We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stylish, comfortable, relaxed”
other traveller has booked this property
3rd Floor – Roof Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
3rd Floor – Roof Terrace
Ground Floor: Entrance Ground Floor: Entrance Hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
90 reviews
3rd Floor – Roof Terrace
Ground Floor: Entrance
Ground Floor: Entrance Hall
Ground Floor: Entrance Hall
Ground Floor: Library
1st Floor: Central Light Well
1st Floor: Open Plan Kitchen / Dining
1st Floor: Dining Area
1st Floor: Open Plan Kitchen / Dining
1st Floor: Snug with open fires, music, books, board games, phone and free WiFi
1st Floor: Snug with open fires, music, books, board games, phone and free WiFi
1st Floor: Bedroom 1
1st Floor: Bathroom (wet room with shower, loo and sink)
2nd Floor: Bedroom 2 (stairs to bed – perfect for teenagers)
2nd Floor: Bedroom 3
2nd Floor: Main Roof Terrace
2nd Floor: Main Roof Terrace
3rd Floor: Bedroom 4 with private Roof Terrace (with sink)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 90 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Isabella...
1 review
“Stylish, comfortable, relaxed”
Reviewed 26 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We had a very lovely week in Essaouira, in great part due to Emma's suggestions and huge amount of help dealing with best places to go, best ways to get to them and how much to pay- which all could have felt a bit daunting, especially with granny and 3 kids (6,9 and 10) in tow.
Dar Beida was stylish, comfortable and relaxed, close to everything and at the centre of the Medina. We felt right in the heart of it and had a proper holiday away from it all, but with some of the comforts which allow you to relax, sleep well, eat well- and yet still have an adventure.
Huge thanks to Emma, and Amina who came to tidy daily as well as cooked us 3 amazing meals. I wish we were still there!
I would highly recommend Dar Beida.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the suggestions , and the help navigating the town and vendors
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sols
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Truly amazing Dar Beida (& Emma) – A gem of a place in Essaouira”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We are just back (December) from a wonderful stay at Dar Beida. Emma is amazing and she made it so wonderfully easy to arrange the booking and during our stay which was a special family holiday.
Emma arranged our transfers to and from Marrakech and she was at the house to greet us when we arrived. It is in the heart of the Medina but a quiet and peaceful oasis of calm once inside the front door. It truly is an amazing place with so much space (4 floors), gorgeously decorated living rooms and bedrooms and stunning views from the terraces. The kitchen is equipped with everything you need if you want to prepare meals and Emma generously provided supplies (oranges, etc;) to get us started.
When we arrived Emma took us on a walking tour of the Medina and pointed out good and favourite places to eat and shop and a fabulous place for espressos (we need our coffee each morning!) near the port that we frequented every day. The first night she arranged for the housekeeper Amina to make us dinner – an abundant meal of sensational tagines that should not be missed! Also Amina comes in every day to clean and make the beds – she is such a lovely person too and the place “gleamed” each day after her visit.
Dar Beida is a truly special and fabulous place to stay – it was our first trip to Essaouira and certainly won’t be the last. We loved having our “own house” in the Medina - we got to know the local baker and grocer for our daily supplies…and you are a few minutes’ walk from the bustling food market.
We loved being able to prepare breakfast and chill out on the terraces in the afternoon, watch fabulous sunsets and the huge seagulls….and then sit by the gorgeous open fires at night.
Emma has created an amazing house with a genuine welcome – nothing is too much trouble and her love of the place and her generosity shines through.
Highly recommended. We will definitely be back! Thank you again Emma for a wonderful and special stay.
Mary & Greg & family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved everything about Dar Beida...and Emma was amazing and so welcoming
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mws0
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful oasis of calm in the brilliant bustle of the old medina”
Reviewed 22 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Emma and Dar Beida were both wonderful. Emma was the perfect host, she took us on a tour of the local area, introduced us to her favourite jewellers, carpet traders and slipper sellers – she bought us each a pair which we wore around her beautiful house for our week long stay. We took a half day cookery course at L’Atelier Madada run by Alison and Mona and made tagine, over the hour and a half it took to cook we visited Mohamed Seddiki to learn about the spices that went into our dish. As rookie tagine chefs our shared lunch was good but for the pro version go to Cafe Berbere on Rue Tanger, give them your order a couple of hours or so in advance to eat an authentic slow cooked meal. Emma also introduced us to her house cleaner Amina who cooked and delivered us a fantastic feast one night.

We loved Essaouira and Emma’s Dar Beida – perfect for soaking up the sun, the beach, the fish market and the medina. The holiday was all the better for feeling like we’d not had the bland, sanitised edit of the place – Emma’s brilliantly styled house is right in the medina, with all it’s noise and hustle but it offers the perfect retreat should you just want to read and relax. Emma ordered cabs and had our bags wheeled through the medina on arrival and departure, she booked The Beldi Country Club, 15 minutes from Marrakech airport for us to relax ahead of our flight. We could not have asked for more, such thoughtful hosting and such a beautiful place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our perfect host.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly...
Byron Bay, Australia
1 review
“Super stylish”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I absolutely loved staying at Dar Beida with our 3 sons. After travelling for over a month before reaching Essaouira it was a perfect base giving us all a little much needed space to ourselves. The place is an absolute style inspiration with an eclectic mix of local wares and stunning artworks. Emma goes beyond the expectations of a host, being there on arrival and taking us on a walking tour of the Medina, introducing us to her favourite locals. A definite highlight of our travels in Morocco.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wittering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house, the roof terrace, the owner's friendliness and advice, the recommended days out... impossible to choose one! The entire experience as a whole.
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of our stay!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kimguest6...
New York City, New York
1 review
“From start to finish Emma Wilson and her Dar Beida are superstars.”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

A great hostess with a sixth sense to what would make her guests stay complete. Emma gave me the inside scoop on the whole medina. On the first day she walked me around on an introductory tour, helped me get Moroccan phone and offered up all kinds of interesting info on shopping, eating, excursions, prices of taxis, etc. Intelligently designed, Her houses are traditional old properties that have been outfitted superbly and delightfully furnished with clever indigenous details. I felt at home, very comfortable and inspired to make art. The whole experience was beyond all expectations. I loved Essaouira and Dar Beida and will be returning. The photos are a true testament to the property's condition and cleanliness -no surprises this is one amazing house!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: awesome shower room! and all the natural light in the house.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wunderlus...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“we will be back <3”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Dar Beida

I have coveted Dar Beida for well over 4 years. I knew that one day when the chance to go to morocco came along I would go directly to Essaouira and stay in what is quite possibly the loveliest home ever.

All the photographs of this house online don’t do it justice it really is magnificent. The tens of rooms, tunneling up 4 or 5 floors, the edgeless white walls, décor, art and views all make it a place you want to stay in longer than booked. Don’t leave without having tasted Amina’s tagine. Hers are truly the best.

The house is in the older less touristy part of the Medina and so if you stay longer than a couple of days you get to really feel the rhythm of the neighbourhood, get familiar with the baker, grocers, kids playing soccer and so on. Emma is an excellent and generous host, a Londoner in Morocco, ask her anything and she’ll do her best to make it happen.

Hoping we will go back soon.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing