We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hospitality”
Review of Caverne d'Ali Baba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caverne d'Ali Baba
Ranked #39 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Hospitality”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights with my boyfriend, not long after arriving a case of food poisening caught up with me. I believe it was from some street food in Marrakesh the night before. After a few hours of riding the porcelain bus I asked if I could get some peppermint tea to try to sooth my stomach, the manager/owner then offered to make up some special tea which is just for upset tummies which I gladly took. A few hours later they then offered to change our room from a ground fllor room to a 1st floor room which was much larger with no extra charges. The location was fantastic and the price was great. Excellent value for money and great Riad all round. And again, thank you very much to the staff for making my illness as painless as possible!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SashMarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    34
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
38
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tenerife, España
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We spend 2 nights in this riad and its good value for money. first day we have problems with the light of the room, and that gave us a pretty unconfortable feeling cause it was dark and humid. Next day when they fixed it was much better . The room had a window and small table outside of the room wich was good, the roof was nothing special, but i sure some people wil find it nice. The service was very good. Friendly staff and making efforts to make u feel comfortable.
to have hot water you need to leave the water for loooong.. but in the end works. Very nice breakfast ( nothing different to the rest, but good quality) The location is good, actually very good. i will recomend this place.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mafe_llago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed here last minute due to our other accom being double booked… so we didn’t know much about the place beforehand but it turned out to be a good experience.

The best thing about this place was the location – right on the main road in the old medina (no cars), slightly to the south so in the heart of all the areas you want to explore. Essaouira is relatively small so its not too hard to navigate in general but if you are unfamiliar with Morocco I would highly recommend this place as it was SO easy to find day or night. And because it is on the main road it always felt safe too.

The door/desk is manned 24 hours a day which is good because the room doors don't lock properly.
The room we had was on the second floor and was reasonably nice and comfortable although the bathroom was very spartan but considering the price and the regular standard in Morocco it was on par with other places we stayed. The biggest problem was that the toilet was about 10 cm from the wall in front of it... awkward especially if you are a large person... and you almost had to step over the toilet to get to the shower).

The building itself is really beautiful, old and quiet large and has a nice terrace (although not with any special views) - we had breakfast up here in the sun. Alternatively there is a restaurant inside on the ground floor.
The breakfast was the standard Moroccan breaky of pancakes, bread, jams, orange juice, coffee etc which was all good. The restaurant itself was quiet large and I imagine it would be nice when things were busy but we never saw it open for dinner or lunch.

The wifi was not very good - it was generally not available in our 2nd floor room so we had to either sit outside our room or downstairs to access it. But this isn't too different to many other places we stayed at in Morocco.

The young guy in charge of the night shift (i forget your name sorry!) was very helpful, spoke some broken English and helped me with my Arabic. He was genuinely friendly and really made things comfortable. The people on the day shift were fine but didn't really interact too much.

The hotel even had its own shop attached at the front which sold pottery and argan oil etc.
(but before you buy pottery in Morocco - have a read of some of my advice in another section).

I would recommend this hotel to people who don't need a lot of a luxury and are looking for good value for money and an excellent location.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JM107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012 via mobile

Very relaxed little place with a clean room and excellent, really friendly and helpful service.  Room was a little basic and perhaps not of the highest build quality but had a good comfortable bed and is ideally located in the medina. Overall superb value for money in a lovely little town.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KolonelKustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson Heights, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in October and it was a beautiful hotel. Very well situated (we wandered a bit, as we missed the sign a few times, so look carefully for it!) in the center of the medina. The room were beautifully decorated with stained glass windows, a decorative fireplace, vaulted wood-beamed ceilings, and carved cedar doors. The breakfast (and dinner, not included) were very tasty and the manager was very friendly and helpful. Our only complaint is that our particular room opened onto an alley, which was pretty noisy (and let in a fishy smelling breeze), but since it was warm while we were there, the room would get stuffy if we didn't open the window. A fan would have solved it, but I think usually the city is much windier and cooler, so this might just be a seasonal thing. Overall a great place to stay! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Maybe asked for a room that doesn't open onto the alley
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisandevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed at Caverne d'Ali Baba for 6 nights. I accidently booked a twin room, which the Hotel Manager changed into a double room (actually a room for 3 people!) without hesitation and at the same price. Great Service though. Also the breakfast was excellent and served in the Salon. The Riad is located in the middle of the Medina at the main street. It is a bit hidden and therefore also quiet and calm, an Oasis in the daily busy life of Essaouira. The building is very old and has a special atmosphere. We would definitely recommend this Riad, because you get good value for the money and a very attentive staff.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a window that goes outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soffiia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
on the road
Level Contributor
338 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Ali Baba is an old Riad, or walled private house, converted to a hotel. Located in the heart of the Medina, or old walled city, it is set back from the street and closely walled in, so street noise is not a problem.
Staff are very accommodating to traveller requests.
French language is fluently spoken, English less so but communication was not difficult.
Breakfast 8AM to 10:30 consists of crepe or omelette, fruit, juice, bread, jam and honey, tea or coffee.
If you get up early and want coffee, no problem. If you really want yogurt and a banana, no problem - they will go and get it for you.
Strong wi-fi signal in inner courtyard, can pick it up in sitting area outside some of the rooms. Not available in room.
Not airconditioned, but thick walls keep it cool in summer.

Room Tip: every room is different. If possible, ask to see what is available and choose the one you like - the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#41 of 74 in Essaouira
94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Sidi Magdoul
Riad Sidi Magdoul
#35 of 74 in Essaouira
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Le Grand Large
Riad Le Grand Large
#43 of 74 in Essaouira
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#32 of 74 in Essaouira
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#36 of 74 in Essaouira
262 reviews
1.1 mi away
Al Jasira Hotel
Al Jasira Hotel
#42 of 74 in Essaouira
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caverne d'Ali Baba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caverne d'Ali Baba

Property: Caverne d'Ali Baba
Address: 39 Avenue de l'Istiqlal, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caverne d'Ali Baba 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Caverne d'Ali Baba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing