We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So glad we found La Cantina” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cantina - CLOSED

La Cantina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$6
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: La Cantina Essaouira is an English cafe serving delicious home-cooked English and international food, juices and smoothies. Popular dishes include jacket potatoes, chilli con carne, vegetarian curries and stir-fries and the best burgers in North Africa! For those with a sweet tooth, carrot cake, warm banana bread drizzled with honey and fresh scones with jam and cream are an absolute must.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“So glad we found La Cantina”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We had stayed in Essaouria for 6 days and only found here on 5th day, we struggled every lunchtime to find something to eat not wanting tagines cous cous or pizza and La Cantina offer a great choice all well presented, freshly prepared everything looks and is very edible unlike a lot of other dubious looking bits of salad presented on your plate.Lovely ladies working really hard. Banana cake fabulous!!. Well worth searching out

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wiggy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    71
    9
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clonakilty, Ireland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A very welcome surprise in Essaouira!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

After a week of traveling in Morocco, eating nothing but tagine and cous cous, and being sick on top of it, La Cantina saved me. All I could think of eating was a veggie burger, and after what felt like ages of walking around in the maze that is Essaouria looking for food, we stumbled upon La Cantina. I was delighted to see they had a veggie burger, and even more delighted when they brought it out to our table. It was a gigantic, clearly homemade burger, presented with care and attention. It was the first thing I could stand eating in a long time. On the side, there was a nice salad and some crisps. We also had a fresh orange juice, which was delicious as well. On top of the great food, the ladies who own La Cantina are very friendly. We chatted with them for awhile after, and left feeling satisfied and welcome... so much so, that we even came back the next day for round two ;)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baarn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
109 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“You go lady's!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

What a great place!!! Really lovely food! A lot of vegetarian and also meat. Made with love. The owners are American and English. Really lovely ladies. Just go there! It's located on a quied square.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BiancadeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A taste of home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Hi, spent some time in Essaouira. On looking around the Medina we came across this place. Its owned and run by an English family. It was only small with 4 tables inside and 4 outside, however what they produce is a good taste of home. We had an English breakfast (with no bacon of course) with tea (not Lipton's). They also do a good range of home made cakes. They have a good range of English favourites including good burgers. If you find yourself getting abit home sick then try to find this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

La Cantina is a lovely little restaurant with a few tables outside in a lovely small square. Unfortunately the restaurant really is small which adds to the charm, of course, but it means that there can sometimes be a bit of a wait if an unexpected group comes in before you. Luckily it is a lovely place to sit and relax and the food is AWESOME so it is a worthwhile (and even quite enjoyable) wait. We went back quite a few times and enjoyed it every time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcie_Kech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cantina also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing