We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Riad Chbanate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Chbanate
Ranked #17 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Two friends and I stayed here last summer and absolutely loved it. Our room and the common areas were beautiful, and the staff was very helpful and attentive. We arrived very late from Casablanca and they had an amazing dinner waiting for us, they helped make arrangements, and suggestions... breakfast (all the food!) was wonderful. I would absolutely recommend both this riad and a trip to Essaouira. After our time there, we were ready to move in.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trixiechanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

Absolutely loved our stay here, everything was perfect from the fantastic room to the super friendly owners and staff, we really couldn't have asked for more. Anything we asked for was organised swiftly and with the minimum of fuss from the transfers to and from from Marrakech to the horseriding on the beach. Restaurant recommendations were spot on, breakfast was sumptuous and the room was very very comfortable (we loved the bath!).

The owners and staff clearly take great pride in the accommodation and this shows in all the attention to detail and cleanliness throughout the property; there are bowls of roses everywhere, and even a cute turtle in the fountain on the patio.

Essaouira is a great place to kick back and relax in with some wonderful restaurants and lots of outdoor pursuits right on the doorstep, wouldn't hesitate to recommend and would return tomorrow if I could!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kittybat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Riad Chbanate. This was by far the most beautiful (architecturally speaking) Riad that we have stayed in during our three week trip. The people (Simone, Naoual, Greg) were wonderful and the breakfast and dinner were very good. It is convenient in that it is inside the Medina and makes it very easy to visit the souks, etc. and then return to this wonderful Riad. The only Riad that would match this would be the Riad we stayed in Fes which was Riad Le Calife.
Definitely deserves its #1 ranking in Essaouira.

Room Tip: All of the rooms in this Riad were beautiful so you don't have to pay top-notch to have a beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reluctant33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Chose this place as it got such good reviews on trip advisor - it did not disappoint. Easy to find and close to the drop off point of the taxi's/coach. Lovely warm friendly welcome with mint tea and pastries. Given a tour of the Riad, and of the local area, best restaurants to eat etc... Beautiful Riad, the perfect antidote to the madness of marrakech and roughing it in the mountains as we had before arriving here. The Riad is immaculate, beautiful courtyard complete with a turtle living in the fountain! Our room was amazing with the biggest bath i've ever seen (the main reason I chose the room) which had been decorated with rose petals when we arrived and there were vases or roses around the room. Exceptionally comfortable bed (and I'm quite fussy when it comes to beds!!) and the room was cleaned and linen changed daily. The staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful. We also ate at the Riad one night which was great. This is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed and would definitely choose it again if we were to return to Morrocco. Really couldn't fault it at all. Thank you for a wonderful stay, I only wish we had spent longer than 3 nights here! Would say it's probably more suited to singles/couples rather than families.

Room Tip: Oriental suite - great bath!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr07Nat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Riad Chbanate is wonderful and serene place to stay in Essaouira. It's the kind of place when you walk in the door you know that you are going to feel relaxed and taken care of. You also have that warm feeling that you made the right choice to stay! Highlights for us were the rooftop jacuzzi, what can only be described as 'towel oragami' and the fires laid in the evening in the lounge. The staff are helpful and welcoming and the breakfasts are cooked fresh with very good fresh squeezed orange juice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We arrived by private transfer from Agadir and our driver telephoned ahead to Jean, who was waiting for us on the main street. Brilliant, as we probably would have had difficulty finding it. A most warm and welcoming drink on arrival, much needed, after the long hot drive from Agadir.
Jean and his wife are a very loving , caring couple and nothing was to much trouble for them, they both speak fluent English, which was a major Plus, as I only speak a little French. When we were taken up to the room, after having rested, it far exceeded my expectations, Beautiful, spotless, very romantic.
The breakfast was fantastic, the best I've had in Morocco. The Riad itself is lovely, it has been restored with great attention to detail. They provided lots of advise on places to see and things to do.

Room Tip: I booked the elegance room . Beautiful room, with a massive round sunken bath, candles around it and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gr20goody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We spent two nights in the riad, and had a lovely time. The hotel is close to everything, 10mins to beach, 5mins to souks, 10mins to port. It was a lovely retreat after each day in the busy souks. The staff were all very pleasant, Gragui was especially helpful, with tips and advise. Breakfast was lovely and of a wide variety. The decor of the riad was just so luxurious and tranquil. And showed the achievement of such high standards from the owner Jean. The only issue we had was a faulty bath tub plug, and were moved to another room. Although the second room was just as nice, it didn't have the same feeling as our first room (hayate). Having said that, the staff made sure we had the facilities for the second night of our stay and of course started the repair on the plug/water stopper. The beds in both rooms were of such high quality as was the bed linen. We did find our first room to be a bit noisey late during the night (from street noise), but i always have my earplugs handy! I really liked the little extras such as musical instruments in the lounge for guests, and the sound of the relaxing water fountain. They've also installed a new spa/jacuzzi for guests to use. We also got a 10% discount voucher from tripadvisor, so i would suggest you look out for these. All in all, i would highly recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: good offers on tripadvisor (vouchers)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.4 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#9 of 75 in Essaouira
731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#2 of 75 in Essaouira
527 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 75 in Essaouira
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 75 in Essaouira
690 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 75 in Essaouira
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Chbanate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chbanate

Address: 179 Rue Chbanate, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#6 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#7 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £93 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Chbanate 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional, 18th century Moroccan residence was once home to the Caid d'Essaouira and his family.Located in the Medina of Essaouira the riad is ideally situated near Bab Marrakech and only a 5 minutes walk from the beach.Through a complete renovation, this authentic riad has been transformed into a residence of modern comfort and elegant surroundings. A jewel of the Essaouira Medina, Riad Chbanate welcomes you with a delicate ambiance created by the timeless magic and perfumes of the Orient. Riad Chbanate has been renovated with care and elegance to offer you an authentic, tasteful, and very comfortable environment. The services provided by Riad Chbanate are worthy of the much larger luxury hotels of Morocco. Step through the door of Riad Chbanate and discover its unique magic. Warm and friendly, with the comfort of luxury hotel services, it is only natural that guests feel at home in Riad Chbanate. Faithful to traditional design, and to ensure exceptional comfort, Riad Chbanate is a perfect blend of Moroccan craftsmanship and modern convenience. In the Moroccan tradition of generous and flavorful meals, Riad Chbanate invites you to discover the specialties of the region with each gourmet dining experience. With attentive service and a personalized concierge, the staff of Riad Chbanate is at your disposal, at all times, for your utmost comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Chbanate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chbanate Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing