We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #51 of 181 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2010

If you are ready to stay someplace outside a walled city for a change this is a great place to do it. The hotel is right across the street from the beach and the balcony off of our room was a great place to watch people walk on the boardwalk and beach and watch the sun set. Still close enough to walk to the walled city to the north or down to watch the camel and/or horse races on the beach to the south. The room was clean, comfortable and staff were very nice. The private beach area was an added plus as was the free wi-fi.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2010

Best location next to the Sofitel and easy walk to Medina but accross the street from the beach. Relaxed, clean and new building. Fast wi fi internet in lobby that reached to my room, beautiful views and helpful staff. Moved here after a couple of nights at an acclaimed traditional riad in the Medina and felt renewed combining a beach vacation with traditional Morocco a five minute walk away.

The only thing I can think that could improve is breakfast. The breakfast "buffet" which consisted basically of bread and runny jams, mediocre coffee, and poor quality sweetly artificial "orange juice." Overall this was a minor thing and I would warmly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StockholmFab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

Very nice hotel on the seaside, you only have to cross the (not very busy) street to get to the beach (private beach space available for customers).
The medina and the harbour (the two main attractions in town besides the beach) are just a short walk away.
Rooms are average size, bathroom has adequate plumbing (unusual in Morocco!), either shower or bath.
The buffet breakfast is rich and served in the very elegant restaurant on the ground floor. There is a swimming pool, more attractive to the eyes than fit for swimming.
Free wifi only in the lobby.
Helpful reception.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theseamaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

We took the ocean view room and were delighted to look at the view while eating our breakfast on our balcony. Worth the extra money. The hotel was clean, the pool was refreshing and the staff helpful. A five min walk to the markets, the pier and the shopping.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank euroadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

The hotel was damp, there was damp on the walls and our sheets weren't dry, the swimming pool was rancid, I wouldn't have allowed my dog in there! The bathrooms were dirty, when we had breakfast the cups and cutlery were dirty, we had one meal here and checked out after the first night. On a positive the hotel receptionist was helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowboardingcatcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Soufiane (owner of Souiri and Cap Sim hotels in the Medina) did it again, this time it's a charming 42 rooms on 3 levels hotel, laying 5 minutes away from the Medina. It's located on Mohamed V avenue, next to the Sofitel. This 3 stars hotel opened a couple of weeks ago, so everything is brand new. The reception area is nicely decorated and gives access to the in-door swimming pool. We spent two nights in a double room with sea view (awesome view btw). The room size is adequate for two people, the sheets were clean and the bed was comfy, it features a 21" TV, a large closet, two indoor seats with a small table and two other seats and a table on the terrasse. The bathroom features a simple shower cabin with strong water pressure (we were on the third floor). There is no AC in the rooms but you won't need it anyway, Essaouira is known for having the same weather the whole year. Breakfast is included and features freshly squeezed orange juice, tea, coffee, milk, french petit-pain au chocolat and moroccan pastries.

The only downside we found is the small elevator that can't hold more than 2 people at the same time.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and go back there again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivaaa_las_vegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Une chambre avec balcon vue sur la mer !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peterman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
0.5 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#28 of 75 in Essaouira
1,153 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 75 in Essaouira
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Hotel Emeraude
Riad Hotel Emeraude
#33 of 75 in Essaouira
145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#10 of 75 in Essaouira
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Address: 20 Bd Med 5, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range: £46 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miramar 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing