We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Riad Chbanate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Chbanate
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 10 April 2011

An oasis in the medina. We stayed for 3 nights and were delighted every moment. Everything was marvellous, the food, the common areas, our room, the bathtub, the conversations, the coffee, the rooftop terrace, Jean and Thais (and Oliver!) - Thank-you! for a wonderful wonderful stay. We could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSL260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    45
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
45
343
21
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Everything was wonderful - the rooms are decorated with amazing style and taste and the service of the friendly staff is delightful. A perfect haven in a great location.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateVC84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Stayed with Jean and Thais for four days and it rained heavily for two of them. They are such lovely hosts. The fires were lit, everyone was made to feel very comfortable, there was mint tea and food whenever you wanted it, and the dinner served by their staff was delicious. Some of us spent most of an afternoon reading in front of the fire in the main area downstairs; a delightful refuge from the rain.
The riad is such a lovely, chilled out place .... even when its raining. The room and bathroom were lovely - the photos on the website don't really do it justice, as we said to Thais. This riad thoroughly deserves its place at the top of the rankings in Eassaouira.
Ate at Sirocco, which was a very pleasant experience, food was lovely, good wine list etc, and live music. Stopped for drinks at the three cafes along the beach; very relaxed, lovely views. Also ate at Chez Sam, which was an experience in itself. Apart from the fish, which was lovely, it was a bit like falling into an epsiode of a themed 1980's television programme, Gloria Gaynor's "I Will Survive" blasting out from the sound system, rice salad straight out of early Delia cookbooks, photos of Hollywood movie stars mingling with those of the Moroccan King and members of the owners family. Lots of fun.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneandSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
139 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

We stayed for 3 nights with Thais and Jean, the Catalan-French owners and were completely bowled over by the experience....we really did not want to leave. From our spacious room with lots of small luxurious touches as well as wi-fi and satellite tv (Sky News, BBC World and CNN among many others) to the lovely downstairs dining room and the sunny roof terrace, everything was picture perfect. Entering from the hustle and bustle of the medina we found an oasis of calm and were always greeted with tea and pastries. The two young owners really made the difference though with their charm and assistance, and the staff too were faultless. On the last evening we ate diner in and it was one of the best meals we have ever eaten! Go, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanSchofield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longford, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Upon arrival we were greeted warmly by Jean and his wife and baby. We were offered a seat, a drink and some delicious pastries while Jean explained the map and gave us our bearings. He gave us lots of good advice and we had a great chat. We were so impressed with his friendly, honest and good humoured approach.
The building itself is stunning and all hand built and decorated by Jean. Our room (the Mauresk) was simply astounding - absolutely HUGE and SPOTLESS! Beautifully decorated, with a super comfortable bed, TV, big duvet, towel robes, and fresh flower petals strewn everywhere. Also i noticed there were wall sockets everywhere - very unusual and so convenient for phone / camera / laptop charging etc.
Some steps down lead to a beautiful vanity area and bathroom.
The bath is the piece de resistance! More than big enough for two, with an array of bath salts and oils (refilled each morning) an oil burner, and loads of candles everywhere. What a treat! There is also a fire in the room which we could have asked them to light if we wished.
Breakfast was served for us (whatever time we wished) out on the terrace just off our room. And what a breakfast! (see picture) Simply the BEST we have ever had.
I could go on and on. We really didnt want to leave the accomodation and had to force ourselves to go out and explore Essaouira!
ALso during our stay we ate in a wonderful little restaurant called 'La Decouverte'. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evemonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Very helpful and friendly manager, as well as the staff, excellent service, they really go the extra mile. Nice ambient, chill-out music, good taste and quality

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mynameonthescreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We stayed 1 night at Berber room, and it was absolutely amazing. The room was spacious and individually designed, candles and rose petals were around, the bathroom was whole made from marble, but the main thing I was impressed - a fireplace which was carefully lighted by hotel staff, so we had a wonderful time and felt a very special atmosphere looking and listening the open fire, after taking the bath.
The hotel staff was friendly and ready to help, with very individual approach to customers, and the breakfast also was amazing with pancakes, fruit salad and fresh juice.
If I'm back some time in Essaouira, I would definitely stay again in the Riad!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlgaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 74 in Essaouira
503 reviews
5.5 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 74 in Essaouira
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
788 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#10 of 74 in Essaouira
683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#9 of 74 in Essaouira
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Chbanate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chbanate

Property: Riad Chbanate
Address: 179 Rue Chbanate, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#3 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#6 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Chbanate 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional, 18th century Moroccan residence was once home to the Caid d'Essaouira and his family.Located in the Medina of Essaouira the riad is ideally situated near Bab Marrakech and only a 5 minutes walk from the beach.Through a complete renovation, this authentic riad has been transformed into a residence of modern comfort and elegant surroundings. A jewel of the Essaouira Medina, Riad Chbanate welcomes you with a delicate ambiance created by the timeless magic and perfumes of the Orient. Riad Chbanate has been renovated with care and elegance to offer you an authentic, tasteful, and very comfortable environment. The services provided by Riad Chbanate are worthy of the much larger luxury hotels of Morocco. Step through the door of Riad Chbanate and discover its unique magic. Warm and friendly, with the comfort of luxury hotel services, it is only natural that guests feel at home in Riad Chbanate. Faithful to traditional design, and to ensure exceptional comfort, Riad Chbanate is a perfect blend of Moroccan craftsmanship and modern convenience. In the Moroccan tradition of generous and flavorful meals, Riad Chbanate invites you to discover the specialties of the region with each gourmet dining experience. With attentive service and a personalized concierge, the staff of Riad Chbanate is at your disposal, at all times, for your utmost comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Chbanate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chbanate Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing