We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Riad Chbanate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Chbanate
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Northants, England
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Absolutely loved our stay here, everything was perfect from the fantastic room to the super friendly owners and staff, we really couldn't have asked for more. Anything we asked for was organised swiftly and with the minimum of fuss from the transfers to and from from Marrakech to the horseriding on the beach. Restaurant recommendations were spot on, breakfast was sumptuous and the room was very very comfortable (we loved the bath!).

The owners and staff clearly take great pride in the accommodation and this shows in all the attention to detail and cleanliness throughout the property; there are bowls of roses everywhere, and even a cute turtle in the fountain on the patio.

Essaouira is a great place to kick back and relax in with some wonderful restaurants and lots of outdoor pursuits right on the doorstep, wouldn't hesitate to recommend and would return tomorrow if I could!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kittybat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    45
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
46
343
21
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Riad Chbanate. This was by far the most beautiful (architecturally speaking) Riad that we have stayed in during our three week trip. The people (Simone, Naoual, Greg) were wonderful and the breakfast and dinner were very good. It is convenient in that it is inside the Medina and makes it very easy to visit the souks, etc. and then return to this wonderful Riad. The only Riad that would match this would be the Riad we stayed in Fes which was Riad Le Calife.
Definitely deserves its #1 ranking in Essaouira.

Room Tip: All of the rooms in this Riad were beautiful so you don't have to pay top-notch to have a beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reluctant33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Chose this place as it got such good reviews on trip advisor - it did not disappoint. Easy to find and close to the drop off point of the taxi's/coach. Lovely warm friendly welcome with mint tea and pastries. Given a tour of the Riad, and of the local area, best restaurants to eat etc... Beautiful Riad, the perfect antidote to the madness of marrakech and roughing it in the mountains as we had before arriving here. The Riad is immaculate, beautiful courtyard complete with a turtle living in the fountain! Our room was amazing with the biggest bath i've ever seen (the main reason I chose the room) which had been decorated with rose petals when we arrived and there were vases or roses around the room. Exceptionally comfortable bed (and I'm quite fussy when it comes to beds!!) and the room was cleaned and linen changed daily. The staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful. We also ate at the Riad one night which was great. This is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed and would definitely choose it again if we were to return to Morrocco. Really couldn't fault it at all. Thank you for a wonderful stay, I only wish we had spent longer than 3 nights here! Would say it's probably more suited to singles/couples rather than families.

Room Tip: Oriental suite - great bath!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr07Nat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Riad Chbanate is wonderful and serene place to stay in Essaouira. It's the kind of place when you walk in the door you know that you are going to feel relaxed and taken care of. You also have that warm feeling that you made the right choice to stay! Highlights for us were the rooftop jacuzzi, what can only be described as 'towel oragami' and the fires laid in the evening in the lounge. The staff are helpful and welcoming and the breakfasts are cooked fresh with very good fresh squeezed orange juice.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We arrived by private transfer from Agadir and our driver telephoned ahead to Jean, who was waiting for us on the main street. Brilliant, as we probably would have had difficulty finding it. A most warm and welcoming drink on arrival, much needed, after the long hot drive from Agadir.
Jean and his wife are a very loving , caring couple and nothing was to much trouble for them, they both speak fluent English, which was a major Plus, as I only speak a little French. When we were taken up to the room, after having rested, it far exceeded my expectations, Beautiful, spotless, very romantic.
The breakfast was fantastic, the best I've had in Morocco. The Riad itself is lovely, it has been restored with great attention to detail. They provided lots of advise on places to see and things to do.

Room Tip: I booked the elegance room . Beautiful room, with a massive round sunken bath, candles around it and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gr20goody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rouen, France
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We spent two nights in the riad, and had a lovely time. The hotel is close to everything, 10mins to beach, 5mins to souks, 10mins to port. It was a lovely retreat after each day in the busy souks. The staff were all very pleasant, Gragui was especially helpful, with tips and advise. Breakfast was lovely and of a wide variety. The decor of the riad was just so luxurious and tranquil. And showed the achievement of such high standards from the owner Jean. The only issue we had was a faulty bath tub plug, and were moved to another room. Although the second room was just as nice, it didn't have the same feeling as our first room (hayate). Having said that, the staff made sure we had the facilities for the second night of our stay and of course started the repair on the plug/water stopper. The beds in both rooms were of such high quality as was the bed linen. We did find our first room to be a bit noisey late during the night (from street noise), but i always have my earplugs handy! I really liked the little extras such as musical instruments in the lounge for guests, and the sound of the relaxing water fountain. They've also installed a new spa/jacuzzi for guests to use. We also got a 10% discount voucher from tripadvisor, so i would suggest you look out for these. All in all, i would highly recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: good offers on tripadvisor (vouchers)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I think Riad Chbanate would be a perfect romantic retreat for a couple. For part of our family holiday - two sixteen year old boys, one five and one four year old girl my wife and I - this stylish Road was also perfect. I hope the excitement of the girls didn't shatter the romance for the other guests!

The rooms have been designed an furnished with care and for Morocco, real attention to detail. This is not meant in a negative way. Our parents have built an amazing house in Marrakech and the finish there does't match Chbanate. This suggests Jean was fully on top of the build.

The result of the labours is suites of rooms with individual style and grace all furnished and fitted out beautifully. We had three of the suites and my wife and I would have been happy to have stayed in any one of them. Whilst rambling the beds an bed linen were some of the best I have encountered in many years of travelling both on holiday and business.

The staff are, as the other reports state, very helpful and friendly. They also without pressing provided the key information we needed - restaurants and dome tips on shopping.

I rate the restaurant based on delicious canapés with drinks. There is no formal dining room but you can organise lunch and dinner with whatever you may wish to eat. From the canapés I am sure the food will be delicious. Breakfast beckons and from other reports I expect high things.

In all a real find. I strongly recommend Riad Chbanate to anyone staying in this relaxed but fascinating escape from the brashness of Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shoots30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 74 in Essaouira
512 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 74 in Essaouira
669 reviews
5.5 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#9 of 74 in Essaouira
687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
1.0 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Chbanate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chbanate

Property: Riad Chbanate
Address: 179 Rue Chbanate, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#3 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#6 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Chbanate 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional, 18th century Moroccan residence was once home to the Caid d'Essaouira and his family.Located in the Medina of Essaouira the riad is ideally situated near Bab Marrakech and only a 5 minutes walk from the beach.Through a complete renovation, this authentic riad has been transformed into a residence of modern comfort and elegant surroundings. A jewel of the Essaouira Medina, Riad Chbanate welcomes you with a delicate ambiance created by the timeless magic and perfumes of the Orient. Riad Chbanate has been renovated with care and elegance to offer you an authentic, tasteful, and very comfortable environment. The services provided by Riad Chbanate are worthy of the much larger luxury hotels of Morocco. Step through the door of Riad Chbanate and discover its unique magic. Warm and friendly, with the comfort of luxury hotel services, it is only natural that guests feel at home in Riad Chbanate. Faithful to traditional design, and to ensure exceptional comfort, Riad Chbanate is a perfect blend of Moroccan craftsmanship and modern convenience. In the Moroccan tradition of generous and flavorful meals, Riad Chbanate invites you to discover the specialties of the region with each gourmet dining experience. With attentive service and a personalized concierge, the staff of Riad Chbanate is at your disposal, at all times, for your utmost comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Chbanate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chbanate Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing