We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinarily relaxing”
Review of Riad Chbanate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Chbanate
Ranked #12 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Very helpful and friendly manager, as well as the staff, excellent service, they really go the extra mile. Nice ambient, chill-out music, good taste and quality

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mynameonthescreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
There are newer reviews for Riad Chbanate
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2011

We stayed 1 night at Berber room, and it was absolutely amazing. The room was spacious and individually designed, candles and rose petals were around, the bathroom was whole made from marble, but the main thing I was impressed - a fireplace which was carefully lighted by hotel staff, so we had a wonderful time and felt a very special atmosphere looking and listening the open fire, after taking the bath.
The hotel staff was friendly and ready to help, with very individual approach to customers, and the breakfast also was amazing with pancakes, fruit salad and fresh juice.
If I'm back some time in Essaouira, I would definitely stay again in the Riad!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlgaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Booked this riad for 2 nightsin early December having read reviews on Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed. Only 10 mins walk from Supratours bus stop within the medina walls, down one of the many alleyways and only 10 mins from the heart of Essaouria. The riad was simply but tastefully furnished, with a real eye for detail - every table had a vase full of roses - a very romantic setting !

Our room on the first floor came complete with its own hammock, fireplace and sofa. The bath was big enough for two (?!?) and again more roses and candles. The roof terrace had fantastic views across the rooftops to the sea and there were several loungers to sunbathe on. Downstairs in the courtyard there were plenty of tables & chairs to chose from, the cosiest being an alcove (white cushions, red roses on table). Breakfast was served in a lovely dining room overlooking the courtyard - fresh orange juice, selection of fruit and homemade yoghurt, bread & jams all brought to the table. Within the dining room there was a cosy seating area by a huge log fire where we sat drinking mint tea after returning from a meal out..

Thais, the French owner, recommended several restaurants to visit and places to go, such as the fish souk where for lunch you can choose freshly caught fish and have it cooked for you. Found Essaouria a nice relaxing break from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech - the harbour is a hive of activity with all the fishing boats coming and going. Took the Supratours bus each way which was reliable and not expensive (also booked this following recommendations on Trip Advisor.)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hellsbells91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

I recently traveled throughout Morocco and stayed in riads everywhere. This was the most comfortable and modern. Excellent service and modern spacious rooms, which are very pretty. Location is within the old city of Essaouira. I would very highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bagherailcane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

The riad is convenient for the Supratours bus, although a bit further than most from the centre of town and the beach. It's easy to get back to in the evening.

Upon arrival the lady of the very friendly couple that run it went through in good detail where all the good parts of town were. The communal areas are really nicely furnished.

The room was very nice and the long bathroom with the giant bath was excellent. Water pressure was the highest i've ever seen which was good with such a big bath to fill!

The electrics were maybe not the best though with a few loose light points and i electrocuted myself touching one of the nice light covers in the room - don't think that should be live...

Breakfast very nice and in a lovely room. Unfortunately during our stay i think a neighbour was doing hammering work on a near roof or outside from 7am onwards which was a shame.

Booking was a bit confusing with two different web sites on Google but and we were a little concerned about the booking but just to confirm, those linked to from here are fine and sending Paypal to the gmail address is ok.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b92ls6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Riad Chbante is a peaceful oasis in a bustling medina!
The riad itself is beautiful, a delight to the senses, with custom crafted woodwork, each room is detailed to perfection and tastefully decorated. Our room was wonderful with all the amenities, fireplace, a big modern bathroom and comfortable bed w lovely linen & comforter. We enjoyed sitting by the fire, fine dining, and starting our mornings with a delicious breakfast. But that's not all ... the service is exceptional. The owner Jean provides excellent service, helpful but not intrusive. My husband best describes Jean as "maticulous but relaxed". Service excellence, the crème de la crème...Gragi, who took care of anything and everything we needed.
Thank you for making our stay at Riad so delightful.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhifferVictoria_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2010

We had one week, 7 nights in Essaouira, staying in wonderful Riad Chbanate. Warmly received by the friendly and highly professional hosts. The fireplace lightened in the room, candlelights, luxurious bathroom, splendid bed; a beautiful and comfortable room to stay in for a whole week! We had lunch and dinners in several other recommended restaurants, but in the end we preferred the cooking of Fatima! We want to come back, with friends and family, and of course recommend it to everyone interested.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pcmagnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.4 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#10 of 74 in Essaouira
721 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 74 in Essaouira
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 74 in Essaouira
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
7.6 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#13 of 74 in Essaouira
256 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Chbanate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chbanate

Address: 179 Rue Chbanate, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#4 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#6 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £90 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Chbanate 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional, 18th century Moroccan residence was once home to the Caid d'Essaouira and his family.Located in the Medina of Essaouira the riad is ideally situated near Bab Marrakech and only a 5 minutes walk from the beach.Through a complete renovation, this authentic riad has been transformed into a residence of modern comfort and elegant surroundings. A jewel of the Essaouira Medina, Riad Chbanate welcomes you with a delicate ambiance created by the timeless magic and perfumes of the Orient. Riad Chbanate has been renovated with care and elegance to offer you an authentic, tasteful, and very comfortable environment. The services provided by Riad Chbanate are worthy of the much larger luxury hotels of Morocco. Step through the door of Riad Chbanate and discover its unique magic. Warm and friendly, with the comfort of luxury hotel services, it is only natural that guests feel at home in Riad Chbanate. Faithful to traditional design, and to ensure exceptional comfort, Riad Chbanate is a perfect blend of Moroccan craftsmanship and modern convenience. In the Moroccan tradition of generous and flavorful meals, Riad Chbanate invites you to discover the specialties of the region with each gourmet dining experience. With attentive service and a personalized concierge, the staff of Riad Chbanate is at your disposal, at all times, for your utmost comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Chbanate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chbanate Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing