We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, friendly, fantastic location”
Review of Villa de l'O

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa de l'O
Ranked #42 of 175 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful, friendly, fantastic location”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My partner and I recently stayed at Villa de L'O for 3 nights and had a wonderful stay. Would definitely recommend it (and the Hammam) and return if we find ourselves in Essairoura again. Clean rooms, very friendly staff, beautifully decorated and in a great location. It has a lovely "chill out" room where we drank red wine and played chess (I won). They gave us top recommendations for food and day trips. All in all a great place!

Room Tip: Suites are on the second and third floor. Although more expensive these offer better views and are m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    58
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
41
180
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essaouira, Morocco
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at Villa de l'O. It is very cosy and the room I stayed in (l'Obe) was very spacious and cosy.
The food is very good. However, the one con with the food is that they serve the same food for lunch and dinner, which is fine but i have never met anyone willing to eat a Club Sandwich for dinner!
The roof terrace is very very nice with a beautiful view of the beach and the street and a segment of the Medina.
I really recommend this hotel if you are coming to Essaouira!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emily90790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is a gorgeous boutique hotel. The rooms are beautifully done, with an appropriately nautical feel. Sophia is a warm, exceptional host. They greet you with delicious local pastries upon arrival. The breakfast is phenomenal. It is perfectly quiet and tranquil - great sleeping! And very-located: just inside "the wall" so your car/taxi can pull up less than a block from the front door. If you want to run/walk the beach, it's right there. Or you can view it from their wonderful roof-deck terrace.

Our family (parents, a teen and a tween) loved our time there and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank screenname96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had two rooms, the Oxalis is on the street side but the window is over the entry to a larger hotel that had some bar activity that let out at midnight. Also repairmen were working in the narrow street till one am. The second room called the Orient was quiet but did not have a window out. Both rooms has very unique style decor a bit old fashioned but it worked. The lights were very dim in both rooms, but we found that to be true in other Riads as well. Our suite only had a tub and we found that the case in other Riads as well. Also cancellation policy is very harsh in Riads. The day person called Sofia was great and assisted even in her off hours when the night clerk had an issue he could not figure out. We suddenly had to cut our visit short and they kept our payment for both rooms even though they were their only vacancy and they probably rented them to someone else. Reluctantly the agreed to let us know if they will rent them but did not sound convincing. The location is quite good.

Room Tip: I would be reluctant to rent on street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Lovely sea view suite and excellent roof terrace for sun and breakfast. Staff were friendly and provided everything you asked for. Only negatives was the restaurant was very limited and staff not at all proactive. We arrived late and decided to eat in the Villa, mistake, the food was extremely limited and service slow it was OK but very dreary. As for the staff as I said they were fine and friendly but offered nothing. They could have asked if we needed any advice or recommendations, more water could have been put in the room daily, drinks were available but had to seek them out. I may be being picky but we were paying over euro 200 per night and for that you expect something a bit special.

Room Tip: L'Opium suite had super views and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My boyfriend and I had the fortune of staying in this beautiful hotel in Essaouria and we were totally blown away by the staff, decor and ambience of the place. It is perfectly located on the fringe of the Medina so it's wonderfully peaceful but very close to all the attractions and the beach. The terrace is the best thing about the hotel and we spent every morning having breakfast in the sun with an amazing view of the beach. The staff are friendly and helpful, even when we didn't speak french. The hotel booked a quad biking session which was perfect and I would definitely recommend the Hamman - even though the space is small, the scrub was perfect and it's very private and tranquil. We also had very good recommendations from hotel staff about where to eat and they even bought our bus tickets for us as we were tight for time. The only regret is that we stayed in L'Orient room which was a bit dark as the windows face into the hotel courtyard with little natural light so I would recommend paying more to stay in a room overlooking the beach instead.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bellini1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is a beautifully furnished riad located within the medina walls so don't be fooled by the map location on Trip Advisor which shows it in a completely different place.

We had two nights here and I have to say it was the best part of staying in Essaouira. Built on 3 floors with a wonderful roof terrace atop where they serve the best breakfast, there's a central galleried landing with the bedrooms off. The only problem with that being the noise, which travels straight up, bouncing off all the hard surfaces on its' way. The rooms aren't numbered but have names instead and we were in L'Orizon on the first floor. It had a beautiful copper bath big enough for a family of four to squeeze into and double copper basins. Unfortunately the plug in the bath didn't keep the water in, which we discovered to our cost. There is no door, just curtains separating the bedroom from the bathroom so if you're shy you might have a problem with that.

A previous reviewer has said that they do not do dinner at the Villa, but recently they have started to, although we didn't eat there. The staff are very polite but didn't give us any information when we arrived, just took us to our room, which is fine but it's nice when they explain about the facilities of the hotel. We had to figure it all out for ourselves.

Room Tip: If you want a decent view you must go up on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#22 of 74 in Essaouira
476 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar L'Oussia
Riad Dar L'Oussia
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Maya
Dar Maya
#5 of 74 in Essaouira
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Desdemona
Palazzo Desdemona
#30 of 74 in Essaouira
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Chbanate
Riad Chbanate
#11 of 74 in Essaouira
524 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 74 in Essaouira
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa de l'O? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa de l'O

Property: Villa de l'O
Address: 3 rue Mohamed Ben Messaoud, Essaouira 44100, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa de l'O 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheltered by the Medina walls, Villa de l'O is located at few meters from the beach, the souks, and at the doors of the Essaouira golf court. Eighteenth-century riad, the architectural spirit of Villa de l'O is given by the subtle alchemy between stone, sculpted wood, and the quivering of the beautifully made fabrics. Refined, the modern decoration of the house combines the oriental and colonial spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Agoda and LoveHolidays so you can book your Villa de l'O reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa De l`o Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing