We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely flat in Essaouira”
Review of Chez Rebecca

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Essaouira
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chez Rebecca
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“lovely flat in Essaouira”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We are a family of four with 2 teenagers and were travelling around Morocco. We spent a week at Chez Rebecca - it is a lovely flat with a nice terrace to have breakfast on / sit in the sun in the day , and a larger shared roof terrace . The flat is cleaned daily by Amina who also took us to her Hamman - a highlight of our trip as it felt like a completely authentic experience rather than a luxury Western type spa. There is even a cat to adopt during your stay if you want to. We found the location ideal as we really liked stepping almost straight out in to the bustling market streets. It always felt safe and we had no hassle at all from people.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pistache620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

A really well equipped level access and private spot. We are a family of 5 with kids 5 8 12 and it was perfect for us, together but with space and a few mod cons. Kitchen was well equipped and kids adored the house cat.
Raid support cannot be faulted, housekeeper was kind and lovely.
Only criticism is location, due to a cafe/ undercover bar just around the corner. 2 out of 4 nights were very noisy pretty much all night. We also witnessed in the same area people openly sniffing glue, buying what we are pretty sure was drugs and the general feel in that bar area was basically a bit dodges. We did not see this as blatantly anywhere else during our 12 day stay in essaouria. The grand finale to this was a murder on our last night in that area! However we never felt threatened, always safe with the kids and we are not so naive to not realise that this goes on in all towns cities across the world. To be honest it was the effect on our sleep that caused the only distress and we ne'er stand that the police are aware and monitoring and we did feed this all back to said the manger so hopefully it will be resolved. We hope so, because we would go back if we felt assured of this. So we would recommend checking this out when booking.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crazywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouiriSunlover, Owner at Chez Rebecca, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
We have passed on our apologies to the family for having been disturbed by the noise from outside Chez Rebecca We know that the area can occasionally be quite noisy, especially at weekends, and are therefore in the process of installing double glazing which should help prevent occupants being disturbed at night. We were, however, puzzled by some of the comments. Despite having ourselves spent considerable time in the apartment over the past six years, we have never encountered an 'undercover bar'. All of the nearby cafés close relatively early in the evening and, as far as we know, the nearest place serving alcoholic drinks is over 1/4 km from the apartment. Also, despite enquiries, our local staff could find no evidence of there ever having been a murder in the area. Our caretaker thinks the most likely explanation is that, on the day these guests left, an old man died of natural causes and the emergency services were called to help remove his body from a nearby apartment.
There is occasional glue sniffing in this area, as there is elsewhere in Essaouira, but even this can be misunderstood. I once glared at a young man who was sucking on what I thought was glue, only to be met my a big grin and the response 'c'est une crevette!'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We had a great time at Chez Rebecca. The apartment was very relaxing. It was comfortable, tastefully decorated and clean (cleaned every day). We really enjoyed the views from the top terrace - rainbows, clouds scudding across the sky, waves crashing in the distance. Wonderful oasis from the busy streets below.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonnie123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2010

We have stayed in Chez Rebecca twice and will hopefully be back for a 3rd visit. The appartment is perfect for a small family with a private terrace great for breakfasts and a shared rooftop terrace with views over the medina and out to the atlantic, it is in a great spot deep in the old medina and the narrow street outside is full of life and gives you a real sense of moroccan culture. Both our visits have been over the christmas period so we have made the most of the traditional fireplace on chilly evenings.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timsbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2009

Had a fantastic stay at Chez Rebecca in Nov 2009, the weather was incredibly warm and we had surf lessons every morning for under £10 an hour (including gear hire.)
We managed to eat our way round the Medina using the site restaurant guide and had the most incredible food. An evening meal at D'Orient et d'Aillieurs being the pick of the bunch. Incredibly relaxing stay, we will be back next year.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JNM_LDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
7.8 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#19 of 74 in Essaouira
188 reviews
5.7 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
610 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Essaouira Youth Hostel & Social Travel
8.3 mi away
Riad Douar Des Oliviers
Riad Douar Des Oliviers
#43 of 174 in Essaouira
73 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Rebecca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Rebecca

Property: Chez Rebecca
Address: 44 Rue Boutouil, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Essaouira
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exceptionally light and airy rooftop apartment in the heart of Essaouira’s ancient medina yet jut 10 minutes walk from its beautiful beach. Chez Rebecca has plenty of space for open-air living, including a sheltered private terrace (perfect for a leisurely breakfast or lunch) and a large shared rooftop terrace with splendid views of the medina and the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing