We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to Essaouira!”
Review of Riad Sidi Magdoul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Sidi Magdoul
Ranked #33 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

On arrival we were welcomed with a glass of mint tea and given the opportunity to relax before being shown to our room. The staff were both friendly and helpful, and the service we received was excellent. Breakfast was good and always served with a smile, with additional coffee offered if we wanted it. Our room was beautifully decorated in traditional style and was spacious, comfortable and clean. It was also very quiet, which ensured a good night's sleep! Being in the centre of the Medina meant that amenities were easily accessible with shops, restaurants and art galleries all within walking distance. Regrettably our stay was short, but would definitely return again another time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Yvonne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

Loved our 2 week stay at Riad Sidi Magdoul. Great and very friendly staff always willing to help. Very clean, comfortable and spacious room. Perfect location. An overall perfect experience. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: We had room #2 but in looking inside other rooms I would say you can't go wrong. They all seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank aisycoqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

It's not my first time at Sidi Magdoul, but it was my first time at the terrace room that I loved. The sympathy starts right on the e-mails we ex-changed and then the staff is the most kind and professional, not as a duty but natural in them: each one and as team. This was also what made me come back as they makes you feel home, in the most friendly and clean environment, respecting your privacy, always available, keeping it peacefully warming: and that's contagious to everyone that stays there, no matter how old you are or where you come from. I only have to thank to the whole team for the pleasant stay I had. And hope to have again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We drove to the medina and left our cars in the supervised car park to the right of the entrance, where a man with a barrow took our bags and led us to this gem of a hotel hidden in the middle of the medina. Well worth the few dirhams to find it! After the inevitable and very welcome thé à la menthe marocain on arrival we found ourselves in a typical riad, with rooms on two levels over a central courtyard - a true oasis in the turmoil of the medina. Our rooms on the first floor were large and airy, with plenty of space, clean and comfortable. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, and made our regrettably short stay a very pleasant one. The riad is well placed in the middle of the medina, and only a short walk from the shops, the craft stalls, restaurants and harbour. Although this was our second visit to Essaouira, we didn't really have enough time to explore properly, and hope to return to this riad again one day, if only to sample the excellent breakfasts!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miksheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

When choosing our hotels in Morocco, we needed parking nearby as we'd come in our own car. Although a little way from the Riad, we had no worries about the attended parking by the port, so we could go on to relax in Essaouira. The Riad itself was plain and practical, but excellent value for money. Returning guests were noisy one night, as were the seagulls, but it's no good getting upset about a degree of noise in an inexpensive riad - it's virtually unavoidable (rather like the vagaries of Moroccan plumbing). The staff here were very helpful indeed, and their additional hints and a good map helped to make our stay very enjoyable indeed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

riad sidi magdul is a simple and affordable riad in the middle of essaouira. breakfast is very fulfilling (orange juice, coffee/tea, bread, jam and "moroccan pancakes"). Staff are incredibly helpful and very welcoming. the first night we arrived kamal kindly walked with us to a lovely restaurant nearby and made sure we got familiar with the place.
i agree with those who have previously described this riad as a "non-luxury" hotel. compared to other riads, it is absolutely not the nicest nor the best furnished one...(the shower was also not working well)..but for its value, i believe it is a great deal!! bear in mind that essaouira is so beautiful that you will hardly spend time in the riad...

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Very reasonable rates and fantastic service. Staff at this Riad always helpful and go out of their way to asist in any way possible. Right from the start, once we booked we emailed asking for directions/advice on taxis etc, Response was really quick and in both french and english. Welcoming drinks on arrival was a nice touch (especially after travelling with 2 children in tow, it was pure luxury). Lots of great recommendations (camel rides which they arranged for us, les 3 portes restaurant, plus lots more).
Rooms not bad - sheets and towels were a bit tired looking, but adequate and clean.
Breakfast fantastic - freshly squeezed orange juice, followed by coffee/tea/hot chocolate, freshly made crepes followed by fresh bread, butter and jam.
Wi-fi good. We were on the 1st floor and able to use in our room, but much better downstairs (lots of room downstairs). Hot water ok. a little erratic, but manageable. We survived 4 days with 2 kids, so not a problem.
Roof top terrace nice to hang out and escape the crowds. Tables and chairs to sit at and have a cool refreshment.
Great location in a quiet alley way in the middle of the Medina (very central to everything). Pharmacy and place to get clothes washed around the corner. 5 min walk to the beach.
As other reviews have said, this is not a luxury Riad, but the staff are so fantastic, you are made to feel like you are the only ones there. So happy we decided to stay here and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 (1st floor) which was really quiet and could get wifi reception in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissa990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Le Grand Large
Riad Le Grand Large
#43 of 75 in Essaouira
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#41 of 75 in Essaouira
101 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#17 of 75 in Essaouira
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Hotel Emeraude
Riad Hotel Emeraude
#36 of 75 in Essaouira
144 reviews
0 mi away
Caverne d'Ali Baba
Caverne d'Ali Baba
#39 of 75 in Essaouira
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#35 of 75 in Essaouira
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Sidi Magdoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Sidi Magdoul

Address: 21 Rue Sidi Abdesmih | 44100, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range: £20 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad Sidi Magdoul 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Sidi Magdoul is located just a few steps from the picturesque port (parking with municipal attendant) and the vast beach of Essaouira, in the heart of the artistic and artisan neighbourhoods of the Medina, souks, restaurants, galleries, cafes. The Riad is made of ten rooms all with private bathroom, placed on three floors around a large ‘puits de jour’ – an open space in the center of the Riad from which the light pours in.A bright and sunny terrace offers a view on the roofs of the Medina.Wireless internet connection (WIFI) is freely available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Sidi Magdoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing