We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget riad in Essaouira medina”
Review of Riad Sidi Magdoul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Sidi Magdoul
Ranked #33 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My experience with this riad was pretty good.
As usual they welcomed us with green tea with mint leaves, and then lead us to our big, clean room, taking our heaviest piece of luggage along the steep stairs.
We stayed on the first or second floor, I don'r remember, and unfortunately the free wi-fi network didn't work very much, but actually I don't care much about it.
Breakfast was good and varying.
Most important, the riad is in the center of the medina, between the two most lively avenues, but still silent and peaceful at night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank simonecip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
There are newer reviews for Riad Sidi Magdoul
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

A quiet and spacious hotel nestled between the two large tourist streets in Essaouira, Sidi Magdoul is a secret gem. The rooms are large, comfortable, and clean, with a private bathroom attached. The breakfast is prepared hot for each new arrival, and the orange juice is freshly squeezed. For the price they ask, Sidi Magdoul is excellent - but it's the service that really takes them above and beyond. A friend got quite ill during our stay, but the hotel employees helped us with everything from carrying her down the stairs to offering toilet paper and blankets when the hospital had none. I will undoubtedly return to Sidi Magdoul, and I recommend it to anyone heading to Essaouira!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdx2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stumbled upon Riad Sidi Magdoul by accident and we were very happy about that. For only €7.5 we had a four person room on the roof with a shower and toilet outside (no breakfast). The staff was helpful and we went back to stay there a second time. It's not luxurious but it had everything we needed and it was clean.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mathiasrosseel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The Riad Sidi Magdoul in Essaouira is no luxury hotel, so it depends what you want. If you want a comfortable bed, a decent en-suite, a clean, functional room, free wi-fi, a very nice breakfast, helpful (and really nice) staff, and if value for money is your top priority, then stay here. If you want a hairdryer, heating/a.c., paper hankies, fluffy towels, subtle lighting, little bottles of shampoo, views, then pay more. Our room wasn’t huge, but for two nights it was fine. You have to pay cash, and extra drinks cost extra.

I loved this place. It was really easy to find as well (get a decent map or take a photo of the one at the wall gate.) It was about a 10 minute walk from the Supratours bus station, and was right in the heart of the town. There was a nice rooftop terrace too. The rooms up here looked wonderful.

We wanted to hire bikes, and the guy on the desk was really helpful.

Go to Essaouira – it’s calm, relaxed, beautiful. You won’t be disappointed if you stay here, and in this wonderful Riad.

Room Tip: Rooftop rooms looked great.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravUllah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I will start with pluses - location, peace and quiet at night, cheap, very cheap, quite nice people and nice breakfast.
Now why in our opinion, regarding all pluses, is poor. Well, smell of mould in the bedroom. I wasn't expecting something luxury for that price but smell was terrible. We stayed only 2 nights and our clothes were smelly. Other thing - hot water. I never had a hot shower, had to wash in cold water (couldn't; wash my hair for example even if I wanted). And last thing - we mentioned to one gentleman we are leaving Essaouira early in the morning (breakfast were between 8-11) - before 8am. we asked if it's possible to eat around 7am - only asked. The answer was yes. So, we dressed up next day, went downstairs with our belongings downstairs - no one. No breakfast, no people, no one. There was one guy walking but we didn't know who is he - not familiar. Maybe he was on duty that day, had no idea - not good morning on something, didn't talk to us. We decided to wait a while - then decided to go and find a place with breakfast somewhere in Essaouira...If we would hear - no - in the first place, it;s still better than listening never made promise. We won;t go back there ever and I won't recommend this place to any of my friends. And seriously, we are not fussy (there was no light one evening - ok, relaxed, not very interesting design inside, that;s fine - it's only 10eures per person accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kamilka11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

On arrival we were welcomed with a glass of mint tea and given the opportunity to relax before being shown to our room. The staff were both friendly and helpful, and the service we received was excellent. Breakfast was good and always served with a smile, with additional coffee offered if we wanted it. Our room was beautifully decorated in traditional style and was spacious, comfortable and clean. It was also very quiet, which ensured a good night's sleep! Being in the centre of the Medina meant that amenities were easily accessible with shops, restaurants and art galleries all within walking distance. Regrettably our stay was short, but would definitely return again another time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Yvonne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Loved our 2 week stay at Riad Sidi Magdoul. Great and very friendly staff always willing to help. Very clean, comfortable and spacious room. Perfect location. An overall perfect experience. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: We had room #2 but in looking inside other rooms I would say you can't go wrong. They all seem...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank aisycoqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Le Grand Large
Riad Le Grand Large
#41 of 74 in Essaouira
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#44 of 74 in Essaouira
98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#18 of 74 in Essaouira
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Caverne d'Ali Baba
Caverne d'Ali Baba
#39 of 74 in Essaouira
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sahara
Hotel Sahara
#69 of 74 in Essaouira
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#25 of 74 in Essaouira
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Sidi Magdoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Sidi Magdoul

Address: 21 Rue Sidi Abdesmih | 44100, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range: £20 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad Sidi Magdoul 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Sidi Magdoul is located just a few steps from the picturesque port (parking with municipal attendant) and the vast beach of Essaouira, in the heart of the artistic and artisan neighbourhoods of the Medina, souks, restaurants, galleries, cafes. The Riad is made of ten rooms all with private bathroom, placed on three floors around a large ‘puits de jour’ – an open space in the center of the Riad from which the light pours in.A bright and sunny terrace offers a view on the roofs of the Medina.Wireless internet connection (WIFI) is freely available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Sidi Magdoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing