We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable spot.”
Review of Riad Malaika

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Malaika
Ranked #14 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Upon arriving in Essaoira, my husband, son and I were met promptly by Sylvie and Piermark, owners and a staff member who swept us out of the hussle and bustle of the town into their oasis. I also brought with me a terrible case of food poisoning. I messed up on our reservations (totally my fault) as we were booked for the night after we arrived and booked the suite. Sylvie and Piermark were WONDERFUL in accomodating us. My son got his own room and my husband and I were in another lovely room. The place is quiet. The guests are lovely and from the start we felt at home. Piermark brought me extra heaters as I tried to rid myself of a fever. Their concern was genuine. The next day we moved into the top floor suite which was a slice of the best of life! Quiet, private, excellent wifi, private access to the deck, light, airy, the most beautiful bathtub I have seen in a long time, and spacious. Our hosts allowed my son to keep the room he had settled in and my husband and I spread out in the suite. Breakfasts were more than adequate and the restaurants recommended by the hosts were superb! I loved this place. After a two week trek in Morocco, having driven it ourselves, from Marrekech, to the ski area, to the Sahara Desert, to more rural Anti Atlas region, we felt an immediate sense of how much Morocco maintains its own unique charm, exquisitely exemplified at this Riad.

Room Tip: Top floor suite a winner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamHGolden_Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (825)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 825 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2011

well appointed riad with charming antique Moroccan decorations throughout. rooms are small but have individual bathrooms and windows on a courtyard. owners were very gracious in helping us with our travel plans for our next days journey to Marrakech. The riad is in a good location in the Essaouira Medina.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Riad Malaika is a beautiful hotel in a great location - central but just off the beaten track. The en-suite rooms are tastefully decorated in the riad 'style' with constant hot water and additional bedding on request. Hotel staff are welcoming, knowledgeable and helpful. The breakfasts are glorious with a menu that changes daily. It's a perfect base from which to explore all that Essaouira has to offer, minutes walk from shops, restaurants, port and beach. The riad is within the city walls so you must walk from the bus station - plenty of porters with carts to help. The only issue with the riad is that guests cannot take their room keys off-site. This means that you must ring the doorbell on your return at night which is a little awkward - it also entails a fairly lenghty wait on occasion for a response.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorraine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

The staff and owners of this wonderful riad go above and beyond to make their customers satisfied. They deserve your business, and you won't regret giving it to them!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank seanps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Fantastic Riad, great location in the Medina, very clean, very helpful staff and lovely breakfast. Nothing I can fault.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staned567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

lovely riad with a laid back and relaxing atmosphere. The riad is decorated with antique artifacts and in the evening the place is lit by candles with the addition of incense and a log fire during the chiller evenings.
The rooms are stylish, comfortable and clean and a roof terrace makes a good place for reading and relaxing
Plenty to eat at breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice and good coffee and bread. The staff are helpful and always welcoming with big smiles. Hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jas2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

A fantastic stay in a beautifully restored Riad. Good location, nice owners and staff, excellent breakfast. For sure a place to return to!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sverker06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#7 of 75 in Essaouira
1,140 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 75 in Essaouira
852 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#2 of 75 in Essaouira
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#10 of 75 in Essaouira
283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
5.6 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#13 of 75 in Essaouira
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Malaika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Malaika

Address: 17 Rue Zayan, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#10 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: £62 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Malaika 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Autantic Riad Xviii In Essaouira-morroco, Quiet In The Heart Of The Medina ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Malaika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Malaika Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing