We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely riad, very comfortable and very convenient”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
Blue Salon
Master Bedroom
Master Bathroom
Bedroom 2
En suite shower room 2
Twin room
Detail
Ground floor Reception
Ground floor Reception
First floor landing
Detail
Blue Salon
Breakfast
Outside the Blue salon
Top Terrace
Top Terrace at dusk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Riad -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ros27111
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely riad, very comfortable and very convenient”
Reviewed 20 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Dar Qawi is traditional and beautiful furnished riad. We were made to feel at home and Zaras cooking both on our first night and for every breakfast was delicious. Communications with both Kia and Sandra were excellent both before during and after our trip and the riad itself is very conveniently placed for exploring the town.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur B
1 review
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 11 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Perfect location, pretty central amongst winding alleys. Health spa across the way, provisions store literally next door, roof terrace, easy walk into town, harbour and the beach - perfect! And the lovely Zara who brings breakfast, cleans and will cook an evening meal if required.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B
Havant, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great traditional Riad in the heart of Essaouira”
Reviewed 25 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We ended up in Dar Qawi completely by accident as we had been double booked elsewhere for our stay in Essaouira. The person that we had been double booked with found Dar Qawi for us to stay in instead.
Serendipity!
The riad would have been a little difficult to find had we not been "hijacked" by a porter in the car park who insisted on taking our bags in a hand cart to the riad and for pennies really. We had been given a contact number but our phones refused to let us phone Morocco from Morocco for some reason. The porter, however, found the Riad, told us it was very good and then even lent us his phone to contact the owners representative, who turned up within a couple of minutes!
The riad is very clean, comfortable, pretty well equiped for short and long stays, and cleaned daily by the lovely Zara, who also provided an ample and tasty breakfast each day.
There are a couple of outside eating/lounging areas and plenty of seating and sun loungers for catching some sun.
Essaouira Medina is very easily navigate once you have walked around it for a couple of hours and the Souks are much easier to look around than those in Marrakech, our next stop.
Essaouira has a reputation as "the windy city" but this was not the case whilst we were there fortunately. It is a proper working town with a large fishing fleet and a busy fish market. There is plenty of choice for food by way of many restaurants, cafes, fish shacks and hole in the wall takeaways.
If you need/want alcohol, it can be purchased from the large Carrefour supermarket just as you come into town on the Marrakech Road. You cannot buy alcohol in the Aswak Essalam supermarket which is slightly closer in to the Medina.
We had hired a car and went out to the beach at Sidi Kaouki each day. We almost had the 2 mile long beach to ourselves so this is highly recommended too. Siudi Kaouki is better for surfing and paddleboarding than Essaouira beach, with at least 3 places to hire kit and take lessons if necessary.
Would we come back to Essaouira and the Riad Dar Qawi again?
Undoubtedly!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
consult20...
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Great Riad in the heart of the old town”
Reviewed 15 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Perfect location in the heart of the car-free medina close to restaurants, shops and stunning harbour. Beautifilly decorated and furnished in the local style and only a few minutes walk to the beach and surfers paradise. We'll be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stef K
1 review
“Nice, but expected more, not very healthy environment for young kids.”
Reviewed 4 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The riad was nice, but unfortunately not good timing for us, especially when you have 6 month old baby and 4 year child. There were construction just in front of the riad, very noisy, so we couldn't enjoy the terrace. Then it was very humid inside the house, I think because it rained a little bit. Then there were cockroaches and we were again unlucky because the flies were reproducting themselves and you could see their larves everywhere... All that combined, I thought I would leave after the first night of stay!
Positive thing were delicious dinners prepared by Zahra.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2016
I was so sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay at our riad. Having investigated and looked into the points you made I have found out that unbeknown to me, the riad opposite ours is indeed being refurbished. As it is located in the old medina, the narrow alleyways of which are entirely pedestrianised , all work there is undertaken by small hand tools rather than by vehicles or heavy machinery. Nonetheless, I have been told that there is indeed some hammering noise during the day. I appreciate that this may have caused irritation and I am very sorry that I was not aware of it, so as to let you know and give you the option to cancel beforehand. I have been reassured that any cockroaches you may have seen would have been outside in the street but not in the house itself. We are absolutely maniacal about vermin control and our house is very clean, so luckily we never have cockroaches in the house. I also understand that the fly larvae you mention here, were in fact butterfly larvae in the plants on the roof terrace, as commented on by your wife, I believe. I am told by our house manager and by our house keeper that, while you were staying at the house, you did not mention that you were unhappy. Had we known that you felt so uncomfortable, we would have gladly relocated you to another riad. Any constructive criticism is always gladly taken on board. As we are not ourselves in Essaouira, it helps us to iron out any problems and give our guests an exceptional holiday experience. As you can see from the majority of previous reviews, we are normally reasonably successful.You do not mention in your review that during your stay you had a couple of bedding 'accidents' which our housekeeper cleared up for you. I hope it wasn't embarrassment that resulted in your feeling so uncomfortable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siskin10
Glyn ceiriog
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 30 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had seven days in this lovely Riad and enjoyed every minute. We were welcomed by Redoin, who I must say, was one of the people that made our stay quite magical. Along with Zara who looked after us so very well. Breakfasts were a treat, evening meals most enjoyable.

We were so sad to leave and could quite easily have stayed there for ever.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing