We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Location”
Review of Villa de l'O

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa de l'O
Ranked #50 of 176 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Lovely Location”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is a beautifully furnished riad located within the medina walls so don't be fooled by the map location on Trip Advisor which shows it in a completely different place.

We had two nights here and I have to say it was the best part of staying in Essaouira. Built on 3 floors with a wonderful roof terrace atop where they serve the best breakfast, there's a central galleried landing with the bedrooms off. The only problem with that being the noise, which travels straight up, bouncing off all the hard surfaces on its' way. The rooms aren't numbered but have names instead and we were in L'Orizon on the first floor. It had a beautiful copper bath big enough for a family of four to squeeze into and double copper basins. Unfortunately the plug in the bath didn't keep the water in, which we discovered to our cost. There is no door, just curtains separating the bedroom from the bathroom so if you're shy you might have a problem with that.

A previous reviewer has said that they do not do dinner at the Villa, but recently they have started to, although we didn't eat there. The staff are very polite but didn't give us any information when we arrived, just took us to our room, which is fine but it's nice when they explain about the facilities of the hotel. We had to figure it all out for ourselves.

Room Tip: If you want a decent view you must go up on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    59
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
41
182
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We just came back from spending a week in Villa de l'O - and for the first time in my life - I cannot fault a hotel on anything! The rooms are exactly as they looked on the website, attention to detail and nothing is old and rundown! Fresh crisp linen and towels - and a decent size room.
It was like being at home - chilled and relaxed! The staff, especially Yusuf, could not do enough for us - from serving breakfast, to serving drinks when we came back from the beach and making a fire in the lounge to take the chill off to recommending a different restaurant every night - nothing was too much trouble!
We had an awesome stay - and will definitely go back to Villa de l'O!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Beautiful boutique hotel and staff who couldn't do more to help. Villa de l'O is in a great location in Essaouria just inside the medina walls and 5 mins walk from restaurants, souks, bars. Our room L'Opale was stunning with big bed and warm wooden flooring. There is no door to the bathroom just curtains but that was OK for us. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of tea, fresh fruit and eggs - we sat downstairs as it wasn't warm enough first thing to sit on the terrace. Everywhere was spotlessly clean with cleaners seemingly there all day long! The terrace was perfect, plenty of loungers and towels provided, the bar on the terrace happy to serve drinks and food throughout the day. The hotel organised a horse riding trip for us where the company came to pick us up, we booked it in the morning and went in the afternoon, nothing was too much for the staff. Totally flawless, I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We had room L'Opale that looks out onto the small street the hotel is on but all rooms looked lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lwoo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romsey
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our visit to Essaouira and our stay in the raid. Breakfast was excellent with nice fruit salad, selection of pastries and bread as well as the morroccon pancakes. The eggs were not brilliant, but not needed. Breakfast on the terrace was a bit of a challenge in the wind, but one day they did set tables downstairs in the covered courtyard. They willingly lit the fire in the sitting room in the evening. The staff were all helpful and friendly. Our room had most enormous copper bath, looked great. Ut impossible to fill to reasonable depth and not easy to climb into it. Not entirely. Omfortable with having no door to separate bath and toilet from room, only curtain, and we had a howling dog outside in the evenings and in the morning, so would not choose l'orizon room. Would still go back to stay here

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RomseyChechy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We have just returned from 5 nights in Essaouira staying at Villa De L'O. I would have rated as GOOD rather than average but that wasn't an option, so I would say it is above average.
The Riad is in a very good location just inside the medina walls with amazing views over the ocean and very close to good restaurants and attractions. Villa De L'O is very well styled in neutral colours with a colonial nostalgic feel, lots of old books, sepia photographs and vintage pieces. Our room L'Octane was lovely, good size with a great sea view, bathroom great size with a bath and hand held shower and 2 sinks, window onto the landing area. The roof terrace is lovely, amazing view of the sea and beach, great for breakfast or relaxing when the weather is o.k as it can be very windy!
The reason for my title "mixed feelings" is due to a few issues with the service and facilities.
We had a few issues with the breakfast on the terrace in very cold windy conditions and didn't have the option to eat inside. It would be nice to have the option to eat breakfast inside or out at the clients request?
Lack of supplies in the bar, on our last night we tried to get a gin and tonic and glass of red wine to be told they had none, so we had a glass of rose wine, then told that was the last of the rose wine, so if we wanted a second glass we would have to change to gris, when we questioned the lack of supplies we were told the manager was on holiday? For a Riad of this level I would have expected them to have had better stocks.
Also, dead plants don't look that appealing as a first impression of your hotel, empty pots look better if its difficult to keep them alive!
Maybe we just had a bad week as a lot of the other reviews praise the service and staff, so this maybe gave me a higher level of expectation than I should have had? All I can do is report on our experience which as I said left me with "mixed feelings" but it is still a very nice Riad.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coolblue-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Isidro, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely and charming boutique hotel, Opium room a must!
Very near everything, lovely rooms and decoration, all put together in a fantastic old home with a gorgeous central hall
Breakfast was great ! good morning start, lots of things to do & see
Restaurants are walking distance
It's as staying at your home abroad!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

For our 4th Christmas in Essaouira we decided to try the Villa. We stayed 10 nights and had a fantastic experience. The riad is beautiful but what makes it truly special are the staff - plus unusually for a riad in winter it was actually warm at night as a result of the sliding glass roof over the central well. It's perfectly located in the medina with amazing views of the beach from the gorgeous roof terrace. Our room (l'Obe) was really spacious and well kitted out. It was street side and there was occasional noise there but overall it was really well sound proofed - we didn't hear other guests when we were in our room even when the place was fully booked. In fact we were surprised to find out it was fully booked as there was never any issue finding a place to sit on the terrace or the downstairs salon, which is a lovely place to hang out with a glass of wine in front of the log fire. Everything is really relaxed and focussed on the guest experience. There is quite a short in house menu for food (you are seconds away from the myriad restaurants in the medina for variety) but it was always good and staff worked to accommodate my being vegetarian. As always with Essouira, the medina and its buildings are old so if your priority is modern facilities then you may be better off staying in one of the new modern chain hotels outside the walls - but for our money you can't beat the charm and personal service of the Villa de l'O. We would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: L'Obe was a great size for our 10 day stay, never felt cramped once.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClytieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#21 of 74 in Essaouira
480 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar L'Oussia
Riad Dar L'Oussia
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
390 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#23 of 74 in Essaouira
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 74 in Essaouira
678 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Desdemona
Palazzo Desdemona
#30 of 74 in Essaouira
253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa de l'O? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa de l'O

Property: Villa de l'O
Address: 3 rue Mohamed Ben Messaoud, Essaouira 44100, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa de l'O 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheltered by the Medina walls, Villa de l'O is located at few meters from the beach, the souks, and at the doors of the Essaouira golf court. Eighteenth-century riad, the architectural spirit of Villa de l'O is given by the subtle alchemy between stone, sculpted wood, and the quivering of the beautifully made fabrics. Refined, the modern decoration of the house combines the oriental and colonial spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia and LoveHolidays so you can book your Villa de l'O reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa De l`o Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing