We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful service - weird bathroom setup”
Review of Riad Chbanate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Chbanate
Ranked #17 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

the staff here are the loveliest nicest people and the riad is gorgeous - and the breakfast is indeed to die for in fact is really too much (our 2nd day they asked what we wanted since we had shamedfacedly left so much behind our 1st time) - the location is great as it is easy to find and a short walk to everything in the medina
our only issue was with the bathroom area in the Zen suite - there was no separation at all between the toilet and bath, and only a short curtain between that area and the bedroom - so if you don't want your travelling companion to hear and see everything you may need to ask them to go upstairs to the terrace for a while!
notwithstanding the strange bathroom everything else was just perfect and greggy, noelle and samira will do everything they can to make you feel truly at home (if you live in a fabulous palatial home filled with roses)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2ruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had 3 nights in the Riad Chbanate and had a really excellent stay. The room (Chbanate room) was fantastic; very nicely decorated, very comfortable with a superb bath to complete the transition from medina bustle to the Riad's secluded peace.
The team were superb and really couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome and comfortable.
The location of the Riad is slightly away from the main tourist area of the Medina but still safe and actually all the better for being a 5 minute walk away from the shops and restaurants.
Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank benconley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have spent a truly wonderful week at Riad Chbanate. The staff have been lovely - nothing has been too much trouble. The room is comfortable and rather glamorous with it's sunken bath. Fresh roses everywhere and mint tea and cakes whenever we came back from the outside world. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PatJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed at Riad Chbanate at the end of March 2014 for two nights after spending five nights in Marrakech. It was an amazing stay and would wholeheartedly recommend a stay here.

The riad itself is beautiful - all light wood and airy. We had booked to stay in the Berber Suite but after our arrival I asked to have a look around the other rooms. The Hayate suite was available and after expressing our delight we were upgraded to this room free of charge!

The Hayate suite was perfect after spending all day walking around. We had a fire lit on both nights and the bath tub is absolute bliss!! (However, it is quite noisy as the bathroom overlooks the main street outside - not a problem as there are very thick curtains). After returning to the riad around 10pm one night we requested tea in the lounge area downstairs and even had the enormous fire lit as well.

Breakfast is lovely, with all sorts of appetising delights. Staff are extremely helpful - happy to give you tea/coffee/recommendations when you want. It is only 5 mins walk from the Supratours bus top, 10 mins walk to the beach and 10 mins walk to the main souk area.

All in all, lovely riad close to all the main attractions. Highly recommended - spend the extra on this riad, it is well worth it!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely. Choose one with a big bathtub like Hayate or Oriental
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fnasrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

From the moment you arrive outside the walled city at the Chbanate gate, it is magical & breathtaking. If you call the riad, they'll fetch a cart to collect you with your baggage and you'll realise that there is nothing that is too much trouble for your hosts. The riad is just inside the gate and so very easy to remember your way back on trips out. The house is much like a small palace, with luscious decor. We stayed in the Chbanate suite at the top - absolutely stunning! You can bathe overlooking the city, with sunlight flooding into the bathroom - a dream! We had a sneak peak at other rooms and they all look gorgeous. The terraces and courtyard are well equipped for relaxing and the courtyard particularly lovely with its fountain and turtle, which our little boy loved feeding! The breakfast is amazing! Just perfect! The staff are all amazing, in particular Noel during the morning and Greggy in the afternoon/evenings - nothing is too much for them and they will give you good advice on where to visit and eat - Greggy marked up a map of all the hotspots in the city. Greggy was amazing with our little boy too. We can't thank Chbanate enough for our wonderful stay. Oh and wow, you won't mind being woken by the early mosque calls - as you stir in your sleep, it really adds a certain magic to your stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Couple meters from the Cbbanate door, this riad and its personnel welcomes you from the moment your cross the entrance. From the mint tea and the cookies they serve at your arrival, to the rose petals in your room and the amazing size of our bathroom, everything was perfect. They provided great information about navigating the streets of the medina and suggestions for dinner. They even gave us a bottle of water for the road and arranged for cut flowers for our friends we were going to visit in Casablanca.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank FamilleRene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

First time I have written a review and the first time I have felt somewhere was worthy of a review. This place is fantastic. Superb location and rooms are immaculate. The service was exemplary. The hosts Samira and Greggy seriously go the extra mile and will happily organise anything you need. Great coffee and juice whenever you want and the breakfast, oh the breakfast. If i'd stay any longer I would have put on a stone. Cannot reccomend highly enough. We stayed in the 130 euro room and it was perfect.

Room Tip: Go with the 130 euro room with the seated swing thing in it. it's perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank robin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.4 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#10 of 75 in Essaouira
729 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#2 of 75 in Essaouira
526 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 75 in Essaouira
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 75 in Essaouira
689 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#9 of 75 in Essaouira
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Chbanate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chbanate

Address: 179 Rue Chbanate, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#6 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#7 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £105 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Chbanate 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional, 18th century Moroccan residence was once home to the Caid d'Essaouira and his family.Located in the Medina of Essaouira the riad is ideally situated near Bab Marrakech and only a 5 minutes walk from the beach.Through a complete renovation, this authentic riad has been transformed into a residence of modern comfort and elegant surroundings. A jewel of the Essaouira Medina, Riad Chbanate welcomes you with a delicate ambiance created by the timeless magic and perfumes of the Orient. Riad Chbanate has been renovated with care and elegance to offer you an authentic, tasteful, and very comfortable environment. The services provided by Riad Chbanate are worthy of the much larger luxury hotels of Morocco. Step through the door of Riad Chbanate and discover its unique magic. Warm and friendly, with the comfort of luxury hotel services, it is only natural that guests feel at home in Riad Chbanate. Faithful to traditional design, and to ensure exceptional comfort, Riad Chbanate is a perfect blend of Moroccan craftsmanship and modern convenience. In the Moroccan tradition of generous and flavorful meals, Riad Chbanate invites you to discover the specialties of the region with each gourmet dining experience. With attentive service and a personalized concierge, the staff of Riad Chbanate is at your disposal, at all times, for your utmost comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Chbanate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chbanate Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing