We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel boutique !”
Review of Villa de l'O

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa de l'O
Ranked #37 of 173 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Isidro, Argentina
Level Contributor
128 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel boutique !”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely and charming boutique hotel, Opium room a must!
Very near everything, lovely rooms and decoration, all put together in a fantastic old home with a gorgeous central hall
Breakfast was great ! good morning start, lots of things to do & see
Restaurants are walking distance
It's as staying at your home abroad!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    57
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
41
180
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

For our 4th Christmas in Essaouira we decided to try the Villa. We stayed 10 nights and had a fantastic experience. The riad is beautiful but what makes it truly special are the staff - plus unusually for a riad in winter it was actually warm at night as a result of the sliding glass roof over the central well. It's perfectly located in the medina with amazing views of the beach from the gorgeous roof terrace. Our room (l'Obe) was really spacious and well kitted out. It was street side and there was occasional noise there but overall it was really well sound proofed - we didn't hear other guests when we were in our room even when the place was fully booked. In fact we were surprised to find out it was fully booked as there was never any issue finding a place to sit on the terrace or the downstairs salon, which is a lovely place to hang out with a glass of wine in front of the log fire. Everything is really relaxed and focussed on the guest experience. There is quite a short in house menu for food (you are seconds away from the myriad restaurants in the medina for variety) but it was always good and staff worked to accommodate my being vegetarian. As always with Essouira, the medina and its buildings are old so if your priority is modern facilities then you may be better off staying in one of the new modern chain hotels outside the walls - but for our money you can't beat the charm and personal service of the Villa de l'O. We would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: L'Obe was a great size for our 10 day stay, never felt cramped once.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClytieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed in the room called L'Opium in 2010 and we loved it. It's a great little Riad in a great location. The staff is very friendly and very helpful. We had breakfast on the roof overlooking the sea. Our room was really spacious with an amazing view. Great place to stay!

Room Tip: There is no pool or fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashtead,Surrey
Level Contributor
131 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

What a wonderful place to stay ! 12 rooms individually styled and furnished. Not all rooms have a bath - so if this is really important to you - request one at the time of booking. No evening meals served, but lunchtime snacks available. The young lady on reception was exceptionally helpful - making recommendations for places to eat. Lovely rooftop terrace overlooking the sea - delightful. Would recommend Elixir restaurant - feels like a 60's throw back but the food was amazing !

Room Tip: All the rooms were fne.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzywuzyweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This was probably the sixth riad we had stayed in Morocco, and it was certainly good.

We had the room on the top floor which opened out onto the terrace. If you like stairs then this is the place for you.

The room was clean and neat, and the view from the terrace was lovely. It was great to just duck out from your room to the bar and obtain refreshments.

Lunch and breakfast were served on the terrace and were fine.

Room Tip: Get the top floor if you want a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grahame_B255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
96 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We got an wonderful upgrad! We had the room called "Opium". I suppose, it is one of the nices rooms in this hotel. We saw different ones, all of them were very nice, but the "Opium is definitely the bigges one with a great view on the sea. We had breakfast on the terrasse, which was good and also the quality of the served food was very good. We can recommend this hotel very much. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Aks for the room called "Opium"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swiss17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hjørring
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

At first the Riad seems a little dark and much to quiet. But then you dig into it and it opens up - with rooms in classic travel interior that gives reminense to days gone by where steamers and mahogany was classy.
And then you hit the terrasse .... WAOOOOUW .. and you just make a deep breath to take the fantastic view in. Its a fantastic place to relax and to enjoy the fantastic and extremely relaxing views. Whether you want to sun tan or relax on the sofas in the shade with agood book ... this place fills ups your batteries !
The location is in the new kasbah a quiet area of essaouria but evrything is so close the harbour and fish eatings places there, the touristic part of essouari or the old souk and the old mellah ...
If we would recommend it .. DEFINITELY !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcacph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar L'Oussia
Riad Dar L'Oussia
#18 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.0 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#22 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#10 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Chbanate
Riad Chbanate
#12 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa de l'O? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa de l'O

Property: Villa de l'O
Address: 3 rue Mohamed Ben Messaoud, Essaouira 44100, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa de l'O 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheltered by the Medina walls, Villa de l'O is located at few meters from the beach, the souks, and at the doors of the Essaouira golf court. Eighteenth-century riad, the architectural spirit of Villa de l'O is given by the subtle alchemy between stone, sculpted wood, and the quivering of the beautifully made fabrics. Refined, the modern decoration of the house combines the oriental and colonial spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa de l'O reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa De l`o Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing