We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, Delightful Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Chbanate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Chbanate
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Delightful Oasis”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We recently spent a few days in Essaouira and had the privilege of staying at Riad Chbanate. We arrived in Essaouira after a half-day drive from Casablanca and frankly, were concerned as we walked through the streets of the old city to the riad. The narrow streets are packed with people, dusty and uneven. We rang the bell and were greeted by Greddy, a friendly, professional inn-keeper in an absolutely beautiful, accommodating, comfortable space. We enjoyed a glass of wine as we chatted about the city and the small hotel (eight rooms).
Our suite was spacious and lovely, with an incredible tub large enough for six or so people.
We enjoyed a wonderful dinner on our first night at the riad.
The staff saw to our every need, provided detailed information about the city and made perfect recommendations of restaurants and activities.
At €150 per night, Riad Chbanate is not only beautiful, but a great bargain as well.
We recommend this delightful oasis without reservation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harrison1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    45
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
44
339
21
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed in the Hayate suite which was absolutely gorgeous! The biggest bed ever, a beautiful open fire that they lit for us on 2 evenings, which was lovely to fall asleep with, and then the bathroom...The bath is so big it takes about 20-30 minutes to fill up, and everyday they fill up the bubble bath for you, so you can enjoy the experience all over again! We had a bath every day just for the sheer enjoyment of it! The staff at the riad were all lovely and very helpful when we had questions, and organised an afternoon camel riding for us. The breakfasts were amazing as well. They were all more than happy to help with anything we needed.

Having spent a few days in Marrakech, Essaouira was a good come down. The town is very relaxed in comparison, and smaller so you can't get lost. We went down to the harbour when they were bringing the fish in which was fun, lots of odd looking things coming in! The fish markets are a must, pick your fish and they cook it for you there and then. It was gorgeous! Chalet de la plage is also brilliant for tasty food.

Room Tip: Hayate suite is wonderful!! The photos don't do it justice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meg_sutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Riad Chbanate is hands down one of the best hotels. We stayed in the Oriental suite and couldn't have been happier. Upon arriving from Marrakech, the staff made us feel relaxed while they took care of belongings, made dinner suggestions. The breakfast is the best we had in Morocco. Essaouira, in general misses some details when it tourism, but Chbanate didn't miss a single detail. I would go back to Morocco just for this hotel.

Room Tip: Go only when you can rent the Oriental room. One of the finer bathrooms we've experienced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5AndrewS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This is hands down one of the best places we have ever stayed. The service, staff and attention to every detail was impeccable. Thanks to all of the staff for making our stay so special and all of the sage advice on restaurants, shopping, etc. The Riad is absolutely beautiful and in nice quiet location with a few minutes walking distances to everything. It was so nice to be able to come back in the evening- have a glass of wine, have a few snacks, and sit by the fire. Breakfast was by far, superior to anything we had in Morocco - homemade bread, fresh fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice, local yogurt, omelets, etc. We couldn't have enjoyed our stay more. And definitely go for the Oriental room if you enjoy a decadent bath and fire in your room. Absolutely sensational. I can't imagine there could be a better place to stay in Essaouria. It's worth a little extra splurge because the value for the money is unbeatable.

Room Tip: Go for the Oriental room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee_in_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanbornton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

WOW! WOW! WOW! this fabulous Riad in Essaouira simply delivered on all levels. It's a 5 star hotel experience in a Riad. Greg, Nawal & the other staff couldn't have been more thoughtful, helpful, friendly & results oriented. Our room on the top with views of the ocean was superb. Nothing negative to say. We were only going to stay 2 nights & extended it to six. We'll be back to Essaouira and back to this Riad!

Room Tip: Our room at the top required ascending 4 flights of stairs, didn't bother us though. The WIFI wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This was my favourite Riad on our Morocco trip. This Riad is expensive in comparison to some of the other riads in Essaouira, but it proved to be worth it. We spent 5 days in this Riad, and it was brilliant to have somewhere so lovely, quiet and friendly to come in relax in when we were done with sightseeing/shopping etc. The room was beautiful and large, and the bathtub fabulous! But what really makes this place worth the extra money is the staff who makes the Riad feel homely and friendly. Their English was excellent, we were given a map and an explanation of the area, and there was always someone to greet us or to offer us a drink when we were in the Riad. On a lazy sunny winter morning, I fell asleep on a lounger on the terrace and a member of staff placed a blanket over me whilst I snoozed.

Breakfast was a feast - fruit & yogurt, pancakes, m'smen (flatbread), breads, croissants and condiments. A carb feast indeed, and we had to make sure we had long walks on the beach to compensate for all that food. We had one evening meal at the Riad (lamb & chicken tajine with couscous) it was delicious!

The Medina in Essaouira is small enough that everywhere is within walking distance and with the Riad being at the opposite end of the harbour square I ended up enjoying the daily stroll and seeing the buzz around the main market street. Also with Essaouira being so windy, it's actually better not being right next to the windy seafront.

If your budget allows and you want somewhere relaxing with an excellent bathtub to relax, I can highly recommend Riad Chbanate. Thank you to all the lovely staff who made us feel so welcome, we miss it already!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YoHo_photo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in the recently opened Chbanate suite as part of our honeymoon in Morocco and we had a fabulous time in this beautiful riad. The staff were friendly and very welcoming.

The view from our room was fantastic, you could see across the whole Medina and into the ocean.

The only gripes I had and this is clutching at straws, is that in our room being on the top floor the wifi access was very limited.Also we had to put the rug under the bed as they were very slippery against the wooden flooring. But like I said clutching a straws to find fault.

For anyone looking for things to do we would definitely recommend the quad biking with Essa-Evasion. 2hrs of driving through beautiful golden beaches, rocky terrain and more, this is a must. http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Attraction_Review-g298349-d1946067-Reviews-Essa_Evasion_Private_Tours-Essaouira_Marrakech_Tensift_El_Haouz_Region.html

I would definitely avoid the Luxspa in the Medina which the riad suggests. We went there for a hammam and left disappointed. the whole experience was rushed and unsatisfying. (think staff outside your door laughing and watching tv while you are meant to be relaxing). For 600dh it was not worth it. One of the riad staff said afterwards when should have tried a hammam/massage for the locals which is 10dh a fraction of the price. I would suggest finding out the locality of one of these before attempting any hammam booking.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank punkeddiemurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 74 in Essaouira
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 74 in Essaouira
636 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#9 of 74 in Essaouira
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
757 reviews
5.5 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
588 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#10 of 74 in Essaouira
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Chbanate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chbanate

Property: Riad Chbanate
Address: 179 Rue Chbanate, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#3 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#6 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Chbanate 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional, 18th century Moroccan residence was once home to the Caid d'Essaouira and his family.Located in the Medina of Essaouira the riad is ideally situated near Bab Marrakech and only a 5 minutes walk from the beach.Through a complete renovation, this authentic riad has been transformed into a residence of modern comfort and elegant surroundings. A jewel of the Essaouira Medina, Riad Chbanate welcomes you with a delicate ambiance created by the timeless magic and perfumes of the Orient. Riad Chbanate has been renovated with care and elegance to offer you an authentic, tasteful, and very comfortable environment. The services provided by Riad Chbanate are worthy of the much larger luxury hotels of Morocco. Step through the door of Riad Chbanate and discover its unique magic. Warm and friendly, with the comfort of luxury hotel services, it is only natural that guests feel at home in Riad Chbanate. Faithful to traditional design, and to ensure exceptional comfort, Riad Chbanate is a perfect blend of Moroccan craftsmanship and modern convenience. In the Moroccan tradition of generous and flavorful meals, Riad Chbanate invites you to discover the specialties of the region with each gourmet dining experience. With attentive service and a personalized concierge, the staff of Riad Chbanate is at your disposal, at all times, for your utmost comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Chbanate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chbanate Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing