We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect.”
Review of Al Fath Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Essaouira
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Al Fath Hotel
Ranked #57 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We found this hotel just suited us perfectly. The decor was genuinely Moroccan, the room we had looked out over rocks to the sea, the roof terrace was relaxing and had great views around town. Saed and the other staff were delightful and helpful without being intrusive. The breakfast was delicious and served on the roof terrace. We would certainly go again.

Room Tip: rooms 7 and 8 overlook the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susieswanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

ttracted by the roof to restaurant and the view was great. Unfortunately the service was VERY slow. Even drinks took about 20 mins to appear. The groups views on the good, when it eventually arrived, were generally negative although I have to say my tagine was very tasty. Some people didn't even e arrived at Essaouira in the morning so we had time to have a look at a couple of hotels. The hotel prices the rooms according to the level, s

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xi d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This is a perfect solo travelers hotel. The harbor and great food joints is right outside the door. I was at hotel dar al bahar for a couple days. I realized I was always here at the harbor and eating at the open air fish markets...so I moved hotels. The terrace is perfect to sit by the sea. Essaouira is cool in the summer when Marrakech is hot. Go there! I wish I had stayed and not gone to Nice, France and spent 3x the money to stay in a big city. The gang was going down the Canal du Midi, so I cut this visit short. Wrong. Morocco is wonderful and interesting, and cheap!! OK, the restaurant is crap, but a great one is right next door!

Room Tip: Remember, I was solo, and maybe your babe wouldn't be happy here. I loved my view of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We were attracted by the roof to restaurant and the view was great. Unfortunately the service was VERY slow. Even drinks took about 20 mins to appear. The groups views on the good, when it eventually arrived, were generally negative although I have to say my tagine was very tasty. Some people didn't even get what they ordered after the wait ...

We trekked downstairs to pay the bill (which also took ages) and from this experience it seemed that the whole place is not very organised.

Room Tip: I understand you can take your own alcoholic drinks. I wish we had, time might have gone a little fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montyf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We arrived at Essaouira in the morning so we had time to have a look at a couple of hotels.
The hotel prices the rooms according to the level, so the cheapest rooms (which we went for) are on the first floor - we had a window that looked out past the crenellations to the sea which was lovely.
The roof terrace has fantastic views and a breakfast of juice, coffee, bread and jams was served up there which was plenty to get us started in the mornings.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
The room was nice with a stained glass window and a comfy bed. The bathroom was a wet room which was fine for us although they aren't everyone's cup of tea!

Room Tip: The higher, more expensive rooms have a slightly better view but everyone has access to the roof ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadySki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

My friend and I travelled by car from Marrakech to Essaouira for a day trip and ended up staying 2 nights we fell so much in love with the place. We had to rush out to buy toothbrush, clothes etc as we had taken nothing with us! We looked for a small hotel or Riad and the first place we tried was the Al Fath Hotel which we knew was just right for us. Do not expect luxury - this is a place for travellers who enjoy an ethnic experience and is more like a Pension actually as the rooms are quite basic. The showers work and the water is hot. - but the place has a lovely atmosphere, has Moroccan decor and the staff are friendly and very helpful. We felt at home right away. The room was small but the beds were comfortable and the view from our bedroom was magnificent. We fell asleep to the sound of the waves - I am still dreaming about returning very soon!
We had breakfast on the terrace which was absolutely wonderful. Very simple - lovely crispy french bread, fresh orange juice and lovely coffee - what more could you ask for? If you wish eggs or something extra - you order and pay for that. Views of the fishing port, the little restaurant, the beach and on the other side the main square. Seagulls and sparrows wait to be fed! This is at the beginning of the Medina and has a very special atmosphere with little shops, carpet shops, workshops, cafes and restaurants round about.
We had dinner in the restaurant at night which was amazing - the food was SO good and very cheap - excellent value for money. We were going to order 2 plates of mixed fish but the waiter told us one would be enough - and it certainly was - a crisp, fresh interesting salad to start and a wonderful selection of fresh fish and prawns - so delicious and well cooked - probably the best meal of our holiday and in Marrakech we had eaten in some high class restaurants. It is not licensed but you can buy wine outside and take it in and they will give you glasses.
The receptionist was very helpful and kind. We met two ladies who ran a shop where we bought some clothes and one of them took us to the local Hammam (not the tourist one) - which we would never have found on our own. It was hundreds of years old and the ladies there were so kind. We had a great scrub down and massage - far better than the so-called spas you find in some hotels. It was so nice to have a genuine Moroccan experience and atmosphere. There is a good small cafe restaurant in the town where you can hear live music - it is nearby on the main street on the right - Cafe des Arts - well worth a visit - they also serve good food and great music by local people. We found Essaouira friendly and easy to get around compared with Marrakech. There is a car park near the harbour which is quite near to the hotel. Don't forget to visit one of the women's co-operatives nearby to buy your Argan oil or cream and other products - it will help the women who work there. There is one on the road to Agadir - about 10 mins from Essaouira and a little farther on there is a road leading down to the coast (where the wind turbines are) - which has a beautiful big beach, camel rides and a hotspot for windsurfers.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scotkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

We have stayed here a couple of times now, during the Gnaoua festival.
We love it, a small and very friendly hotel. The roof terrace is great for breakfast, they do superb main meals and the big bonus is the view of the stage in the square for the festival. I'd recommend it to anyone, but pleas remember where you are. If you want luxury it's probably not for you, but if you want a friendly family run hotel then you wont beat Hotel Al Fath

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andi065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
3.1 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
5.6 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
675 reviews
8 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#10 of 75 in Essaouira
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
0.2 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#41 of 75 in Essaouira
101 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 75 in Essaouira
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Fath Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Fath Hotel

Address: 6 Et 8 Rue Skala | essaouira medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing