We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean rooms”
Review of Riad Chbanate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Chbanate
Ranked #17 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Very clean rooms - nice bathroom in our room - very large - friendly staff - good location for the Medina. Little gem hidden away. Comfortable bed.

Room Tip: The higher you are the quieter it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsHotelInspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

Thanks again to Trip Advisor for helping me find this gem of a hotel/Riad. This is really a very special place to stay. It has been built and decorated to the highest standards by the owner Jean and the service you get from his staff is absolutely first class. Nothing was too much trouble and every effort is made to ensure you get the most out of the Riad and Essaouira. Greggy is by far the most pleasant, friendly and helpful person I have ever met although everyone who works at the Riad is wonderful. Sorry I didn't remember all of your names as I would have loved to praise you all individually... We stayed here for 5 days of our honeymoon and enjoyed every second. Our room was quiet, very stylish with a HUGE bath. The bed was so comfortable, dragging yourself out of it every morning was a real chore. Good job then that Greggy's response to my question of "What time is breakfast served?" was " whenever you want it" :-) Breakfast was freshly made and so much food you don't get hungry again until the evening. Greggy ensured that every evening the log fire was lit so you can choose whether to sit and relax in the Riad for the evening or head out and enjoy the town knowing that when you return there'll be a lovely fire to sit and relax infront of. I have no idea why a previous guest mentioned in his review that the music being played was such a problem as we found the staff were more than happy to turn the volume down if you asked or even up as we did a few times....Lying in the jacuzzi situated on the roof terrace whilst enjoying a cold beer and listening to music down below was a real treat. To top it all off they have a little turtle called Chbanate living in the fountain on the ground floor who climbs out every morning to sunbathe on his little terrace.....

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Riad Chbanate was like a cherry on the cake for our travells through Marocco. Our suite with a fire place, a huge bathtub and comfortable bed was just perfect. When we arrived in our room a fire place was lit and all the candels in the room - small detail that made such a difference.
I loved the amount of roses that were in the room- boquets, pettals, single roses tucked in on the bathrobe - amazing.
Great pleace with huge cortyard, terrace with a view and a jacuzzi, easy to find and safe to stay.
Staff was very helpfull and corteous, always there for you if you need anything.
It was a fabouls 3 nights at riad chbanate.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingusia30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

The nature of our visit here was for our honeymoon, in which we stayed in the Oriental Suite.
Before I begin to disclose our experience I have to begin by commending three members of staff. The owner- Jean, Greggy- Riad staff and a guy with glasses that did the security at night (didn't manage to catch his name- sorry!)

On our arrival, unfortunately we had a mix up with our booking, in which we were double booked- due to Hotels.com
However Jean handled everything flawlessly, he had arranged a night at another Riad for us, he gave us a bottle of champagne, bouquet of roses and a note (which we unfortunately couldn't understand as it was in French :(

Greggy- this guy is THE MAN!!! :D
Aforementioned, with the mix up from our booking Greggy walked us to the other Riad which was booked for us (this was at 11pm at night!!). He too gave us a bottle of wine, and walked us to the local pizza joint for some food, as well as stayed to make sure we were safe and confident to get back to our place without him. He even sorted out the dodgy guy that wanted to ask double for his "services" as he directed us to the Chbanate from the Supratours bus stop.Throughout our stay there he was very helpful and usually went beyond what was asked. He makes this place!!

Night security dude- this guy was lovely. We wanted to go out about 10pm at night to grab some food. With his minimal English and my pidgin French we were able to communicate where and where not to go. He even wanted to call Greggy to help translate, we declined the offer, but it was very kind of him nonetheless.
Great dude! ;)


The negative points which we didn't particularly like was outside of the riad was raw fresh daily sewage, which welcomed us whenever we left and returned.
Our room overlooked the main entrance, so whenever our bathroom window was opened we could smell the sewage wafting into our room throughout the day.
Overall this town is pretty safe to walk around at night. However there were young adults and older men that seemed to congregate every blooming day and night outside of the riad, looking very shifty and intimidating.
This cannot be helped as they're locals, however if may be a feature you may want to pay attention to especially if you're a female travelling alone.

The tv was another annoyance. Thank goodness my husband had his iPad. Every single tv programme was in French, very annoying especially in the evenings when you wanted to vegetate in bed.

Within the courtyard, uncalled for, annoying jazz/easy listening music was played throughout the entire day and early evening. If you decide on chilling in the courtyard, for a while this is OK. However it can be heard throughout the riad which is incredibly annoying. Especially if you want to sleep in, in the mornings. Or relax in your room in the eve!!! :/

The room itself was OK. However they were not sound proof. We could usually hear workmen in the mornings, chit chat on the stairs from the housekeeping staff and that jazz again.

Aforementioned I sang the praises of certain members of staff- yet this wasn't the case with every.
Unfortunately I didn't grab this lady's name, but she works as part of the front of house team.
We requested to have our breakfast in our room (which she continually questioned). On a particular day we didn't finish our breakfast in its entirety, she questioned and complained about this and gave us attitude!!!!
After this she was huffy and not a pleasure to be around- a real let down and bad reflection on the front of house team.
The actual location of the riad was another let down. It's quite a windy walk to get to the square or local shops. Fair enough the medina isn't the biggest, but this proved to be a let down on late night trips out.

If you decide on Morocco for your holiday, I would suggest you stay a maximum of 3 days in Essaouira (unlike us in which we stayed a week!!!!). You're able to visit the best places such as Caravan cafe, Elizir, the souks and whatever else the town has to offer.

Depending on what you're looking for in your holiday, this area is lovely to do nothing in.. but if you're looking for a bit more of an active holiday I'd suggest you spend the majority of your time in Marrakesh.
This review may seem harsh, but when compared to the riad we were put up for a night in- Villa De L'O- Chbanate doesn't compare in the slightest!!

Overall for 150 euros per night, I don't think Jean or Greggy out weigh the negative points we experienced.
Defo won't be back!!!

Room Tip: avoid the Oriental suite, for the sewage point I discussed above!! Besides the sewage point, the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elizabeth_Maul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Love the staff and the owner! Greggy, the hotel staff, is vibrant, lively, and goes all out to please his guests. He gives good recommendation for places to eat. A staff to keep. The owner is polite, and very sensitive guy. My partner was eating breakfast, and he moved away to give my partner more privacy. Never seen such humility in a businessman. Was already blown away by beautiful Essaouira, and the great service at Riad Chhanate is a very pleasant icing on the cake. Oh, we were upgraded to a suite, Oriental Room! Great bathtub!

Room Tip: Bathtub in the Oriental room is a good experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chinesegirl186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

There are already an awful lot of very positive detailed reviews (plus photos) of this Riad. Without regurgitating the same information all I can say is that it's all true. The welcome, service, atmosphere, character, friendliness, and quality are all top notch. This is perhaps one of the best places we've ever stayed irrespective of price. Skip it at your peril! ;)

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monkey_Kelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Riad Chbanate was a lot more expensive that the other Riads we looked at in Essaouira but we really liked the look of the rooms and what we read in the reviews.

We were not dissapointed. Our room "Hayate" was wonderfully luxurious and spacious. The public areas, lounge, roof terrace etc are all extremely comfortable, fitted to a high standard with good taste and immaculately clean.

Jean who designed and refurbished this Riad from a ruin should be justifiably proud. He and all his staff are very helpful, relaxed and obviously want to do everything they possibly can to make your stay in Essaouria enjoyable. Even the turtle is friendly and very tame.

We are really pleased we chose Riad Chbanate for our visit to Essaouira

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.4 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#9 of 75 in Essaouira
732 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#2 of 75 in Essaouira
528 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 75 in Essaouira
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 75 in Essaouira
690 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 75 in Essaouira
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Chbanate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chbanate

Address: 179 Rue Chbanate, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#6 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#7 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £93 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Chbanate 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional, 18th century Moroccan residence was once home to the Caid d'Essaouira and his family.Located in the Medina of Essaouira the riad is ideally situated near Bab Marrakech and only a 5 minutes walk from the beach.Through a complete renovation, this authentic riad has been transformed into a residence of modern comfort and elegant surroundings. A jewel of the Essaouira Medina, Riad Chbanate welcomes you with a delicate ambiance created by the timeless magic and perfumes of the Orient. Riad Chbanate has been renovated with care and elegance to offer you an authentic, tasteful, and very comfortable environment. The services provided by Riad Chbanate are worthy of the much larger luxury hotels of Morocco. Step through the door of Riad Chbanate and discover its unique magic. Warm and friendly, with the comfort of luxury hotel services, it is only natural that guests feel at home in Riad Chbanate. Faithful to traditional design, and to ensure exceptional comfort, Riad Chbanate is a perfect blend of Moroccan craftsmanship and modern convenience. In the Moroccan tradition of generous and flavorful meals, Riad Chbanate invites you to discover the specialties of the region with each gourmet dining experience. With attentive service and a personalized concierge, the staff of Riad Chbanate is at your disposal, at all times, for your utmost comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Chbanate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chbanate Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing