a lot more about essouaira and marokko than we would have without her. nicole knows a lot about the country. if she comes up with some travelling route suggestions then go for it!
thanks again, we followed (most) of your advices and had a wonderful time on our trip.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2010

We stayed at Riad Baladin for 5 nights after 3 hectic days in Marrakech. We thoroughly recommend Baladin, it is a great place to stay with an amazingly attentive and helpful manager.

Upon our arrival, The manager (Nicole) met us at the Medina gate and walked us through town, showing us points of interest along the way. Once at the Riad, Nicole talked us through a map and recommended a number of restaurants (all of which were excellent), sights and things to do. This level of service was extended throughout our time in Essaouria, and made our stay truly special.

Our room (La Chambre Grise) was spacious and beautifully decorated, as was the rest of Baladin. Breakfast was very good, and the both the service and housekeeping were very attentive.

The position of the Riad is excellent, with a number of restaurants and shops within a minutes walk. Nicole pointed us to a very nice Spa nearby and took my wife on on a memorable horse ride along the beach at nearby Diabat.

Overall, Riad Baladin is a beautifully appointed Riad in a great location, topped off by a friendly and knowledgeable host who simply cannot do enough for you.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomG_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallorca
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2010

We had an idyllic two nights at Riad Baladin. Owner Nicole is an exceptional person who has created so much more than just a place to stay. Staying at Riad Baladin enriches your stay in Morocco because it has such a great atmosphere.

Also Nicole has so much energy and imagination - she really seems to care about your stay. Her suggestions are excellent (like the Hammam Spa and Taros for evening drinks) and she organises (and joins you) for great excursions such as horse riding along the beach, at incredible speeds.

We had to leave at 5:30am to catch the bus back to Marrakech and when we staggered downstairs bleary eyed, we found breakfast laid out for us. So thoughtful.

We stayed in the Chambre Amoreuse which is very pretty, light and airy. The terraces have good views and the breakfast is delicious.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMochilera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2010

My husband and I and our grown son visited in February and were very pleased that Baladin is as fine as all the previous reviews have said it is. Particularly outstanding are its location, simple but elegant and imaginative decor, the best breakfast that we had in Morocco, and Nicole's thoughtful suggestions and recommendations. She is a lady really on top of her game! Rating would be a 5 except that I'm a tough grader and don't personally care for the currently trendy style choice of having no door between the bedroom and bath.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at Riad Baladin for 3 nights. Our stay was perfect. We were picked up from the bus station and on arrival at the Riad were given a detailed map and recommendations for restaurants - most of which we visited and were not disappointed! Our room was beautiful and the log fire was very cosy. Nicole was extremely helpful and took us for a lovely seafood lunch at a beach cafe followed with a horse trek along the beach - perfect end to a lovely holiday!! She really does go out of her way to make your stay unforgettable. I would recommend this Riad to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris00Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
8.0 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#13 of 74 in Essaouira
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 74 in Essaouira
518 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#15 of 74 in Essaouira
808 reviews
5.6 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
626 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Baladin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baladin

Property: Riad Baladin
Address: 9 Rue Sidi Magdoul, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Baladin 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Riad Baladin" is situated in the nicest part of the old town of Essaouira, in the district of "la Skala," just a few meters away from the Sea and a couple of minutes away from the main Square and Port. There is no traffic allowed in the "Medina." This Oasis offers 10 rooms (singles, doubles and suites/triple) all with en-suite bathrooms in a typical Moroccan style, combined with a contemporary design. Last but not least there is also a Jacuzzi & Massage for all the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Baladin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Baladin Essaouira
Riad Baladin Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing