We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just beautiful”
Review of Villa de l'O

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa de l'O
Ranked #48 of 179 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I was so lucky to spend 3 nights with my girlfriend in this magnificent place. The service was brilliant, the receptionists charming and exceptional helpful! Even the cleaning ladies were happy and lovely. And this place is really clean. There is also a nice (and hot) hamam for the guests, we used it alone one evening, the ingredients were are available, which was nice. They have no in-house-restaurant, but it didn`t matter much, as Essaouira has good alternatives. The breakfast was nice presented, though maybe not more than one would expect. Great coffee! The 12 rooms are all very different. We stayed in the room "Opium", which probably is one of the most beautiful rooms (we had a look at at least 7 of them), with a giant bathroom with shower and bathtub, a huge bed, and a stunning view over the beach. My girlfriend seriously wants to rent the whole thing for our (not yet planned) wedding :) What could have been better was the tv-service, as we had only some 3-4 channels, and even they didn`t work too well

Room Tip: The rooms with a view are much lighter, the other rooms can appear a little dark, typical for the Mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inge Valle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

My wife and I came to Essaouira in the last week of January after a hectic four days in Marrakech. This was a special birthday (if you see what I mean) and I wanted to make sure my wife had a great trip. The riad in Marrakech was special, but this was something else. From the moment we entered the hotel we were transported into a world of colonial French/Moroccan chic - utterly charming. From the moment we entered reception and throughout our stay, we were treated with the utmost charm and made to feel the most important guests on the planet. Our room (L'Obe) was spectacular with every amenity you could want. The bed large,comfortable-linen superior quality. We were directed to really good restaurants and we were not disappointed. Breakfasts were healthily stunning. Thanks.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This is a wonderful gem to stay in. welcomed by the lovely friendly staff esp Miriam who showed us the ropes.
We were in room L'Obe which was lovely and an ample bathroom with huge shower. no noise issues in our room.
roof top has spectacular views of the beach. my only comment was could they serve the jams & honey in covered / closed pots with breakfast as the wasps are a definite problem / also a choice of options for breakfast instead of all white bread options for those who are trying to avoid white starch....... maybe more fruit ? lovely evening fires and delicious red wine / the friendly birds / the peaceful atmosphere well worth a stay .... Enjoy

Room Tip: not all rooms have bath check if you specifically want bath + /or shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpeckyChefette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

A lovely small hotel 'oasis' just inside the walls of the small medina of Essaouira. We stayed in l'Octane (room) which had fantastic views across Place Orson Wells (look it up its an interesting tale) to the sea and small harbour. This isn't a traditional Riad, more a contemporary twist on the Riad/private home with a patio theme, with a distinctly parisian chic feel to it. The service is great, from reception to breakfast the staff couldn't have been more pleasant or helpful. Reception's recommendations for dinner were particularly welcome and well made. Breakfast served on the upstairs roof garden was lovely, but it is worth mentioning that you may want a light top as it can feel a bit damp early in the morning or late evening.

Essaouira itself is a lovely place with a beautiful medina which feels more visceral and real than Marrakech. Some excellent Restaurants in the town. A beautiful beach right on your doorstep that you can stroll along for miles (make sure you carry your sense of humour with you as the constant approaches from camel 'merchants' as you peer out to sea can be both a little surreal and wearing!).

Room Tip: They all looked great. We liked L'Octane for the view and the two french windows we could open i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rabbitpearls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights and overall were really pleased.
The Riad is right at the corner of the ramparts so is perfrectly placed for access to the beach, souks and shops but far enough away that it's not particularly noisy, but more on that later!
The public areas are very nicely furnished with a couple of lovely ante rooms you can relax in. The bedrooms are all fairly decent in size, with nice linens and furniture etc and our bathroom in Oxalis was nice and large aswell with a big corner bath but no shower.
We found the reception staff really helpful with advice etc and the staff at breakfast were great, however, when we were on the roof terrace of an afternoon you would often have to go and find someone in order to get a drink, which was a pain.
The roof terrace is stunning, with really comfy beds, and huge corner sofas and chairs to relax on with a lovely view over to the beach, this is where breakfast is also served. The only thing missing is a little pool for a dip!
On breakfast we found this a bit limited as it's the exact same thing every day. You will get baguette style bread, Berber style bread and croissants, yoghurt and fresh fruit, a very stodgy pancake with jams and honey and eggs cooked to your preference. Might be me but that's too much stodge so I just stuck with the yoghurt. I know this is a Moroccan style breakfast but some meats and cheese would've been nice.
We found that drinks and services etc were not overpriced but there were a couple of noise issues.
If your staying don't stay in the room L'or as it's directly under the bar on the roof terrace and trust me they start preparing breakfast mighty early (6am) and they're not quiet. When we moved to Oxalis, which was a nice room, it has a ceiling fan but no air con, which is fine if you keep the window open. However, there is another Riad opposite and at night staff from the two Riads seem to congregate under the windonw and talk very loudly and there are a lot of mopeds that whizz up and down the alleyway at all times, which can make sleeping quite difficult, shut the window though and it's fine, hot, but fine.
Lastly the rooms can be a little dark so they could do with a bit more lighting and there was only one small mirror in the bathroom, they could've done with one in the bedroom aswell.
Overall I would recommend this hotel and I would stay again.

Room Tip: Pick one with a seaview and not under the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CheshireCat1471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

After much research I plumped for Villa De L’O for our second stay in Essaouira. Four years ago quality accommodation was limited but, the town seems to have burgeoned over the years. The charm is still there (the walled medina will always stay the same) but, the area flanking the beach has certainly grown and there are definitely more visitors.

Villa De L’O is a Riad in the traditional sense with all the rooms circling the central atrium but, the decoration is slightly different with an air of colonial charm; dark wood, rattan, leather club chair, palms, animal print fabric and the odd telescope. There are window sills full of books and lots of sepia toned canvases depicting life around the souk. We were greeted by incredibly friendly reception staff who were always on hand to make restaurant reservations and other suggestions.

We were staying in the L’Onyx room. There was a large bed, desk, cushions on the floor in front of the fire and a large bathroom. There was only 1 window which overlooked the medina alley so, natural light was limited and the lighting itself was well, atmospheric - not ideal for putting on makeup! Unfortunately, hard beds and non-feather pillows seem to be a feature of our current trip to Morocco and Villa De L’O was no exception. However, it was a charming room.

The roof terrace at the Villa De L’O was wonderful. Overlooking the sweeping bay and a great place to relax (plenty of sun loungers) and take in the view. On good days breakfast is served there: fruit and yoghurt, pancakes, breads and pastries and eggs if wanted.

One thing that I love about Essaouira are the restaurants and all of the ones we ate at were wonderful. The Italian Silvestro with its wood fired pizzas, the Moroccan La Licorne which was gorgeous inside and the tagines were the best I’ve tasted. One lunch we ate at Casa Vera which over looked the main square and the tapas was actually pretty good (especially the calamari) and portions are much bigger than normal tapas. My favourite restaurant however is Elizir. It is such a kitsch place with Moroccan tiled walls and floor mixing with furniture and ornaments from the 60s. We ate here 4 years ago and I think we were the only diners. Now the place is full, the food is still excellent and the owner is as charming as ever.

Overall Villa De L’O is a great place. The service was friendly and spot on. The location on the edge of the medina is perfect. The roof top terrace is a great place to chill out and catch some rays. The Hubby and I also both had a hamman and a rub down which was very good. For me the beds and pillows were a bit hard and the lighting in the L’Onyx room was too subdued. I’d plump for a room overlooking the beach next time which have huge windows that flood the room with light.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LesleyAnn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

We chose this Riad style accomodation for our stay in Essaouira on our tour of Morocco. Having stayed in many more traditional riads on the journey we were attracted by the comtemporary colonial style of the Villa de L'O. The location is excellent! Right on the edge of the Medina overlooking the huge white sandy beach with the sea beyond. The cooling coastal breeze was very welcome having been cooked inland by the summer sun earlier in our holiday. The villa is very clean & modern inside whilst retaing a healthy dose of colonial charm - it really does feel like a high end boutique hotel! The service was extremely friendly & the receptionists in particular were very charming. However we did not spend all that much time in the hotel preferring to get out & explore. Our room was large, well appointed & comfortable. Unfortunately there was no A/C but with the breeze from the sea all we had to do was open our window for a few minutes to cool the room nicely. Essaouira is beautiful to stroll around with some excellent photo opportunities. The souk is a little less daunting here as well compared to say Fes or Marrakech as the street of the Medina are much more open. Make sure you sample the seafood on offer - is fresh from the sea and tastes amazing... Especially washed down with a Moroccan rose wine. Would highly recommend a stay here & we will be coming to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Technog0at
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#19 of 75 in Essaouira
487 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#10 of 75 in Essaouira
690 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La maison des artistes
La maison des artistes
#25 of 75 in Essaouira
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#9 of 75 in Essaouira
732 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar L'Oussia
Riad Dar L'Oussia
#20 of 75 in Essaouira
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa de l'O? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa de l'O

Address: 3 rue Mohamed Ben Messaoud, Essaouira 44100, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 179 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range: £103 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa de l'O 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheltered by the Medina walls, Villa de l'O is located at few meters from the beach, the souks, and at the doors of the Essaouira golf court. Eighteenth-century riad, the architectural spirit of Villa de l'O is given by the subtle alchemy between stone, sculpted wood, and the quivering of the beautifully made fabrics. Refined, the modern decoration of the house combines the oriental and colonial spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa de l'O reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa De l`o Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing